We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Honest review!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prince William Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince William Hotel
Ranked #761 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honest review!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

After reading all the 'never again' reviews, we decided to take our chances and book with this hotel. My partner and I aren't really fussy folk. We don't mind older places, bit run down so long as you can sleep, shower and the location is convenient. And this is kind of what this place offers (except I will say that the beds are probably the most uncomfortable beds I have ever experienced). The bed mattresses have no cushion in them whatsoever - you will feel the springs digging into your back. We had twin beds but my husband's bed was much better so maybe it's not every bed that is this bad. What I did though was put some spare blankets underneath to give myself a bit more cushion and that did the job. Slept much better after that.

On the plus side...the location is pretty good to get to and from the main attractions. The hotel is near Hyde Park which offers a great running track if you want some exercise in the morning, which was just such a nice thing to do. There is also an elevator (albeit small and slow) but at least it's got one. And there is complimentary breakfast downstairs. Everything you need - toast with butter, jam, orange/apple juice, coffee, tea. And the hotel is run by many Indians who were quite friendly and helpful we thought. And there's also free high speed wireless internet you can use in the lobby if you have an ipad, laptop, which is fantastic cause the Hilton in Amsterdam charged 15 euros for like one hour! So I would recommend this hotel as it's got some good perks on the proviso that you are not that fussed about certain things.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liennypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    118
    157
    80
    143
See reviews for
80
184
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My room number was 45, located on the 4th floor. We stayed in this room for three nights. I book this room because of the price and location. Although most reviews say the hotel is not satisfactory, but I still book a room at this hotel because of its location and budget. With a heart full of doubt, we stepped into the hotel (entrance in Craven Road, not Gloucester Terrace) and we found the hotel lobby was clean, decorated and well-organized. They asked for a deposit 20pound for two people even the room was paid in full (we booked this hotel via olotel.com, please have your printed booking confirmation and payment confirmation with you). Size double room is OK, clean and fragrant (yes its smell good when you enter the room). Room were cleaned every day. Shower room and toilet are clean and have hot water. Only on our last day, the hot water was available late and we had to shower with cold water.

Bed throws were ugly (we fold them and keep in the cupboard and dont want to look at it) but the bed sheet was white clean. Internet is available for free in the hotel lobby only. Towels and basic amenities were provided. Kettle and complimentary tea and sugar and two glasses also provided in the room. TV and local television channels were also available.

It just, the walls are not soundproof, you can hear your neighbor talking and walking in the next room. Iron bed and spring mattress just like in a hostel, less comfortable but we were able to sleep soundly because we were tired. Like other hotels, it’s better to keep all personal belonging in a locked luggage. My wife lost her brand new body lotion; luckily all our valuables were kept in the locked luggage.

For us, the hotel and the room is quite appropriate to its price. Breakfast (bread, jam, butter, cereal, milk, coffee, tea, and juice) was ok, the dining area was clean and well-organized. Anyway, if you want luxury and have better budget, please check in to the Hilton hotel nearby.

Room Tip: Please ask for room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jengka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good only if you're looking for a cheap place where to sleep and keep your things in central London.
Rooms are tiny, old, essential in furniture. No hairdryer. Bed uncomfortable, and noisy. My room was next to the elevator and the door would not close shut. I could hear people talking in the corridors all the time. I had no lavatory in my room only shower and a sink!
Poor breakfast. There's not even fresh fruit.
The hotel staff could hardly understand what I was saying and the Russian lady at the front desk welcomed me with a: "Can you please wait in the lounge? I will call you", like I was at the doctor or something.
Not really what I expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a room anywhere far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilacLMNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a nice place for if you're only here to sleep.
The rooms are simple, small bathroom, the breakfast is simple, but eatable.

the people from the reception are friendly.

don't go here if you only want luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hartm018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel was fine - not great, but adequate considering the price. The absolutel best thing about the hotel was the location. It's less than 5 minutes walk to Paddington Station, which will get you easily to most of the major tourist spots in London. It's also minutes from Hyde Park and close to many restaurants and a number of small grocery/convenience stores.
The room was fairly small and the beds were not terribly comfortable but were fine for the few days we were there. The room was clean and the bathroom had been partially refinished (new tile, toilet and sink) and was small but clean. There was no air conditioning, and our room overlooked a busy street so it was a bit noisy at night. All of these things should be considered if you're planning to stay here. But for the low price, we could endure these things. The elevator was small but adequate (large enough for 2 people and 2 suitcases). Breakfast was in an incredibly hot, cramped room in the basement and consisted of cereal, toast coffee/tea and warm juice. We tried it once, but chose to get something at a nearby grocery store the other days. Again, if you're expecting a great breakfast for your money, this isn't the place for you.
The staff were friendly and helpful and they happily stored our luggage in a locked room until our room was ready. We had prepaid the room, but they did ask for a 10 pound "deposit" which was put on our credit card as a hold. I had no problem with this and it was never actually taken off our card at the end of our trip.
Overall, this was a very basic hotel - small, a bit dingy (needing some updating - particularly in the common areas) but the room was clean and adequate for the short period of time we spent there each day. However, if you expect any kind of luxury, this is not the hotel for you. If you're on a tight budget but looking for something more private than a hostel, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

we saw the pics online and it sounded good. when we arrived they han not received our booking. so the indian guy at the counter charged us about 100 usd to hold a room. we paid on card, they said theyd not run it, they did immediately. when we looked at the room it had no air conditioning and it was rather warm. A tiny fan sat on a table. there were three amy cots in the middle of this really ugly room. they obviously had no mattress. my lady said NO WAY and we went to another without spending more than a minute in. this prince william hotel was a hotel we paid for and they stated that when they did get our money that theyd keep two days of it and refund the rest....yea, right. theres a sign posted right there in the office in front of the jerk that talked to us saying theyd only charge us for one day. DONT ever go there. We called Cheapoair and theyve not called us back, but i noticed this hotel no longer come up on the search engine on their we site. We ended up getting a normal hotel at the airport.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel at all cost. this could result in divorce.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night during the Olympics. It is only a few mins walk from Paddington station.
When we arrived we were asked for a £20 deposit which is refundable at check out. we were given the keys and told where to find our room. I found the staff friendly but I was friendly to them.
We booked a twin room and was average just what we needed! There was a small tv tea and coffee and a good shower and even a fan!
After reading many reviews it is not that bad its clean an a place to sleep!
The added bonus is being able to keep luggage there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickyj1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#546 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#492 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#553 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#741 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#289 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince William Hotel

Property: Prince William Hotel
Address: 42 - 44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #761 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince William Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-century corner period-listed building that combines Victorian and modern design, with all our 49 rooms fully refurbished. Just a few minutes' walk from Paddington tube and train station (with an express service to Heathrow airport), we are less than 5 minutes' walk from Hyde Park and just 2 miles from Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Prince William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince William
Prince William London
Prince William Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing