We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay in London”
Review of Mitre House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mitre House Hotel
Ranked #565 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Trani, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A stay in London”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good hotel. The rooms are not very large but it is clean and the staff is very helpful. Very close to tube station and easy to reach from Heathrow airport. Would definitely advice it for a stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    249
    166
    53
    33
See reviews for
164
181
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My family and I stayed in a quad room for five nights in late May/early June, and I would recommend Mitre House if you're looking for a comfortable, friendly and centrally-located budget hotel.

The room was small and basic, but clean, with a nice view out over the rooftops and chimney pots - which our children thought was very Mary Poppins. Given that we spent the whole day out, we weren't too fussed about size.

Breakfast good, staff very friendly and helpful, location fantastic - we stepped right off the Heathrow Connect at Paddington and walked a couple of minutes to the hotel. When we weren't catching the tube, we walked comfortably to many of London's major sites, and the children enjoyed Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, again a couple of minutes' walk away.

This is not the Hilton, but for what we were charged, I felt it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Good location, good breakfast, appalling room, tacky blanket - ribbon torn and trailing, perspex covering of bath broken and muck exposed, awful view; no privacy from offices in proximity; sheets barely pulled straight and impossible to tuck in, grubby - all this despite relative having been shown accommodation in advance. Do they have a special room to put on view? Horrified to have had to spend time there. Will NEVER return. For 10 pounds more could have stayed at Premier Inn which guarantees quality.

Room Tip: Definitely dont request a quiet room. Apparently that is why our room was so shocking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Location is great, smack in the middle of Hyde Park and less than 5 min walk from Lancaster Gate station, and from the outside it looked great, but based on the double room we had it was way overpriced. 90£ for a room that barely fit two people and little room for luggage thankfully it was quiet. We booked late so other rooms might be better, so be sure to ask about the room before you commit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2labboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I found this place to be great option for our stay in London. It was in a decent location with a decent price. Yes, for what you get, it is way overpriced compared to most hotels in the States, but this is London and every hotel is very overpriced. The rooms were small but if you are like me and only use your hotel as a place to sleep, then this will work. If you like to make several return trips to your hotel to relax throughout the day, then it will probably not meet your needs. They give you free Wifi, a decent breakfast, and the staff was nice. Although the hotel is older, I think it gives it charm rather than looking at it negatively.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have been there twice and I loved. Its a beautiful building, cosy and relaxed. The rooms are small but there are nice, mind who stays in their room all day in London. The breakfast is nice. Its a small cooked breakfast but you can also have cereal aswell. Its in a prime spot, just around the corner from Paddington Station and a bus stop for the sigh seeing tours. Its a brilliant place!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freudenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is located in the centre of London. The train station is few minutes away. That's very good. The interieur of the hote is old (I think the Seventies), the rooms are very small. The bathroom smells like a toilet. It was impossible to take a shower because its stung. The heating didn't function! For the stay of one night, it will be ok. I think the price is too high for such a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franz187282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Rhodes Hotel
#316 of 1,067 in London
1,400 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#408 of 1,067 in London
1,044 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#487 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#646 of 1,067 in London
818 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#209 of 1,067 in London
2,137 reviews
Stylotel
#556 of 1,067 in London
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitre House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitre House Hotel

Property: Mitre House Hotel
Address: 178-186 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #565 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitre House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a prime location just north of Hyde Park. Served by 2 underground stations, Paddington and Lancaster Gate just a few minutes walk away. Old style architecture but with comfortable, clean and secure rooms. Staffed 24 hours a day this well established hotel is an independent hotel designed for individuals. Lift access to all floors and a free car park (20 spaces) based on a first come basis in front of the hotel. English Breakfast. Bar and piano lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mitre House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitre Hotel London
Mitre House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing