We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Convenient Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #384 of 1,089 Hotels in London
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very Convenient Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

Stayed 2 nights to celebrate New Years Eve in London. Minimalist design hotel located near Russell Square Underground, so very convenient. Reception staff very attentative, upgraded to executive room which was quite spacious and clean. Buffet breakfast was excellent.. Other facilities include Callahans Pub located on ground floor and NCP car parking avalable in basement. Plenty of restaurants nearby for eating out. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TokyoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    1,177
    533
    151
    70
See reviews for
518
830
170
629
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vale of Glamorgan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

It was a great choice hotel to celebrate the New Year in the Capital. Everything was PERFECTION, hotel cannot be faulted in any way. Holiday Inns certainly know how to please their clients. Rooms spotlessly clean. Staff polite, friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast superb with a wide choice to choose from (in fact we didn't eat again until late afternoon!!) Believe me if you book this hotel you will not be disappointed. On main bus and tube routes in a safe area - even a brand new shopping complex opposite the hotel. So glad we can relay on Holiday Inns - returned home with nothing but praise!!!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness first class, everything spotless
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was 100% perfection
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Glamorgangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

we stayed here on the 5th DEC for the weekend, it was a lovely hotel, we were on the 6th floor and the room was perfect.
It was clean and had everything we needed, the bed was comfortable and had 4 different types of pillows and a leaflet to tell you which were which we had a large spacious room with a good view.
our room was cleaned on the saturday while we were out and all the soaps and shampoo were replaced as the tea and coffee were restocked
the location of this hotel is very good for sight seeing we walked to oxford st and regents st within about 10 Min's and there was plenty to see there
there is a pub called callahan's adjoining the hotel with is very reasonable (especially to us as they never charged for my spirits all evening) the food also looked good their fish and chips came in a paper bag
we are so impressed with the hotel and its location the we will be going back next year
If you want to eat out of the hotel there is a good restaurant just off of oxford street called STEFS, it is italian and the staff are very welcoming but it is advised to book before hand as they were turning people away as they were fully booked

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KentMorkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

I booked this hotel after some research claiming it had good accommodations for people with disabilities. My partner walks with crutches and we used a wheelchair for most of the walking around.

I booked an accessible room, and was very pleasantly surprised at the size. It was HUGE!

The bed was comfortable, the amenities were nice and the restaurant food was great.

Getting there, I was worried because the Russell Square station, although just a block from the hotel, had a few stairs leading to the lift. I was wondering how I would carry the wheelchair and our luggages up, but people didn't hesitate to help me and I really was worrying for nothing.

My only complaint was the front desk staff could have been more helpful. When I asked about suggestions nearby, she barely looked up at me and just pointed to a stand with a bunch of brochures.

The restaurant staff were excellent though :)

  • Liked — Location for price
  • Disliked — Front desk staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fayethetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
244 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

Based on my research for London this hotel turned out to be a good hotel, fairly good location and a nice size.

The hotel is a block away from the Russell Square Underground stop. I recommend the lift as the steps with baggage is a workout! The hotel staff was knowledgeable, friendly and I was able to store my luggage as I had a later flight. There are loads of small pubs and places to eat outside the hotel in multiple directions. Internet was not free which is a poor way to make money from people. The one nice touch was the selection of feather pillows from soft to firm. I also would recommend not staying on the side of the hotel that faces the small mall - very noisy street and area. One other recommendation is to get a day pass and ride the tube or the bus. The bus being the better way to get around as you can see everything and when it starts heading in a direction that you don't want to go, just get off and change buses.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — noise on the side that I stayed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

Friend and I stayed in this hotel for 2 days while Christmas shopping in London. First stay for my friend but I have stayed here before and had great experiences so, naturally, chose to stay here again. Our room was exactly what we needed. Hotel is in a fab location and less than 2 minutes walk to tube station. Buffet breakfast was great as it usually is and staff were pleasant, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were overcharged by a minicab that we booked through the concierge. The driver charged us more than we had been quoted (we were outside the Ritz Hotel and didn't want to cause a scene there. Would you?) and when we arrived back at the hotel we complained. It was dealt with total professionalism and politeness. We were given a total refund of our fare and apologised to even though it wasn't the hotels fault in any way. All this for £75 per room per night! Well done Holiday Inn, 10/10.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving :-(
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynsayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

This hotel is in a great location, a few stops from Oxford Street and for those who don't mind walking, it's only a 20 minute walk to Oxford Street through some of the "posh and famous named" parts of the city.
The hotel foyer is minimalist, modern and very clean with efficient staff. We booked an executive room on the top floor, floor six which had a number of "suites" located on it.
The room was a reasonable size, dressing table with a tv on it, a lounge chair and double bed (not two singles as you get in many European hotels). The room view was the back of the hotel so there was absolutely nothing to see, which was not a problem for me.
The bathroom was clean and modern with toiletries provided and there was plenty of clothes storage space with a wardrobe with a trouser press. However, the facilities provided in an executive room were not quite as good as those I have received in standard rooms in similar chain hotels in London for an equivalent price.
For example, the shower looked fantastic but turned out to be fed via the bath taps and the pressure was extremely low, some of the lights in the room didn't work and the walls are thin so we could hear the couple next door's conversation in the morning.
There was also only one bathrobe and one pair of slippers and although there was a mini bar, it was empty and not in use which seemed odd for an executive room, either use it or lose it. There were tea and coffee making facilities.
One problem during the stay was that some guests on our floor were "socialising" until the early hours of Sunday morning waking us at 3am with people moving between rooms, shouting, giggling and chatting in the corridor as if it was the middle of the day and allowing the doors to slam repeatedly.
I was surprised as this hotel did not give the impression as being a type of hotel which would attract clubbers. The Sunday night was much better and the hotel much more sedate as the weekend corridor socialisers had probably checked out.
I didn't use the pub attached (it looked a bit artificial - for those seeking a genuine London pub there are lots on the same street as the hotel). I didn't eat in the hotel.
The stay was ok but a few minor tweaks in the rooms would deliver a true executive experience. We did bump into Prince Charles and Camilla at Russell Square tube on Monday morning as they passed the zebra crossing in their black Jag. Their cover was blown by the large police presence with them!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the rude corridor socialisers
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pressgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#331 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#404 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#445 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Property: Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#294 Family Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
#365 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing