We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just make sure they are not renovating at the time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #389 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 1, 2008

location - yes. but what more do you need from the hotel? when me and my wife stayed there the location was great, just outside of the russel square.
the problems started when they decided to renovate in the middle of the tourist season, so they said it will be finished at noon and it wasn't until the evening, oh well...
and then just like that in the middle of the week no hot waters in the bath just when we wanted to start our day.
those are little things but you expect a hotel like that to do better.
hopefully for others it worked better.
but hey - london is great.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,372 - 2,378 of 2,882 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2008

Stayed here on business for 1 night. The room was spacious, especially for a London hotel, clean, and well appointed. Restaurant served excellent food (though I didn't have the courage to order the Wood Pigeon!!) and service was very good, although the front desk staff struggled a bit with their English. Wireless internet access in rooms was good, although a little pricey.

Very convenient for British Museum and very close to Russell Square underground station. The area it is in was upmarket, and appeared to be very safe.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank trumptonfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My wife and I stayed at this hotel, as i was running the London 10K race. Firstly I got a great rate for a 2 night stay. Standard Room, no breakfast though. My mentality on that was that there were loads of places to get breakfast in London. We were given a room on the 2nd floor. I had a massive bag and dont like lifts, plus after reading on tripadvisor that the lifts seem to be broken a lot , we took the stairs. The room was quite small but i didnt mind. It was clean, mini bar didnt work, just as well really, trouser press, desk, tv with some channels. Bathroom small as well , but shower was powerful if a little "tired" . We didnt stay much in the hotel and like many have said the location is brilliant. The irish bar was closed on the Monday evening so i cant comment on that. At the back of the hotel is Russell Square Tube Station. If you don't like lifts then be aware as its 159 steps down to the tube and back up as i found out. Covent Garden has 195 steps, no escalators but lifts!! Great after just doing 10k and being obese!! Covent Garden was only 2 stops on the tube, leicester square and piccadilly gardens 3 or 4 stops. The brunswick centre across the road to the right has plenty off shops, namely, boots, superdrug, nando's, waitrose, New Look and a Renoir Cinema and a starbucks and a carluccios cafe. There is an oriental restaurant opposite the cinema that we tried to get in on a monday night at 7.30pm. It was packed with 10 people waiting to get in! Must have been good. We ended up going to the gourmet burger company within the centre. A massive burger for about £7. Hit the spot! We walked it to Euston the next day (you get back onto the main road to the left of the hotel) and its about 2 blocks up on the left. About a 10 minute walk. In summary, the hotel was clean and better than I expected.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Stayed here only one night in May 2008. Had tickets to see Mama Mia and was here for my Girlfriends Birthday.
Parking: In the underground garage was £22 per 24hrs.
Rooms: Were average size for a UK hotel. Double bed, wardrobe, Trouser press, cable tv, nice bathroom with freebies, mini bar and blackout curtains which worked very well. Don`t touch the mini bar as they have sensors on them and if you pick up one of the bottles in the mini bar it sends a signal to reception. I only picked a bottle of water up to read the label and then on departure a staff member had to check that i hadn`t opened it or i would have been charged for it obviously.
Breakfast: Was excellent... help yourself, as much as you can eat English or continental, or as i did a mixture of both.
The hotel has it`s own Irish bar on site showing Sky Sports and serving food also. The Irish bar was quite reasonably priced where as the hotel bar was expensive. (ie. Double Bacardi and Coke, Pint of Caffereys and 2 packets of crisps £15.20).
I always feel that the best way to advise others on whether or not to come here is to ask yourself.... Would i come here again.? The answer would be yes.
It`s idealy located by Russell Square where we had a coffee while chilling in the sun. The underground station of Russell Square is very close too.
There is an entrance walkway just to the left of the hotel and to our surprise we found it to be a very modern but small shopping complex. The complex mainly comprises of restaurants. There is a pub opposite the hotel and next door to that a mini-mart which we thought was great for getting the Sunday Paper etc.
We did get a black-cab taxi from Trafalger Square back to the hotel as walking had now taken it`s tole. This came to £8.... £10 including tip. Mama Mia was briliant as was the whole London experience. I cannot believe that there are so many people about in Leicester Square at 11pm at night. The place is just buzzing.

Stayed: May 2008
5  Thank AVFC4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

We stayed here in April whilst in London for 2 nights. We also stayed overnight in February when we saw We Will Rock You at the Dominion Theatre - 15 minutes walk maximum. Hotel in very good location near Russell Square tube and next to small shopping centre with Square Pie, Waitrose, French Connection etc. Oxford Street and Covent Garden both easily walkable.

We stayed in an executive room which was nice. Felt it was average size for London rooms but well kitted out. There is an Irish bar within the hotel where you can charge drinks to your room but which is also open to the public so prices are reasonable..

All staff very knowledgable and breakfast was excellent. Be aware that the hotel is within the congestion charging zone (just). Parking is on site at the hotel. £24 per day but it is secure.

Overall, very pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrew-Beaumont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Got a 2 nights for the price of 1 offer through Ebay. Just sign up for Holiday Inn emails and similar offers come through. The 2 for 1 offer made the delux room worth going for at £190 for the two nights.
It's a nice modern hotel. Our room wasn't ready for 2pm as indicated on the booking form and we were immediately offered a free drink at the bar while we waited, which we gadly accepted.
I was a little disappointed with the delux room, quite small, with a king size bed. It had the robe, slippers and mini bar and a small workspace, which I guess the regular room doesn't have, but perhaps I had unrealistic expectations of the word 'delux'. I had previously stayed in Novotel in Euston Rd and their room was bigger, with a superking bed, a docking station for your MP3 player, as well as internet access - that was the level which I was expecting.
Overall, it's very convenient for Russell Sq tube, British Museum and a range of restaurants all within walking distance and if you get an offer is good value for money. I would have been very disappointed had I paid £190 per night.
Our offer didn't include breakfast, so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Fid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights with my mum to do the usual London Theatre, shopping, lunching etc etc.

We stayed in an executive twin room which cost just under £700 for the 4 nights as it was a different rate each night.

The room was very spacious however this was not well used. There was a large 'empty' space in the middle of the room which is obviously there for when the sofa bed is laid out but makes the room feel quite empty, could really have done with a proper space to open a suitcase as the only option was the floor! This was annoyining as there was so much space they could easily have fitted in some appropriate furniture to accomodate a case - or even one of the folding case rests.

The acres of space also made the incredibly tiny TV difficult to see from the beds and meant that you needed the volume quite high - I really would have expected a flat screen TV rather than the old fashioned 18" in situ, seems very outdated in an 'executive room'.

Bathroom was good size, well stocked with toiletries and towels and clean. Some marks on the grout and around the shower head but just age rather than dirt. Shower quite difficult to control and very forceful - have a bath if you want to relax!

Mini bar, robe, slippers etc as was exec room but nothing special. Quite disappointed with the stocking of tea and coffee as never enough milk or water and we had to ask for extra glasses as only one tumbler and one wine glass???

Location is great for sightseeing etc as Russel Square tube literally 3 mins walk, and right opposite a 24 hour Tesco which was very useful! Also by a shopping centre with juice bars, Starbucks etc so good for breakfast when on room only. A little disappointed when we asked reception for a cab one evening and they directed us to the main road to hail one ourselves however the concierge on the day we were leaving did get a cab to come to the door for us and helped us with our cases.

All in all it was a good stay (although could have done without the 6am fire evacuation on the last day!) and location great. I didn't see any of the other rooms but I would not particularly recommend upgrading to an exec room, the only real benefit was having a robe and slippers and it would be cheaper to stay in a standard room and buy these - even at London prices!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AngeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#401 of 1,081 in London
2,243 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#460 of 1,081 in London
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#505 of 1,081 in London
3,708 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#884 of 1,081 in London
8,397 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in London
#315 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $163 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing