We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burlesque weekend ...awsome time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Ranked #929 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Burlesque weekend ...awsome time.”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had no problem finding the Hotel " its just round the corner so to speak" from Paddington tube station, the hotel looks nice from the front and inside, the reception lady was very helpful and let us in to a room untill ours was ready. We went out for the day, sight seeing and to a Burlesque show at night,.The morning brkfast spoilt everything...Why..the waitress was unatentive, we had to wait 20 mins for tea, the toast was hardly toasted and the cooked breakfast was ... COLD 28 DEGREES, the eggs were hard and it was obviouse that the food was pre cooked, their was no jam, and the brown sauce was served in a tea cup.!!! the young person that we asked did not spk english so it was no point saying anything, .. ..i would stay again...BUT,,,,without the brkfast, their are plenty of places around for a better meal .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanishgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    159
    244
    134
    160
See reviews for
202
200
47
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oulunsalo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Norfold Plaza hotel is not quite "plaza" as it may advertise itself. It's a small hotel near Paddington Station, Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. Even thought the hotel is small and somewhat hard to find (there are dozens of as small hotels on almost every street nearby), it is easily accessible from the Heathrow Airport by train and has good rail connections elsewhere as well. Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens are within walking distance on this quiet, still vibrant area.

The hotel has a small reception area and rooms are located in tight upper floors, leaving the breakfast room in the underground floor. Room was very small and poorly equipped according to western standards, there was two beds and a TV in the room, not much more. Bathroom was not very impressive in size nor in shape. Price was quite expensive, though other hotels in the region were not more expensive.

For sleeping hotel was OK and location was very good, but don't expect to manage in this hotel if you need accessible facilities, they don't exist.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Over the last year I have spent the best part of 4 months at the plaza. It is well located . The staff are fantastic. The rooms are basic but functional. Thing is your in London to see the sights . If you want a grand suite go to a grand hotel . If you want some where to park your bags go out enjoy yourself then get your head down. The plaza is all you need.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithnattress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

(March 30-Apr5) My son and I were with a tour group and stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal. The carpet in the room was thin and worn ; the curtaiins were old looking and the sheers were off their hooks in several places/ looked like they needed to be retired. There was no fridge in the room and the internet connedtions/ wifi did not work in the rooms. If you went to the lobby and sat in a certain corner with your face properly focused, then you could get a somewhat stable conncetion to the net Upon asking the desk staff, they were friendly in giving out the hotel internet passcode, but also offered that the hotel next door had better connectivity and gave out that password too. One of my friends actually got the net to work in her bathroom. The stairs were narrow and a bit treacherous and the elevators slow. The walls were paper thin and one could hear other people's conversations and phones ringing through them.Footsteps and moving furniture could be heard through the ceilings. The bathroom was tiny; you could actually sit on the toilet and lean forward to brush your teeth at the sink, with your foot touching the side of the tub. The fixtures has some rust on them. This was a good room compared to some! The matresses were hard and the pillows thin. We had read reviews that included sitings of bedbugs, so my son refused to sleep inder the covers, instead using the blanket throws that we had brought for use on the plane. I slept under the covers, because the room was too cold otherwise. I had a rash appear on my hands and arms that looked like bites, on exposed skin that was not covered by nightwear, that was not there when I arrived and was gone within 12 hours of my getting home- bedbug bites or detergent??? My son, who did not sleep under the hotel bedding had no rash develope. Speaking of heat- there was very little. We had the heat turned all the way up and it only came on between 11p and about 4am- I don't know if it was on a time, but I am guessing that it is. The temperature outside was in the 30s-40's every night and the daytime temperatures were in the 50's-60's. Sometimes it was warmer outside the hotel than it was inside. Several of the plugins did not work, and my universal adapter with the UK port did not fit into their plug, I had to resort to an older adapter that was supposedly outdated, and it worked

The basement rooms had threadbare carpet and waterstains on them. There was a distinctive essence of mold and mildew, very musty, in the air as one entered the floor. It even smelled dirty. The walls were even thinner than the upper floors, or so it seemed, and the halls small and dark.
Breakfast buffet- sparse, little variety, the same things every morning, mostly carbs.
This room rates as on of the worst that I have ever stayed in; it rates right in there with one that I stayed in a few years ago outside of Venice that was little bigger than a shoebox- it fit two twin sized beds with 3 feet of space on one side of the bed and 4 feet at the end, with the beds at right angles to each othet and the second bed having even less space to the side and a wardrobe occupying some of the available space. In the Venice room at least was clean and in good repair and the bathroom was a thing of beauty with marble and tile and a heating rack for the towels.

The morning that we were leaving one of our group was sitting in the lounge area and noted that water was dripping on her. Upon looking up, the water was coming through the thelight fixture. It started as a slow drip and then started pouring out. the light was shorted out. Wehn the desk clerk was notified ( when it started to drip) he seemed unconcerned, then finally went to check out the situation. The members of our group evacuated that area, then the building as the water continued to pour out, as we did not want to be present if an electrical fire started.

Room Tip: Do not chose this hotel!!!! If you , do not allow the staff to give you a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

On the plus side, the staff were friendly, its centrally located, and its not expensive. On the minus, shabby bedrooom, badly in need of a refurb, with a serious mold problem in the bathroom. It was March, and the heating only came on between 7.30-11pm on the day I was there, which was not enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I had no problem with room 403 (March 4-9, 2012). Everything about it was adequate. Not thrilling, mind you, but adequate. (Except for the horrible British TV.)

Clean, decent size, decent storage space, large-enough bathroom with decent water pressure, semi-comfortable bed and pillows. In the back of the hotel, so it was quiet. Good size safe in the closet. Could not regulate the radiator heat, but was told the front desk could adjust it. I simply opened a window. One morning there was no hot water, luckily I didn't need a shower that day.

Breakfast was decent.

Hotel staff was friendly and handled all of my routine requests promptly.

The Paddington neighborhood was really nice, plenty of shops and restaurants. Nearby McDonald's had great Wi-Fi. From the hotel, very short walks to "tube" and train stations. Travel to all points in London was very easy.

Biggest negative was poor Wi-Fi service, available only in the lobby, and most of the time it didn't work at all.

(This hotel was booked by a college study-abroad tour company, so I can't speak to the value for the money. I'd pay up to $160/night for this room, based on the high asking prices around London.)

Room Tip: If you're a single, ask for 403.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corsham
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Came here with my boyfriend for my 20th birthday last year.

The location is great, just a 5 minute walk from the train station and nice and quiet, although we came when the football was on so nowhere was really quiet!!

Greeted by the staff as soon as we entered, and shown to our room. Although the stairs were a bit steep to get there, once we were in the room was lovely. Very clean, a bit small but we weren't looking for anything especially luxurious, just somewhere to sleep and chill out.

Bathroom was a great size, although it took us so long to work out where the toilet was (hidden behind the door).

Bed was very comfy, whole room was clean, hairdryer was supplied, we had a working TV, tea and coffee.... all we needed really!!

Staff were helpful, when they were on Reception they would come straight over to the bar to serve you your drinks, although drinks were a little on the pricey side (but hey, that's London!).

Breakfast in the morning was great. We had it included, so had a fry up, and then you can take your pick from the continental bit (fruit, yoghurt, bread rolls, croissants).

Hotel is in a great location, right in the centre. We went off sightseeing and loved it, would come back here for sure.

Room Tip: Try to get the lower floor rooms, avoid the steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJA23_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Ashley London
#887 of 1,069 in London
479 reviews
Chrysos Hotel
#666 of 1,069 in London
463 reviews
The Norfolk Towers Hotel
#622 of 1,069 in London
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#426 of 1,069 in London
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk Plaza Hotel

Property: Norfolk Plaza Hotel
Address: 29-33 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #929 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norfolk Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norfolk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Plaza London
Hotel Norfolk Plaza
Norfolk Plaza Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing