We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad choice except for the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prince William Hotel
Ranked #805 of 1,067 Hotels in London
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad choice except for the location!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

So we were not looking for anything fancy..just a place to crash for the night after a long day in London but this place does not even qualify for that! We got back in the night to our room only to find out that the toilet does not work! So we had to go down to the reception to complain about that and then minutes later, the guy at the front desk comes and tries to fix it and then later tells us that we would have to move to a different room on the top floor. So we relocate in the middle of the night through the stairs as the elevator does not go to the top floor. The beds here are a joke! I wonder how the mattress can even pass as a real one! It is really hard and the room is extremely hot! Again, let me tell you that I was not really hoping for luxury at that price and I was just expecting to have the basics but this hotel has nothing going for it except the location! The second night, we were dead tired but for a moment, we actually dreaded to get back to this hotel to sleep, so we ended up coming back to the room really late! The only reason I have given it 2 stars is because of the location (pretty safe even late night) and its proximity to the Paddington Station, this really helped us as we had to get to Windsor and the Big Bus stop is also within walking distance. But avoid this if you can find a better hotel in the same area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarySpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    136
    173
    87
    153
See reviews for
86
210
62
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandane, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having read all these horrific reviews online AFTER we booked a room, I was quite anxious to see if it was as bad as I had imagined. But I must admit, I got positively surprised!
Yes, the room was extremely small, and you could literally hear the person next door opening a bag of chips. But we got fresh towels everyday, the bed was okay (I mean, an okay bed will do, you're only gonna sleep on it anyways). The breakfast was okay, you had two types of bread: White and some kind of whole wheat, and of course a toaster. You had different kinds of tea (of course), coffee, different types of jam and marmelade, cheese, also croissants.
It's kind of central, about a 5 minute walk from the nearest Underground, and then two stops and you're at Oxford St., I think.
The staff was okay, but be aware that they don't give good recommendations, especially not when it comes to restaurants... (PS: Also, the staff won't let anyone else besides whom the room is booked for, enter. So you can't have any visitors...)
So, to sum things up: If you're on a budget, and you want something central and cheap, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you're in London, everything is expensive. So this hotel is a nice way to keep your budget low. Small rooms, but clean. Very friendly staff and helpful. A basic breakfast with a small variety in choice of food. But, clean, nice and a good way to start the day.
It's close to Paddington station, so connections to the entire city at the doorstep ! Very good location.
It's not a five star hotel, keep that in mind. But a clean room, a toilet and shower is all I need, and this hotel gives me what I need: the basics.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

2 star hotel , small room without air-conditioner but location in the heart of city. small bathroom, short distance to metro/tube. very hot at the end of august. lift was old-fashioned, reception room was good. facilities for laundry was limited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOUFIQUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was generally clean. I think the reviews differ depending on the room they were allocated. You can hear the people next door and also those with rooms next to the elevator may suffer. Breakfast was good, though it could have been better.

The location is central and convenient, especially if you travel from Heathrow airport. However, the hotel needs a serious refurbishment! That would improve a lot the impression it gives to visitors.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator and not as high as possible to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themistoklis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room and the breakfast were the worst we have experienced, and because of that we would not stay there again!
The tiny basic room was in the basement,, the window looked out on a dumping area, it was a hot night, but we could not have the window open because we were worried about rats. The shower was very poor, just a trickle.The continental breakfast was appalling! We could not wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for £80.
Great location.
Nice receptionist booked us in and was helpful.
The room was a bed not much more. What else do you need in London?
Breakfast was toast cereal juice coffee tea croissants and was ok.
The only down side there was food on the walls the fitting were not great.
Was good for a base but I don't think I would like to stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Eagle Hotel
#838 of 1,067 in London
1,058 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#198 of 1,067 in London
921 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#543 of 1,067 in London
298 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#738 of 1,067 in London
366 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#408 of 1,067 in London
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince William Hotel

Property: Prince William Hotel
Address: 42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince William Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-century corner period-listed building that combines Victorian and modern design, with all our 49 rooms fully refurbished. Just a few minutes' walk from Paddington tube and train station (with an express service to Heathrow airport), we are less than 5 minutes' walk from Hyde Park and just 2 miles from Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince William
Prince William London
Prince William Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing