We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not best of Mercure hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #307 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in Mercure London. The only good thing about the hotel was it's staff. They were so helpful and trying their best. Nice people. But overall experience was really disappointing. Rooms are really ugly, honestly to say, water basins and bathtubs seemed roughly and quickly fixed at some point as there were traces of paint and grout for tiles. In our first room the shower almost fell out of the wall and at the same time didn't work properly. We had to move to another room. Yet the second one. It was two times smaller than previous. We asked for another room. The last room appeared to have no additional noise protection on the window and it has almost no air to breathe during the night. It was horrible and in December we slept with the fully open window. Although we put the sign on the door to clean our room it wasn't cleaned when we came back. So it was terrible disappointment. We always stay at Mercure in Paris, but never seen such poor level. Definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

937 - 943 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure for a week with a large group that consisted largely of children. I want to give the hotel staff a great deal of credit with their patience in dealing with us all! We had frequent meetings in the lobby and definitely were noticed wherever we went, but the staff absolutely took us in stride. The room was on the small side but absolutely comfortable, and the shower in particular was really excellent. Great value. We had a wonderful time.

Do keep in mind that the neighborhood is not the most glamorous in London, and we were pressed for options going out at night. The location happened to work well for our daytime activities, though, so it was fine for us. But it's a good thing to know before you go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenchurch128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel has undergone a major refurb recently so don’t be put off by the photos look at the professional ones. This is a high quality hotel located in a quiet location within the business district within easy reach of major tourist attractions such as the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, The Globe Theatre etc. Our family booked 3 superior rooms over the weekend, if you can get the advanced rate it’s an unbeatable option. Small to medium sized modern clean rooms with pleasant relaxing decor, very quiet, and comfortable beds. The hotel has a contemporary, cool feel to the reception / lounge and bar area. Several coffee shops / cafes are located just outside for breakfast options. Under ground and over line train services are a few minutes’ walk away, making this a good option for this end of town. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If available a superior room would be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DES32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed at the London Bridge Mercure for one night. We arrived about 10.30am just expecting to leave our bags while later, but our check in guy got us a room straight away which was brilliant. Check in was very relaxed using iPads and very efficient. We were in a standard room which was quite small, but adequate for one night. The bathroom was tiny and could only fit one person in at a time. We had all the usual facilities, tea, coffee, safe, iron etc. The bed was really comfy and the room was quiet prevents though it's on a main road. There is easy access to Southwark, blackfriars and London Bridge stations and a short walk to Tate Modern and the Southbank.
Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice, although we went at the busy time and had to wait for a few things. The only downside for us, was our room was roasting. The window was double glazed so we were unable to open the window for some air. I did mention it to reception who said they would switch the heating off, but it was still red hot when we returned at night. I have to have a cool room to sleep, so struggled to get decent sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The young staff at this hotel were unfailingly courteous and welcoming. The public areas are smart and the bedroom was comfortable, albeit our room was slightly impacted by traffic noise. We did not make use of the restaurant or bar facilities. It's a bit of a walk to the tube station, but the RV1 bus route takes you directly from the hotel door via Waterloo Station and the South Bank to Covent Garden.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Euryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Recently stayed here for a long weekend with the wife. Amazing location in Bankside/South London. Five minutes walk to London bridge station and southwark station to access the transport links to the rest of London. Located close to borough market and the shard, great access to both.

Hotel was great, clean and tidy and friendly staff. Very quiet hotel which is a rear thing to find in London. Room wise, no major issues, only minor thing that I would say was the shower screen doesn't really do it's job which resulted in me flooding half the bathroom when I first used it, not hard to sort out with the amount of towels they provide!!

Would advice looking at booking through various comparison sites as these seem to offer the better deals then with the hotel direct. All in all the hotel is great for the money and in a great location for exploring London and mainly south London.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#253 of 1,078 in London
2,223 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#96 of 1,078 in London
3,509 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#129 of 1,078 in London
2,388 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,078 in London
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
#282 Family Hotel in London
#333 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $129 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside
Mercure London Bridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing