We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #934 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed only for one night but would not recommend the hotel for the price - on the positive side, the hotel is located five minutes from Paddington Station, on a lovely, quiet, leafy street; the reception staff were nice, friendly and helpful, there are a couple of good places to eat around (Kolossi on London Street is recommended), but the hotel needs many improvements - the decor is dated and so is the bathroom and fittings, the shower design is is impossible, carpets are worn threadbare, The TV is ancient with only a few channels, but the worst feature of all is the bed - a wobbly mattress with plastic sheet on top, very unappealing and uncomfortable.
The continental breakfast was average or below average with synthetic salami and cheese, the coffee could be stronger, breakfast room staff not very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyagemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 749 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night. Nice check in staff, upgraded us to a suite. Hm.. Very strange room, extremely run down, furniture worse than a homeless shelter.. Beds okay but the blankets, terrible. Okay shower. Breakfast was included but we had to leave early so they gave us a bag with snacks to go in the morning. I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Rude day manager. Disgusting and uncomfortable rooms. Not okay in a modern city like London. Some staff were nice and seemed thoroughly embarrassed to be there. Wifi nearly impossible to get (if you can hook up to it at all).

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bknytchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

the staff were very helpful and cheery the rooms were clean and towels changed daily
decor could be up graded as curtains and bed spreads have seen better days

breakfast was overcooked some of the english breakfast was burnt the continental breakfast was not worth the money £4.95 as there was no fresh fruit only tinned give it a miss

Room Tip: rooms looking out in to the gardens were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryb186531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had massive reservation about staying here as the hotel I stay in around the corner was full, reading the reviews was concerned but overall I had a pleasant experience, great location for Paddington, Hyde park for my morning stroll to Oxford street and a lovely park outside, quiet outside both for pedestrians and traffics and little street noise at night. The place is in need of a serious revamp but was as clean as could be expected for a busy hotel. The rooms are plain and beds plus bedding really should be first to be upgraded, not the most comfortable but I cant complain cos I slept each night. Adequate bathroom and surprisingly hot water. I had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the park, my favorite part was the old Victorian window which could be slid up fully so you could lean out and have a good nosey around. Breakfast was hot quick to arrive and great choice. The staff were incredibly friendly, even let me stay 20 mins past check out after I came rushing back from the hospital to pack. An enjoyable stay but I would hold off on going back until it`s been revamped.

Room Tip: The floorboards creak really badly, so theres no way to get around quietly at night, and I even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tahitato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have spent 2 night in this hotel during our London trip. We have chosen it because of location and price too. Breakfast was included and was really great!! BUT - rooms definitely need reconstruction, especially bathroom. They cleaned daily but their effort was not remarkable, because of old equipment. Staff was nice and helpful bur walls were like from paper...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikoleta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The hotel is in a good location around a 22 minute tube ride from Piccadilly were we spent the day. Nice views across a small park area, i don't really know if Paddington is a good area in London the hotels opposite had lots of groups of men hanging in the doorways smoking and shouting now and again.

On arrival we went up to the room in the lift, as a non fan of lifts having no indication of when you arrive at your floor due to the panel not working was quite scary but that's just me.

When we found the back stairs they smelt of cigarette smoke, I do smoke myself but thought this was not allowed indoors full stop, although the hotel still has no smoking and smoking floor on plaques in the hallways.

I requested a quiet room, our room was somewhat quiet. The door was opposite the lift entrance so a lot of noise from people waiting to take the lift. Does no one take notice of a sleeping sign on the door?!? However our room had two floors a lounge with stairs on the back wall leading to a large bedroom and bathroom so once upstairs the noise was hardly noticeable.

The room was shabby but adequate. It could do with some updating and modernising, maybe the size of the large sash windows requiring huge curtains takes up all their budget! The bed had sheets and a blanket, god i hate this you get all tangled in the night! The TV had 2 channels and the rest catered to other nationalities. The TV in the lounge did not really work, not good if you are traveling alone or with children and don't really fancy going out after dark.

Breakfast was edible, the usual mushrooms from a tin, bacon, i often wonder how they cook this to make it so greasy spoon cafe looking?!? One sausage, a mound of beans of course as they are cheap with two eggs on top, why do they do that :) ? and some toast which arrived cold after breakfast was finished. My 12 year old had a small nibble from everything and didn't like it so had cereal and the cold toast. Breakfast is not made to order and if i had been asked i could have saved them the money on the tomatoes and mushrooms as i don't eat these. The room service menu offers you a choice and even different egg options.

The staff were very nice, probably not enough on, for half term, at breakfast as they were rushing about and hence forgot the toast.

As a hotel booked through Superbreaks with Ripleys tickets the total was £86.00. Ripleys would have cost me around £40.00 for my son and i therefore a hotel in London for £46.00 is a bargain. I would not pay the 100 + pounds as per the room rates displayed on the wall by the hotel.

Room Tip: On arrival the customer in front of me was requesting a room change. Our room was okay i guess floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazzie-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Dolphin Hotel
#608 of 1,077 in London
608 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#682 of 1,077 in London
480 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#767 of 1,077 in London
463 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#661 of 1,077 in London
874 reviews
Ashley London
#893 of 1,077 in London
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 29-33 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #934 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Plaza London
Hotel Norfolk Plaza
Norfolk Plaza Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing