We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, good size privilege room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #310 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at this hotel, we are a family of two adults and one child and booked a privilege room. Was a great size room with a king size bed and large single bed, tv, kettle, coffee maker, mini bar (which we emptied and used as a fridge). Clean bedroom and bathroom every day with a change of towels where necessary. Had breakfast at the hotel three mornings which was good and ate in the restaurant one evening, prices much the same as restaurants in the area. We got the tube to/from London Bridge from Euston as this is a direct service, but used the Southwark tube when visiting attractions, hotel staff gave us the shortcut route to this underground. All staff very friendly and welcoming, and provided tube maps and a map of London. We used the hop on/hop off bus tour for 48 hours and the stop is about 7 minute walk around the corner to pick up/drop off. Good safe area to stay. As we were all exhausted at night, missed not having free wifi in the room and didn't opt to pay, this would be my only reason and recommendation for not using this hotel as many other hotels in London now offer this free. Overall though good place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a privilege room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank touristBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is south of the Thames and to be honest makes for a great location. Close proximity to Tate Modern, Globe Theatre, Borough Market, bars, restaurants and numerous other attractions. The hotel itself is clean, staff were excellent, both efficient and helpful. A great breakfast is served getting the day off to a good start. We travelled to London Bridge tubestation to access the hotel (handy tip - when exiting the tubestation follow the signs for Borough High Street Exit this takes you to the beginning of Southwark Street which leads to the hotel).
Only negative the rooms are small but it is a well run hotel where I would stay again and certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

hotel located between London Bridge and Waterloo stations. street is quiet and you can have a great sleep. if you have a heavy suitcases, there are several steps to get to reception. hotel has also only one lift, which means that you sometimes should wait for a little bit longer to get to your room on upper floor. however, if you will get to the room, you will be surprised about tastefully decorated interior and nice amenities. room size is not large, but still good size for London hotels! bed was confy and with good linens. breakfast was soooo good! they even have ala carte menu from which you can choose other dishes. love the hotel and love the service!

Room Tip: great hotel if you manage to get reasonable rate! take a breakfast at hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aigars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Aigars S,
Great guest, great hotel, great team, great feedback.
Our guest loves our extra coMfy beds!
Just a note to let you know that we will be starting a bedroom, bathroom refurbishment pretty soon and you will certainly love the new decor.
Look forward to welcoming you again soo here at Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Kind regards
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

it is very clean the breakfast is rich,the staff is very helpfull and gently. Excellent beds. Out of the door is the busstop for covent gurden and london eye. Very close to the hotel is Tate Modern and the Globe theater. A very nice walk is from the hotel to Tate Modern, from there to Millenium Bridge and passing Tames by this bridge you are going to the cathedral, Saint Paul.

Room Tip: rooms with two seperate beds are much bigger than those with a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thanasis342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear thanasis342 ,
Really appreciated your very kind feedback.
All the team is so please their daily work is recognised and praised.
We look forward to welcoming you back in our lovely Mercure London Bridge Hotel.
Such a great Location in London, not to be missed!
See you soon
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here on business in a twin room...
Myself and colleagues arrived after a long morning travelling - only to wait at the front desk for 10 minutes waiting to be checked in. The man behind the desk did not acknowledge us or even tell us how long he may be whilst he dealt with a small group of French customers.
Once we got to the room - the overall cleanliness was ok.
However, Dust/Hair in the corners of the bathroom floor. Mouldy chocolate bars on the desk.
Good tea & coffee making facilities.
Complimentary robe & slippers, bottled water & plenty of espresso pots.
Wooden slat blind was very hard to control with the string - but good black out blind.
The bathroom could have done with some attention - gaps between the marble sink and bath surround.
Fully air conditioned - good control over the room temperature.
Id say it was over priced for what the room was.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodeo087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Rodeo087,
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London Bridge Hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Nice reception service, but we were very disappointed with the room, it was tiny, and the bathroom was so small you could barely fit in it and had to swing the door to sit on the loo (and I'm small). My fiance who is 6ft 3 struggled to move around in the room so thank God we were only there one night. Location was ok, closer to Southwark tube than Paddington, breakfast was ok also, but I've stayed in lots of 4* hotels and this was the worst. Not a 4*, more like a 3* with 4* prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure-Bankside, General Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Stephanieb,
Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. Our bedrooms have a minimum 21 square metre footfall, which for London isn't a bad! Shame we didn't leave up to your expectation.
Thank you for the kind words on our team and the quality of service you received.
Much appreciated
Kind regards,
Florian Jourdhier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we stopped here for a long weekend, the location is not far from the Thames south bank, but its not close to London Bridge.
the check in staff were very friendly and helpfull. we arrived before theb check in time and they arranged for our luggage to taken to the room so we could get out and enjoy our time in London.
we did not biother with the expensive breakfast option and opted for something at a cafe up the road, however there are a coupel of chain coffe shops across the road from the hotel.
Would i stay there again, probabaly not as the tube stations are a bit of a hike, however there is a "boris bike" rank across the road for the energetic

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveykbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#251 of 1,078 in London
2,223 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#95 of 1,078 in London
3,510 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#132 of 1,078 in London
2,390 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,078 in London
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#333 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $128 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside
Mercure London Bridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing