We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mitre House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$334
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$160
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$290
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$374
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$254
Montague Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$158
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
113
300
178
60
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
300
178
60
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddington stationhyde parkfamily suiteheathrow expresssussex gardensenglish breakfastbudget hotelrestaurants and pubsfull englishstayed nightsquiet at nightbeds were comfortablelong weekendfive minute walkenjoyable stayshort staybus stop
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 688 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here for two nights in London on a recent trip to London. It's in a very nice neighborhood and very close to Paddington Station. I would say it's not a great hotel, but was comfortable and clean. As expected in London, the rooms are very small. There is barely enough space to put luggage. But the room was clean. The front desk staff were friendly and acomodating. There is a small bar/pub. The entry area has a nice sitting area and there's free wifi. I'd say it's a good place to stay on a budget. The location right near Hyde Park, Paddington station make getting around very easy and there are quite a few very nice restuarants and shops in easy walking distance

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and honestly, have nothing to complain about. It is indeed well placed between 2 tube stations. Just round the corner are eating places and convenience stores for water/fruits/light bites. Given that it's summer, the environment is so pleasant with lush tree-lined avenues. Breakfast is basic but served, unlike some budget hotels I have stayed in where its self-service. My room was on ground floor - carpet was clean, sheets were clean, room was quiet, TV worked, water pressure was good. Front desk staff are at best helpful and at worse 'utilitarian' (some wld smile, some wld not)

For GBP80 in central London - really, can't fault it. Only wished the bed was a bit firmer,,,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hunnybunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Mitre house hotel could so much better than it actually is, it is in a great location and in spitting distance from paddington station, but unfortunately the hotel falls down on so many factors!
We were faced with a blood stained quilt on one of the beds,(it was soon replaced) which obviously put us off straight away! We found the day staff polite and fairly helpful, but the night staff very obnoxious. The rooms were clean but very old and dated. Breakfast was very basic and didn't seem to consist of what was on the menu?
As people have already said, 'you get what you pay for', and that is true of this hotel, we wouldn't stay here again, but it seems such a shame due to the fact of the location. Having said all this, there are allot of other hotels along the same road......Mitre house hotel , listen to what people are saying!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pongoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

It was clean, it is close to Paddington station and tube and the Polish & Portugese girls at the reception wer super nice. But that's about it. This hotel should be closed and totally renewed. If you have a dust allergy, stay away from this place! The rooms are one big brown-beige blur of carpets and curtains that are old and stinky... The breakfast procedure is hilarious, in a communist sort of way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna1963Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is the location is within walking distance of Paddington Train station and Hyde Park. The hotel is seriously dated, my childen noticed bites on their legs after we left (bed bugs??). The bathroom smelled like urine and the overall hotel smelled musty.

The staff was rude and the breakfast was pathetic. I asked for an soft egg for breakfast and all I got was the egg, you have to specify that you also want the bacon and tomato with it..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mongolianeye, Manager at Mitre House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2011

As hotel managers we expect that some reviews may be negative as tastes vary and one cannot please everybody, however there are times when a review borders on the slanderous. We have no history of bed bugs at this hotel and if the guest did experience this horrible infestation they did not report it to us.
I may also add that our bedrooms and bathrooms are refreshed daily and a misunderstanding at breakfast has clearly upset this guest and for that we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews