We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Ranked #544 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Mitre House Hotel is very close to Paddington station and definitely good value for money compared with other hotels in the area. It also has a lift so you don't have to lug your cases up the stairs (unlike other places in the area). It also has its own bar as well which a lot of other hotels nearby don't have.

The room was more than adequate and I think it's fair to say the only downside for us was breakfast. The breakfast room was nowhere near big enough for the amount of people staying in the hotel so it was all quite chaotic. There was no continental buffet to help yourselves from (quite unusual these days) so you had to wait until one of busy waitresses finally got to you. Both mornings we asked for the traditional English breakfast with fried egg (both days it came with poached) and to our surprise the traditional English breakfast came without sausage. I have attached a picture of what we actually received.

But if you are just looking for somewhere cheap to stay near the centre of London then it is quite convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Author007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    239
    161
    52
    31
See reviews for
158
174
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Requested a quiet room when booking and they delivered. My room was ready upon arrival at 10AM very much appreciated after a long flight.
Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Proximity to Paddington Train station was wonderful. Took the Heathrow express to and from the hotel.
Restaurants nearby very good especially Indian and Greek restaurant on London Rd. Excellent value to the money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked a hotel close to this but only stayed there an hour before moving to the Mitre House Hotel which was much better it was really good value for money, in a great location with comfortable rooms that were clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed one weekend at the Mitre hotel. The location is very good, halfway between Paddington station and Hyde Park. Very convenient for transport. The price for a double room is very acceptable for the area. The room was very clean but could have been a bit bigger. The staff were very friendly and helpful whenever we asked for something. Breakfast was OK. Nice breakfast staff. The lift was slow. Plenty of parking. All in all, very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good basic hotel in London's bustling Paddington. Good parking. Reasonably clean room. Basic beds and bedding. But overall good value. Down side is staff attitude - not exactly the most welcoming and 11am checkout is a bit of a downer for those wanting to sample London nightlife. Also rooms are noisy especially in week due to so many contractors staying here in great big steel boots !! so not a great nights sleep

Room Tip: ask for room not front facing. very noisy. if poss book a larger room than you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

5 minutes walk from Lancaster Gate Tube or Paddington Tube. Great location. £90 for double room. Very comfortable, very clean. We overlooked Sussex Gardens, but very quiet. All staff we met were very friendly and helpful from the reception staff to the breakfast room. in basement, lots of staff were fast to serve us, all with smiles on their faces - even though only Breakfast room is in the basement, it is not a buffet. However, lots of staff who were welcoming and served us within a couple of minutes of sitting down.

I have no hesitattion in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor overlooking Sussex Gardens, which was great window on side and front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missbrowneyesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Comfortable single room although double bed which was very comfortable.Well equipped bathroom although bit awkward with the toilet sort of jammed behind the door.(Get rid of the bath I reckon).Only problem with this room(G5) was the creaking of floor boards from room above.Not much of problem for me except for one night when the upstairs guest roamed around until 0200 hrs.Ear plugs are the answer I think.
Reception staff excellent, especially Kate and Helena. Kate was kind enough to let me store some luggage for 5 days before I actually occupied the room as I was going north for a few days.I appreciated this as it saved me the cost and hassle of leaving it in left luggage.
Helena kindly rearranged rooms so that I could stay in my room and extra day.
Breakfast is good and the service very efficient so no one is kept waiting.
I stayed at this hotel in 2001 and it is good to see they have kept the flag flying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#302 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#476 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#622 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#399 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#199 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Property: Mitre House Hotel
Address: 178-186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing