We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check room size before you go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #499 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Check room size before you go”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel on a room only basis.
On arrival I was met by excellent and helpful staff who continued in that vein.
My Booking was for a small single room and it was certainly that. Definitely the smallest room I have ever stayed in and on a square foot basis it is delivering quite a return!
I am certainly not tall and I dread to think how a heavy six feet plus person would manage. The toilet/shower is a marvel of planning to fit in such a space.
I didn't see any of the other rooms and so cannot comment on other sizes.

My advice is check the room size before you go because otherwise it is extremely well located with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Check the room size before you confirm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolokildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    300
    139
    82
    43
See reviews for
112
256
55
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horten, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent two nights here with my family having one very large family room with four beds and one quite small double room. Overall we where impressed with the service and would absolutely stay here again. Very quiet area an easy to get to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terje D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Where to start...the room was insanely small, the tv remote didn't work, the shower wouldn't drain, it was too hot,
the breakfast was a massive rip off, the waiting staff were stroppy, room wasn't ready at check in etc etc.
Never again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Lincoln
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The twin room we had was smaller than we have seen before, but it was modern, clean and fully appointed. The hotel is not luxurious, and the public spaced are a little dowdy, but it was well worth the money we paid. The breakfast service was excellent and the waiting staff were first class. The fayre was a little limited, buy perfectly adequate. AQll in all we would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The double room was small - OK for single occupancy, but for a couple you'd be falling over each other. Staff helpful. Main disappointment was dinner - little choice, very ordinarily presented, coe plated up, comoplete with vegetables. Pudding choice limited to gateaux (bought in not made on the premises) and not much else. Breakfast toast was simple warm bread. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshirePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked through lastminute.com as a Secret Hotel. Really enjoyed our stay. Went to Royal Albert Hall; a 10 minute walk. Wouldn't pay full price; I'm happy with the price through lastminute.
Lovely old hotel with refurbed rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye and Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

For £100 a night in central London it's not bad value. The room I got was cramped but had all you'd expect from a business hotel but in a tiny package. OK. You had to duck past the tea cabinet but all else was ok ... for your average midget :-) 4* in a 2* package!

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan-Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
927 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#425 of 1,088 in London
621 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#418 of 1,088 in London
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#345 of 1,088 in London
1,096 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#595 of 1,088 in London
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#325 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore
Grange Strathmore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing