We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Nearby Hotels
$377
$314
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$224
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$309
$239
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$159
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,983)
Filter reviews
2,983 results
Traveler rating
792
1,342
597
172
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
1,342
597
172
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell square tube stationbrunswick centrebritish museumpiccadilly lineexecutive roomkings crosswest endcovent gardentesco expressexcellent locationst pancrasbreakfast was excellentquiet roomcentral locationmini barfull englishfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
2,516 - 2,521 of 2,983 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We stayed in London for 3 nights and simply needed a clean, comfortable place to sleep. This holiday inn fulfilled our needs perfectly. The bed was comfy, the shower had powerful pressure. Breakfast was not included, but there's a 24-hour tesco right behind the hotel where we stocked up on juice, rolls, etc. Teabags, kettle are provided and replenished daily. Also, Russel Square tube station is right behind the hotel, which is very convenient. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was little more than matchbox-sized, but it was clean and comfy, and for this price in central london was good value.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mittelwerk108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2006

The hotel was very close to the Tube station and on a great line.
Our room was tight but was fine for a family with 2 small children.
Shower had great water pressure and we never heard any noise at night from the hotel. The breakfast was included and was great for a family and included fresh fruit, made to order eggs, pastries, etc. We booked with Holiday Inn but keep checking better specials on their site to include Tower of London tickets or the British zoo. Hotel was very close to the British Museum. Staff was nice but no extra touches (did'nt expect anything special from the hotel). Buy an Oyster card for travelling on the Tube. It saved us a fortune, got have price tickets on the London Eye, only 1 pounds extra to go to Heathrow, and used it multiple times a day.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank usmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

I found this hotel at the last minute before Mum and I left Australia for London, we stayed in the hotel for around a week and got a great deal for the room. We had never been overseas before and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel. Every morning we would stroll downstairs to the breakfast room for a wonderful full english self service buffet. The room was large and always full of people, but the hotel managed to keep the food coming. Each morning our rooms were serviced and cleaned. We stayed on level 4 of 6 and in a twin room. The hotel is one street away from russell square tube and is easily accessed via the hop-on-hop-off bus companies. I strongly recommend these buses if your a tourist as they let you see the sites in a guided tour. The hotel has an irish pub downstairs and it serves a small variety of food throughout the day, the restaurant has a selection of healthy meals for dinner and of course there is room service! We had plenty of room for our bags and could hang our jackets in the cupboard. There is a laundry service, hair dryer and all the usuall amenities you would find in a hotel.

I would not advise anyone to catch a cab from the airport (heathrow) to the hotel as it set us back 70pound! We caught the Hotel Link Bus. Very cheap and helpful. If i was going back to london i would stay here again and suggest it to my friends. Very Happy with the Hotel and its service.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank katherine2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2006

The only good aspect of the Holiday Inn in Bloomsbury, London, England is that it is just around the corner from the Russell Square tube station and the one-way journey from Terminal 4 at Heathrow is one hour away and costs 4 pounds.
It has the definite feeling of an American chain albeit staffed by charming Polish employees. The rooms are littered with pieces of paper advertising various Holiday Inn products, but when you want writing paper or the time breakfast is served, it is nowhere to be found. Soulless and very noisy and frantic on the weekend with fun-loving bodies on cheap packages! We were kept awake on a Saturday night/ Sunday morning (1:30 am to 6:15 am!!!) by the partying antics of a few couples who seemed to be swopping
around rooms. If you book into a much more expensive executive room, perhaps you are spared this?
The full English breakfast was good but served in a fast food atmosphere.
Next time we will stay in the dignified old Russell Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Farsante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years, and have always had a pretty good experience here on the whole when compared with many other hotels in London in the same price range.
The hotel is very reasonably priced when booked directly through their website.
The staff are courteous (there's always the odd exception in any hotel!!), the car park is conveniently located under the hotel which is more than can be said for most London hotels and the breakfast is always good, and no more pricey than other hotels.
The location is great, a pleasant 10 - 15 minute walk to Covent Garden with plenty going on in the surrounding areas.
I have tried many other hotels in London and as I only ever use the hotel as a place to park the car, a central base to get to Theatreland and a bed for the night, I have always found it to be the best all rounder (given the price).

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank lifesabeach0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews