We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy street in London”
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Ranked #545 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 4, 2013

First, the location is great then there is A helpful staff. The rates are reasonable, room was good size and clean. There is A good breakfast with A few things to pick from.
The train station is very near by. The street it is on is busy but not a lot of noise. There is A small bar for guests. The rates are good. the lobby is small but ok to meet people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigFootzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 660 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed few nights in this hotel. We were satisfied. The stuff was nice, rooms clean and and enough space for short term visit. Good location close to the interesting things in London for reasonable value.
I would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xpetullka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Close to the tube, Hyde Park and great neighbourhood restaurants and pubs, the Mitre Hotel has everything you need to make your London trip enjoyable. Helpful, courteous staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds after a busy day sightseeing are a delight.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat_and_Ken_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a cosy family-run place in central London which is fairly well connected to the important parts of the city. Breakfast timings were way too early for me (7-9am) though. Wifi was free and of good quality. Bathrooms were too small and poky. The lobby was very hot as were the rooms (I was in London in end-August, which was quite sweltering).....one has to open the windows at night and consequently sleep with the street cacophony outside. Bath towels are way too small for anyone's comfort. On the whole, it was an averagely comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Away from the lift area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vakil75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked a family suite through an online booking agency, excellent value for a two night stay in central London for 4 people (2 adults/2children).
The hotel is very easy to find, a short walk from tube (Lancaster Gate, I think) and with parking in case you're driving.
The family suite was adjoined double rooms, with an ensuite bathroom. TV's in both rooms. Considering the location, the room was surprisingly quiet, with great, thick curtains to keep out the light. The hotel has a lift also.
Breakfast was good. Plenty of juice and coffee and very attentive staff.
A very good value break in a well located London hotel. I would definitely go back and be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katekitty n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel was very close to Paddington Station which was convenient. The hotel has modest accommodations and is very clean. The beds were a little hard for my liking but the room was nicely kept and clean with daily room service. The English breakfast that was included was in my opinion, wonderful and helped to offset the expensiveness of London. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hicksy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Mitre House Hotel 4 times. I won't stay anywhere else. The food is good. The service good and clean rooms. I have stayed in the family room and the single room and have always been very happy. The staff are friendly and always helpful. The hotel is well located and near to all public transport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#358 of 1,081 in London
1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#642 of 1,081 in London
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#557 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#598 of 1,081 in London
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#862 of 1,081 in London
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#664 of 1,081 in London
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Address: 178-186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #545 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $102 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing