We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cold room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #309 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very cold room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We did not use the bar or dining/breakfast rooms so have no comment to make on them. The bedroom was quite large and clean. The only problem was that the heating did not work and the room was therefore very cold. I reported this to reception and the receptionist said he would bring up a heater straight away, another visitor was reporting the same problem with her room as well. About 45 minutes later a heater had not been provided so I went back down to reception and was told a heater would be provided soon. It then took another 20 minutes or so before housekeeping provided a heater.
I believe that the hotel should check that all facilities in the rooms, including the heating, work before a room is allocated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Nautique,
Many thanks for posting your comments. I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. We appreciate all feedback and will be addressing the issues raised to ensure there is not a repeat of this.
I hope to welcome you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    823
    307
    99
    45
See reviews for
308
844
139
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

An excellently located hotel, with good restaurant, and room quality you would expect from Accor.
Only downside was booking process (direct with Accor not through an agency) which confirmed our booking then requested payment confirmation - bit annoying but my complaint was dealt with efficiently and pleasantly by Reception.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walshshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Walshshe,
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and have branded us 'Marvellous Mercure' we take pride in our efforts to maintain an exceptional level of service for all our guests.
We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have to stay in London on business quite often. I try and save money by opting for lower price alternatives but on occasions I have no option but to stay here. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and the advance electronic check-in/out is very good. On occasions I get upgraded to one of the better rooms, this is a treat. I don not tend to eat breakfast but whenever I do it is better here than in most other places I stay in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zometa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Zometa,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had a Friday night here with my family and was really impressed. Booked well in advance with Hotels.com to secure rooms next to each other, deluxe king for my wife and I and twin next door for my 2 boys and both were comfortable and clean - nice complimentary flapjacks too - our bed was excellent (which is great as my wife is very fussy), bathroom neat and nespresso machine for coffee in the morning.
Will definitely stay again, plus don't forget it's a uniquely convenient location at a reasonable price for London Bridge, Waterloo, the South Bank, City & West End

Room Tip: High up and on the front - there is a lot of construction going on behind the hotel and they don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Adrianhands,
Thank you for your great review. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure London Bridge Hotel. We are working very hard to maintain the great experience you enjoyed and endeavour to always exceed our guest’s expectations.
I couldn’t agree with you more, we are in a fantastic location and we encourage all our guests to take advantage of the attractions neighbouring the hotel.
I am pleased that you were happy with your room and the amenities. Ahh the beds! Our guests love our comfy beds so I am glad your wife loved it too!
We look forward to welcoming you back at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.

Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Here on business for one night. Not cheap at £160 without dinner. Will not be back!!

Front hotel, lobby, staff, restaurant and food all great. Sham the staff are let down by the poor rooms.

My main issue was the room where I am spending my time. It was terrible. Some shabby euro space from what felt like the 1980s. AirCon wasn't aircon so fresh air in room was impossible. It was like a sauna in and in Nov. Carpet and walls looked tired and dirty. Dampness showing via brown stains on ceiling. Bathroom was a joke. Old bath and shower. No toiletries provided apart from a tiny bar of cheap soap. 1970s old style plastic box hair dryer still on the wall with the vacuum pipe. Tv was falling of its stand and picture terrible. No WIFI unless I paid 9€.

For 2012 in a major Olympic city and at £160 a night this is simply not acceptable. I felt like a cheap old businessman shoved into a dirty box.

Manager tells me on a post questionnaire return they are doing up rooms! Well why not have me in one of the new ones! I haven't paid £39 for a dirty overnight lodge!! Oh and apparently Wifi about to be free.

All too late. I would never go back here. Such a shame.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonblyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff were friendly and couldnt do enough for us. They got us into a room as soon as possible even though we were hours early. The room was small but very functional. The bed was great. The road noise was bad untill i discovered I had the second window open. Once that was shut there was no road noise at all. The attractions of london were all very close. For example, St Pauls and Tate Modern are within walking distance. The breakfast was good and the staff were very good at their job. A few shops across the road sold cheap snacks and meals on the run.
There was free internet in the foyer but the wifi in the room was a bit expensive.
Ill be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear John Anthony S,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here.
We are continually improving our amenities and services in the hotel and I am pleased to tell you we have upgraded our internet, offering all our guests free Wi-Fi!!
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed here several times and this visit was no different.The welcome was warm and enthusiastic and all staff were always courteous and considerate. Our 'priviledge' room was very comfortable and quiet even though it was on the road side. The breakfast was wonderful, with a good selection on both the hot and cold buffet as well as special items available to order separately. We shall return to 'the Mercure' as we like the location. It is ideally suited to the pedestrian who is prepared to use a 'bus. The RV1 stops outside and that is convenient for Waterloo, Covent Garden or Tower Bridge. We are now beginning to plan our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mavxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
DearMavxs,
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable.
My team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and every aspect of your trip.
Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#284 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#195 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#239 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Green Hotel in London
#225 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside
Mercure London Bridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing