We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Other choices near Paddington Station have to be better!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #925 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Other choices near Paddington Station have to be better!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not sure which was "worse": the unpainted repaired spots on the wall or the hole in the inside door of the bathroom where someone had kicked it. All they had was a ground floor room which I would NEVER stay in but supposedly it was all they had. I booked on-line ahead of time too. Paper thin walls. Mattresses were definitely old as you could feel the coils. I needed to catch an early train from Paddington station; hotel is 2 blocks away. The lobby and professional photos look great but the ground floor rooms, at least, were NOT this nice. There are plenty of options in the square so look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    153
    232
    126
    150
See reviews for
188
191
45
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Glad I didn't read the reviews before booking as I wouldn't have stayed. Ignore these negative reviews. Our room was great, we were allocated a duplex suite even though we hadn't asked for this. A lovely hotel on a quiet square, only a couple of minutes from Paddington station. We had booked here as we were going to the Paralympic games on one day, then flying for a Canadian holiday on the following, so it was very convenient for the tube and also the Heathrow Express. We had two nights here, there were safety deposit boxes next to reception so that we could leave our valuables here, the rooms were clean, breakfast was good. Friendly helpful staff. Ok, small bathroom, but adequate, and who is spending that much time in the bathroom anyway? If needing to be in that area again I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had asked for a quiet room but the square is quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Erm, I'm glad we booked online and got a deal on the rates, it's not too bad in London for £95 but £150 for this? No chance.

Ripped bedding, mouldy fridge, "distressed" furniture and stained carpets. Having seen the state of the room we won't be eating here as I can't imagine what the kitchens will be like.

The staff at check in were quite pleasant, if a little pre-occupied.

But ho hum it's only for one night and we won't be coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakkapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The rooms we were allocated were stuffy and rather cramped, we were unable to open the windows in one of the rooms and a plug socket was hanging off the wall in the other one. The Hotel was in a very good location though, the beds were clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. This under pressure of complaints from customers as we arrived and with every room booked out! Good value for the rate we paid but not at their full room rate.

Room Tip: I would not use this hotel on a very busy weekend when everything seemed to be functioning at its li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegetaround548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Despite being in a good location that's unfortunately the only thing that's good about it. Our room had dodgy electrics, the bathroom had an awful smell we we're reluctant to use it. Rooms need updating, got bitten a lot & therefore didn't sleep well. Glad we didn't pay full price & it was only 4 one night. Breakfast was something left to be desired, so much so that we left the cooked breakfast we'd been given & went to McD's up the rd. we heard hotel staff discussing guests but not in a good way, which is something you don't expect & is not professional.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mansfield2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Norfolk Plaza is a larger hotel compared to other 2 star hotels in London. We stayed at room 511, which was on the 5th floor. The room was huge with 3 large beds (I slept like a princess in the bed), a big closet, a desk, 3 chairs and a huge bathroom with a bathtub + extra pillows and covers.. The room was nice and clean and we got fresh towels every day. The staff was very friendly.
A huge minus was that when we checked in. We had to leave 20 pound as a deposit, for if we used the phone or took anything from the room. We were not advised of this in advance. They wanted to take a copy of my creditcard, but I said I didn't have one, so they wanted cash instead.
The breakfast was absolutely terrible. The coffee tasted of absolutely nothing and the roll tasted like it was from the day before. I recommend eating breakfast just across the street (In London Street) in a place called Mimos Café. They serve great breakfast at a reasonable price and the service is great.

Room Tip: room 511 is large with 3 large beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette Lykke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tielt, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here with my partner on 3 hot days mid August. Had a ground floor room on the street side (G18).Room was spacious and clean with large bathroom. We let the window open during the night which made the temperature bearable. Had a good sleep as there is almost no traffic. Location ideal: only minutes away from Tube station and a 10' walk to Hyde park near Lancaster Gate. Breakfast was ok. I would come back here.
I did not see any other rooms so don't know what they are like.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guyr581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
#521 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#884 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#663 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#863 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#807 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#759 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Property: Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Address: 29-33 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #925 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Plaza London
Hotel Norfolk Plaza
Norfolk Plaza Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing