We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel with poor service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #931 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I could understand the poor offer here if it was cheap - but relatively speaking it isn't.. Apart from the nice welcome at reception the staff were invisible and generally unhelpful. Breakfast really poor with almost no service despite the dining room being empty. I waited 20 mins to order breakfast and the staff took no interest in customers. Rooms budget fixtures fittings in a warren of floors.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
There are newer reviews for Norfolk Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 734 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed two nights 26th/27th Oct. with my 5 sisters. Arrived early and the very friendly staff kept our cases until rooms ready. When we returned cases were put in our rooms.Room basic but clean. All staff friendly. Breakfast good and plentiful. Close to station. We had an enjoyable stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms 404/5/7 overlooked gardens in Norfolk Square
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elspeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel needs a refurbish but room clean, comfortable and reasonably spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast quite good and staff friendly. Great location close to station and nice walk to Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens. Room temperature comfortable and window opens. Very quiet in our room. Many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night, thank god! Staff are rude and very unhelpful. Lift didn't work so had to take the stairs. Room was tiny an the window was broke so had a freezing room. No toilet seat! Some of the lights didn't work an the tv only had 2 English channels. Overall a very dirty room. Not happy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalieswabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not sure which was "worse": the unpainted repaired spots on the wall or the hole in the inside door of the bathroom where someone had kicked it. All they had was a ground floor room which I would NEVER stay in but supposedly it was all they had. I booked on-line ahead of time too. Paper thin walls. Mattresses were definitely old as you could feel the coils. I needed to catch an early train from Paddington station; hotel is 2 blocks away. The lobby and professional photos look great but the ground floor rooms, at least, were NOT this nice. There are plenty of options in the square so look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Glad I didn't read the reviews before booking as I wouldn't have stayed. Ignore these negative reviews. Our room was great, we were allocated a duplex suite even though we hadn't asked for this. A lovely hotel on a quiet square, only a couple of minutes from Paddington station. We had booked here as we were going to the Paralympic games on one day, then flying for a Canadian holiday on the following, so it was very convenient for the tube and also the Heathrow Express. We had two nights here, there were safety deposit boxes next to reception so that we could leave our valuables here, the rooms were clean, breakfast was good. Friendly helpful staff. Ok, small bathroom, but adequate, and who is spending that much time in the bathroom anyway? If needing to be in that area again I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had asked for a quiet room but the square is quiet anyway.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newbeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Erm, I'm glad we booked online and got a deal on the rates, it's not too bad in London for £95 but £150 for this? No chance.

Ripped bedding, mouldy fridge, "distressed" furniture and stained carpets. Having seen the state of the room we won't be eating here as I can't imagine what the kitchens will be like.

The staff at check in were quite pleasant, if a little pre-occupied.

But ho hum it's only for one night and we won't be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wakkapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Ashley London
#889 of 1,072 in London
482 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#688 of 1,072 in London
468 reviews
Olympic House Hotel
#814 of 1,072 in London
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Hotel
#618 of 1,072 in London
583 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#428 of 1,072 in London
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Address: 29-33 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #931 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $77 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Plaza London
Hotel Norfolk Plaza
Norfolk Plaza Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing