We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“errr, ok. At least it's near the Tube.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #508 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“errr, ok. At least it's near the Tube.”
Reviewed October 22, 2007

Ok. Tiny elevator. Narrow halls. No airconditioning in the rooms and they are small. (At least I had a window with a view of the apartments accross the street.)

I cannot deny that the property has character - but it strikes one as run-of-the-mill for the City of London.

The check-in ladies were young, nice and pretty, that certainly helps =). I'm pretty sure they were from Eastern Europe.

Breakfast was strictly a continental affair. If you're looking for a full American Breakfast this is certainly not the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhTravelling_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    303
    139
    82
    43
See reviews for
113
259
55
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Billed as a beautifully restored Victorian townhouse, this Bayswater grand dame has had her innards ripped out and the men with measuring tapes have crawled over her seeking to cram in as many rooms as she can manage. The impressive entrance (though the red carpet never would pass muster with HM The Queen) and reception offer more than is delivered. Despite the refurb, there is then a curious uphill and down dale approach to most rooms. I had booked a double but it turned out to be two twins (not very well) pushed together -and in the basement. I finally ended up in a double on the second floor. Despite that, half the window was taken up with the top of the lower floor balcony. The room was "compact" but still incorporated another half flight of stairs up to the bed. You might think you were entering some grand suite but I think it was more to do with laying in more rooms below. The showerroom/WC was modern and fresh but not ideal to be tripping up or down 6 steps in the middle of the night. There was space either side of the bed for a slimmish adult -just. Flat screen TV sure but mainly so it could be pinned to the wall is my guess. Noise pollution is a problem: a guy in one room on his phone and a couple chatting gave unwelcome commentary to my stay. The next room's shower running was echoed LOUDLY through the ventilation grille.Breakfast at a supplement is served in a bright but again cramped breakfast room - again in the basement. My tea was stewed, the OJ was watered and the trad English breakfast was a bit of an embarassment not least given the number of non-UK guests thinking they were getting a Brideshead brekkie! Check your bill - mine had £60 of calls to France on it made when I was at dinner across the City. Best thing about the hotel: within walking distance of the Tube stop at Queensway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast and the room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ARDNAHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Satyed in room 216 for 1 night. The room was huge 1 double bed 2 single beds & s sofa bed.for Myself My mother & my daughter.(age 5). Tea/coffee making facilites & pleanty of milk & t bags. Bathroom clean & had necessary shampoo / body wash/ soap.ect. I dont think I have stayed ina room with such high ceilings before.
The breakfasts we thought v expensive £19.00 Continental
£22.00 English.
So we went to the cafe opposite the Tube station ( 2 min walk) & had breakfast for all three of us for £18.00.
Good location near the museums/tube/buss routes.
Booked thru lastminute.com for £145.00 for the room only.

  • Liked — large beddrom comfortable clean white quilt lots of pillows & towels
  • Disliked — the price of breakfast too darn expensive we felt
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hollipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

let me start with the followingt: THIS IS LONDON! A 150qm appartment in the same street ( +-1500 sqft) unfurnished rents out at like 1700-2000 GBP... per week.

- we were there with several people, and the roomsizes are indeed very different. we asked for an alternative after we were checked into something very small, and they really made an effort and also succeeded. (wonder why they don t sell by siye, xs, s,m,l,xl,xxl)
- service personal seems a bit chaotic at times, but again, friendly and mostly ok
- bar is comfy, however wine selection is very limited (guess not as important to everyone as for me...)
- for me hotel needs a better managment, better leadership of the personal (willing they are), and some transpartency on the rooms
- i read in other reviews that this is 4*, well i did not know and descibed it to colleagues as "a good 3* hotel"

bottomline:

plus:
location-location-location
great beds
friendly service (not at first sight...)
bathroom sizes
value for money for london

minus:

heterogene rooms
overheated (in june!)
choice at bar

  • Liked — location, value for money
  • Disliked — heterogene rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

This hotel should have never been given 4*!
They charge you for one but then put you to the BASEMENT yes BASEMENT! In the 007 Room there is no window! Room 005 overlooks....linen room with some poor Eastern European guy sitting in cold!
The receptionists are trying to be nice but they seem to be extremely stressed and I even heard the manager telling them off for some little thing!
Obviously some management issues going on there plus the whole hotel needs shutting down, cleaning, repainting and shouldnt charge anybody for staying in it!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nungwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

great britain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

Shabby, small entrance. Only 1 lift and only takes 3 people max.
Building work going on at side of hotel- drilling and banging from 9am to 5pm. A very small room, bathroom and wardrobe- only just adequate for a 3 night stay. No air con, whole hotel is uncomfortably hot. Around 8 uncleared tables at breakfast each day- had to wait for table to be cleared every day. Continental breakfast left out for 3 hours, yoghurts, milk, ham, cheese etc not chilled. Only positive was the pleasant staff and good location.
Certainly not a 4 star hotel. For the money much better options in London.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fortheloveofholdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

This hotel is sufficient for a couple of nights stay in a very good location in Kensington. But, there are many aspects that, with their pros and cons, end up at best average.

The rooms are quite pleasant: surprisingly quiet, and the bed was extremely comfortable. But, the rooms are incredibly small - barely enough room to shuffle around the bed.

The breakfast was poor - very few choices, and the room, while very elegant, had dirty tables and most weren't even laid out with cutlery.

All in all: good location, but the whole hotel is rather tatty. Can do a whole lot better.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#359 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#433 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#413 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#352 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#601 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore
Grange Strathmore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing