We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #387 of 1,067 Hotels in London
england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel in London”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very friendly welcome by Gary, the concierge, and Fleur on reception. Asked whether an upgrade was possible and was given one at a very reasonable rate. As we had arrived before midday, the Hotel took care of our luggage and we returned at 2pm. When Fleur found the room was not ready, she offered us a complimentary drink in the bar - a nice touch. We stayed in an executive room on the first floor. Large room, twin beds, two armchairs and a desk chair. Trouser press, ironing board, tea and coffee facilities. Air con quiet and efficient. Room clean and well presented. I do feel that the bathroom needs an update - the grout needed some attention and the paintwork could do with a refresh. We found the room to be quiet, very little road noise. Plentiful choice of breakfast items including everything needed for a full English. Only one minor point for the Hotel - the toaster does not toast the bread very well!! Might need repacing.
All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Would definitely consider staying again dependant on the rate available.

Room Tip: Executive room spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear travelcaro,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent visit to our Hotel.

We are delighted that you were so impressed by the great welcome offered by the Front Office team.

We are grateful for your comments identifying some areas where we can improve, this has been highlighted with our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    1,213
    543
    159
    71
See reviews for
532
853
176
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A family trip to London for my granddaughter's 13th birthday and what a treat. Room was clean and comfortable, if a little small. Breakfast was included in our package and there was plenty of choice. Close to Russell Square tube station which was brilliant for Picadilly Line and Victoria Line. Walked from the hotel to Covent Garden, Leicester Square and Picadilly Circus and took in all the sights. Definitely recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Fleur and Henry for making Chloe's birthday extra special with a birthday cake and card. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jampersands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jampersands,

Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that we were able to contribute to Chloe's celebration.

We hope to welcome yo back to London very soon.

Warm regards,

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night in April and paid with Avios points. We booked an executive room which was quite small, US travellers would find it pretty tiny. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Very quiet, we did not get disturbed during the night which is often the case. Breakfast was good, with possibly the happiest breakfast chef I have ever seen, so well done to him!
All in all a good, clean and comfortable hotel to stay in London, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Tandy126,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your recent visit to London.

We are pleased that you commented so highly about Emmanuel, our Breakfast Chef and by our quiet and peaceful location.

We hope to welcome you back when you are next in London.

Warm regards,

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed for the last 5 years at the Holiday Inn in Bloomsbury and previously have found them very efficient, however on this occasion they stuggled to accomodate us.
The room was booked and paid for for 3 guests. When we arrived the 3rd bed was not made there were no towels and no cups.This was resolved but really should have been done before we checked in.
We will stay again but standards need to be tightened - rooms for 3 people need to be the larger rooms - we are paying a premium to have a third bed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear NormaT,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased that you always choose our hotel every time you are in the area.

I was disappointed to see that we had failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. I am truly sorry for any inconvenience that the delay has caused you. We don't want to keep our guests waiting and we regret that we took some of your time to prepare the room when you arrived. Your experience was not the standard operating procedure at our hotel and we will make sure that we address your concerns.

Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We all hope to have another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We normally do not take the time to write a review but we just had to make an exception this time and say where everyone can see a big thank you to Gary the concierge at the holiday inn Bloomsbury. Gary gave us the best advice on theatre tickets (la miserable and wicked) including booking incredible seats for us. He booked our restaurants gave perfect directions and in general made our vacation in London so much better. So thanks Gary you are the best.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not my first visit to this hotel. I had learnt from my previous visits to book the Executive Rooms (at an additional cost) due to the small size of the standard rooms (especially the bathrooms). I tried to check in at 2pm (the stated time) only to be told that the room wasn't ready as the previous occupiers hadn't vacated the room. When I asked how they could do this as I was officially paying for the room at that point, I was told that they were Holiday Inn Priority Card holders. I did not receive an answer when I stated that I was too! After waiting at reception for a while I was offered another room but it would have been smaller than my booked room. As this was the whole point of paying for the upgrade, I declined it. When my room was eventually ready, it was clean and modern inside. Concierge at the hotel was very helpful and did his best to reduce the long queues at Reception on both checking in and out of the hotel. Not sure if I will visit again as a result.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matts3872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear matts3872,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry or the difficulties you had experienced at check-in. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent an overnight stay at the hotel and selected it due to its proximity to Kings Cross / St Pancras main line stations. The hotel is literally round the corner from the stations and even closer to Russel Square underground station. The hotel is modern with largish rooms. We were given an upgrade to an larger room with additional facilities being a member of the Holiday Inn Priority Club. If you regularly use Holiday Inn Hotels ( International Hotel Group ) then it is worth while to join the priority club as there are certainly advantages. The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. There was a delay in having our room ready, 5 minutes, and we were given a complementary drink at the bar, not just for us but for our two friends who were with us. Attached to the hotel is an Irish Bar, Callaghan's, that serves reasonable priced drinks and food. The staff you meet in the bar you are also likely to meet in the hotel and the ethos of friendly helpful staff pervades the hotel and bar. The hotel offers a good breakfast that is varied and well cooked. In some room rates breakfast is included but in ours it was not. The cost of breakfast was comparable with other London hotels and is convenient if you are staying there. Must recommend this hotel if you are visiting London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#344 of 1,067 in London
2,063 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,021 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,067 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,067 in London
3,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Property: Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#294 Family Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
#365 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing