We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Ranked #390 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a 2 night stay booked with priority club points, we had booked a family room as my 15 year old daughter was travelling with us and on arrival were upgraded to an executive room. The benefit of this was that the extra bed was a single rather than a converted sofa bed, this gave us a little more room which was good as the rooms aren't that big.
We were checked in and out by Emilio who couldn't have been more polite and helpful, the bar staff were really friendly as well, we didn't eat in the hotel as we had other arrangements already made but heard good things about the restaurant.
We are back in London early next year and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. It is warming to read that you enjoyed your whole experience with us. Emilio was particularly delighted after reading your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year.

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,742)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,599 - 1,605 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Was not impressed with the experience I had with a planned 2 night stay here recently.

Arrived around 7pm via Woking to be told that the Booking System had over booked the hotel and there was "No Room at the Inn" for the 1st night - Sat 27th October - and the only space the Guest Services Manager could find was at another hotel in Shepperton, 3/4 of the way back to Woking...despite having specifically booked rooms in central London - I was given no choice or options to discuss this, it was Shepperton or nothing....

Was then told it would be 20-30 mins in a taxi - Try almost an hour and a half.

Was even worse the next morning for the trip back to the Bloomsbury for the 2nd night....

So - an evening and a morning wasted sitting in taxi's and a rather hollow apology from the Bloomsbury Hotel....along with no offer of compensation or a complimentary stay at a later date.

This from a hotel chain who advertise on their letterheads that they are proud to be the official hotelier for this years' Olympics and Paralympics - surprised I've not heard more in the media of these errors if this happens to a standard booking outwith a big event.

Which has just given me an idea if they don't get back to me with an adequate resolution

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiviPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear LiviPete,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was given a cramped room with a window that didn't open at all: tiny bathroom: step out of the bed into the wardrobe (you had to be there): no safe: small towels: decor somewhat tired. Breakfast a standard buffet, OK but not excellent. Way over-priced at £210 for one person for one night (which was supposed in itself to be a special rate for people attending a conference in the hotel). Area OK- assuming you want to be around Russell Square. My recent experience staying in central London hotels shows you can pay quite a bit less and get a whole lot more (e.g. Waldorf Hilton), or pay a lot less and get about the same (e.g. Imperial, just around the corner).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received quality which was unacceptable.

I have sent you a private message to further discuss your review.

Sincerely,

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night and the service was superb. Staff were very friendly and I was given a choice of rooms. Evening meal was gorgeous and as I was sat on my own, the waiting on staff offered papers.
Room was a very good size considering it is in London and beds were comfortable. The only negative was the bathroom was quite small.
good location, only a 15 minute walk from Euston station and a 2 minute walk to the tube.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_peel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sam,

Thank you for taking the time to share a comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are pleased to read that the service you received in the Restaurant was a highlight. I will pass on your comments to Chef and the Restaurant team.

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was a last minute booking with Priority Club loyalty card points and we did not have high expectations. We just needed a bed for the night. However, having experienced this Holiday Inn, I would definitely stay here again in similar circumstances. Ok, so this hotel won't win a beauty contest and you don't stay here for the views, but its fantastically located and we slept fine.

Definitely book online or by phone because the walk-up rates are ridiculous, but assuming you can stay here fairly cheaply, you should be in for a pleasant hotel experience.

The rooms are spacious, clean and perfectly comfortable. The decor is neutral and inoffensive - not memorable but does the job.

Rooms facing the street can be noisy. We were allocated one of these on the fifth floor, and we changed to one across the corridor which looked out into an internal courtyard. This room was really quiet. In fact the only noise we experienced was from a slightly over-enthusiastic air conditioning system.

I was particularly impressed that the rooms have a pillow menu! You can choose from five different types of pillow to be brought up to your room.

The staff are very friendly and try to be helpful. The service is not exactly efficient, and I noticed that the staff often have to check with a senior manager before they can answer you. But the attitude and atmosphere in the hotel is positive and warm.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank troubleinthecit... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve.

We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.Thank you again for your review.

Monika, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked through travel agent. when we arrived we were given a standard room. Moved in. Not big enough when you are on an extended holiday and have a bit of luggage with you. I remembered the travel agent booking us an executive room, so checked our paperwork only to find thats what we should have had. Rang the desk and asked them to check and they found it was correct, so they moved us. We had prepaid this in australia and could have just accepted this room, so it pays to check your paperwork. They also said that if we wanted a bigger room we could pay extra! Great breakfasts though.

Room Tip: room to put luggage bathroom door should not open into bedroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinne1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear corinne1347,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,
Henry, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent a Saturday night here having booked through a last minute site. The room was clean but small and it was a smoking room even though we didn't want this, the room did not smell but outside in the corridor it was quite smoke smelling. Given that we didn't pay much it was fine but I wouldn't want to have paid more. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hibl00msbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,
Henry, Guest Relations Manager
Email: gr.bloomsbury@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#371 of 1,072 in London
2,126 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#436 of 1,072 in London
1,058 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#69 of 1,072 in London
369 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#296 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury

Address: Coram Street | Russell Square, London WC1N 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#294 Family Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
#365 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $165 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn London - Bloomsbury, a modern and stylish hotel in London's West End, perfectly located for all of your leisure and business needs. The hotel can be found just off Russell Square Tube Station, close to St Pancras International Rail Station, which is very convenient for those travelling by Eurostar. Holiday Inn Bloomsbury hotel is also within easy reach of many of London's tourist attractions: The British Museum, Madame Tussauds, London Zoo and the West End theatres, not to mention the amazing shopping in Oxford Street and Covent Garden. The hotel is easily accessible for the O2 and also has a direct train link to Emirates Stadium, the home of Arsenal Football Club. Our state-of-the-art Academy Conference Centre boasts 14 meeting rooms that can cater for all requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings and conferences to Weddings and Dinner Dances. The Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel offers facilities for disabled guests along with accessible bedrooms, and two bedrooms with a hoist. The hotel is proud to have won Best Disabled Facilities Award 2007 'Accessibility for All' at the Meetings and Incentive Travel Awards. High Speed Internet Access is available in all bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Holiday Inn Bloomsbury London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing