We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #383 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
328 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good experience at the Holiday Inn Bloomsbury.
I was given an executive room at the executive floor.. Good well sized room, with all amenities, mini bar, computer desk.. Internet connection however is not free, and the executive floor doesn't have any dedicated bar or extras, plus.. security: all the floors have security access with room card only, the executive floor however is at a floor where conference are held too, so no security card needed, plus there is to badged gate for the rooms, so ppl attending conferences could, eventually browse the room floor.. not an ideal situation..
Good rest at night, nothing to complain apart room temperature a but the heater is silent and efficient.. bathroom however has a freezing floor surface.. heating under the floor would be nice to contrast this..
Good rich breakfast, at premium rate :-(( with friendly staff
Overall the hotel is nice, with the basic services (no gym or swimming pool), room is a good size, location is good, with a close by shopping area and tube line very handy, car park and external to the property gym
Location is good if you plan to spend your nights at the west end theatres...can even walk, if you want..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Flyingblueboy,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay in our Hotel.

We will take on board your comments about the shared access with the Conference Area.

We are delighted that you had a good rest, appreciated our great location and as with many other reviewers found our staff friendly.

We can not wait to welcome you back!!

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email:gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    1,212
    542
    159
    71
See reviews for
532
851
176
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our 4th visit to this hotel and love the location as it is such easy access to tube. Having being spoilt on last occasion and receiving an upgrade I was really disappointed in our room this time it was absolutley tiny and had a musty smell, carpets were stained and the paintwork was yellow. As I was celebrating my 50th Birthday I was devastated by this room, However on going down to reception I explained that on other occasions I had better rooms (not including the upgrade) he immedialty found us another room that was slightly bigger and it was much better.Breakfast was lovely as usual and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. We are going back in October and will be staying there and have also recommended this hotel to others. One other problem was I did want to book champagne etc. for birthday but could not get through and gave up in the end

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymeSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jaymesunderland,

Thank you for once again choosing our hotel for your visit to London.

On behalf of the team may we wish you a belated Happy Birthday!

We are sorry that you experienced some issues with your first room. I am pleased that we speedily moved you to a different room.

We are absolutely delighted with your overwhelmingly positive comments about our "lovely as usual" breakfast and our helpful team.

Should you have any special requests in advance of your next stay in October, if not before, then please do not hesitate to contact the Guest Relations team on our contact below.

Warm regards,

Henry, Guest Relations Manager
Email:gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here before but have noticed some subtle improvements in the way reception are more welcoming and helpful. Very tired so ate in - can highly recommend the mackerel starter which was very Jamie like and really very good. Had a good night's sleep and liked the service at breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear monkeyHartlepool,

Thank you so much for your very positive review of your most recent stay.

We are delighted to see that our hard work improving all aspects of the Guest Experience is noticed by our regular guests.

We can not wait to welcome you back when you are next in London!

Warm regards,

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email:gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I wish you could give a half point as my 3 seems a little mean but I cannot give a 4. The hotel provides all that you require for an overnight business stay. It is close to Russell Square tube station and the key card access to rooms and lifts provides peace of mind. There is an independent car park under the hotel with good rates for central London which again relieves stress and adds to convenience. My room on this occasion was a small double, okay for a single night and a single occupant but a longer stay with a fellow guest would have made conditions very cramped. I have enjoyed a larger room in the past. I find the staff well trained and very polite but service is always a little slow but it is a very busy hotel. I suspect the incredibly polite and attentive attention of the staff complete with numerous enquiries into your opinion of the stay, the room etc adds to the length of the queues at checkout and adds to the negatives expressed about this hotel. My biggest complaint with this hotel was the heating, the rooms were very hot, the windows did not open and the air-conditioning unit did nothing to reduce the heat and was very loud. I wish hotels would either provide truly independent air conditioning and heating in the rooms or return to radiators that turn off and windows that open. The room was safe, my car was secure, I was only minutes away from my meeting destination and everything should have been fine but I had a lousy nights sleep because it was so hot. Otherwise the food was good, the room service prompt and attentive and all the staff I met attentive and polite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Lee F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to our Hotel.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the temperature and the efficiency of departure. Each of the departmental heads have been working hard to improve these areas, this feedback will allow them to identify where further improvements can be made.

We are delighted to read that you found our location excellent and that each member of the team you met were "attentive and polite"

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Henry, Guest Relations Manager
Email:gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

A very good hotel, the breakfast is really good, service and Staff excellent. Rooms large and clean. We stayed for three nights, Well worth the money spent. Highly reccomend this Hotel to other travellers with a good budget. The inhouse pub is also very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbh190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear gbh190479,

Thank you for your 5 star review of our hotel following your recent visit to London.

Gerald and his team are particularly pleased that you highlighted our excellent breakfasts!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email:gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a well located hotel geared towards large conference delegations right next to the Brunswick Centre in Bloomsbury. Service on the front desk is good and it's clean and safe - the lifts require a keycard to operate them so not just anybody can walk in.

My room was standard fare. Small and compact, thankfully with a double bed. The hairdryer stopped working as soon as I switched it on and some of the lights didn't seem to work - there didn't appear to be a way to switch the room lights on by the door which I found odd.

Breakfast was sort of OK. Poor table service and nobody asked me if I wanted any tea but there was good fruit selection and plenty of options.

What really bugs me here is the internet situation. In this day and age of smartphones, tablets and laptops, unlimited wireless internet should not be considered some sort of luxury that must be carefully rationed.

But not at at the Holiday Inn.

It's a whopping £16 for a 24 hour pass.

I didn't pay.

Business users and frequent travellers like me need the internet. Charging £16 for something that should be free is a disgrace and this chain should hang it's head in shame. I saw on the lift they were "reviewing" their internet prices.

The reality is there should be NO price.

On top of that, the Holiday Inn is a very identikit and dull hotel chain. There are better chains out there and for the £170 bed and breakfast I'm pretty sure this was overpriced as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hushmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Hushmore,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our Hotel. We do really appreciate the opportunity to understand the areas where we can improve.

We are surprised that your experience at breakfast did not match our usual high standards, as displayed my many other Tripadvisor reviewers. I have shared your thoughts with our Food & Beverage Manager and his team.

I understand that there are some hotels that offer “free” Internet, but as I am sure you may have experienced, often these systems are narrow in bandwidth or limited in usage. At a corporate level we are looking in to adjusting our internet service pricing whilst sill being able to offer our guests a market leading, uncontested bandwidth service. We will update our guests when we have further information.

We are very pleased with your kind comments about our location and the service at our front desk.

Warm regards,
Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email:gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose to stay at this hotel for a second time due to its great location, good value and comfortable and quiet rooms. Russell Square tube station's just around the corner and there is a good range of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

Alessandra at check-in was delightful, welcoming and friendly yet professional. I'd requested a quiet room and we were given a room on a high floor with an internal rather than a street view. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and it was so quiet that we had a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infomaniac_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Infomaniac_1,

It is great to receive positive feedback from a returning guest!!!

It is a particular highlight that you took the time to mention that Alessandra on Reception was 'delightful'. We are always pleased when the extra effort we make does not go unnoticed.

We can't wait to welcome back to our hotel on your next visit to London.

Warm regards,

Henry, Guest Relations Manager
Email:gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#345 of 1,067 in London
2,062 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#419 of 1,067 in London
1,020 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#508 of 1,067 in London
3,413 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Property: Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#294 Family Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
#365 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing