We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, Loud noise from street”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #572 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Sierra Madre, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Average hotel, Loud noise from street”
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Very very basic european hotel. Clean room, but was very warm in the room in mid-May. Street noise on the 3rd level made for very poor sleep. Also, not a big fan of only having one key and checking it back in with the front desk when leaving the hotel. Casino next door was a good time though!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    846
    662
    189
    128
See reviews for
424
590
223
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Good service, good room, good breakfast and fantastic value.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richards95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

My parents had recommended this hotel to me but I was a bit worried after I read the reviews here. It was £107 a night and that included a hit breakfast ( not v nice we only had it once) and a three course dinner for 2 one night ( as we are foodies and the breakfast was not nice we didn't use this voucher). So it's good value for central London - close to russel square station and we thought the location was excellent. As we were staying 3 nights they upgraded us to the top level room but the room they gave us was not nice - fairly small, rip in one if the chairs , sheets did not fit the bed and right in the corner of the l-shaped hotel so could see into others rooms and vice versa. We considered getting another hotel (and they would have refunded us the 3 night tarrif) but we ended up asking to see another room which was bigger and in better condition ( but not great - sheets still didnt fit the bed). So we took that room - I have to say it was at the non street side and we slept well - they should include better instructions for the heating - w had to open the window a few times as it got too hot. I also could not get the shower temperature steady. The service was variable - one receptionist was lovely, the others pretty unfriendly. The big key they make you check in everytime you leave and the 60s decor make it feel like a hostel. Good value and central but not flash at all!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

I have been here too many times. A while ago i refused to go anymore after i came down with a rash. I went again for the first time in ages recently, and came out blotchy again. It may be a coincidence, who knows, or i may just be alergic to their detergents. But I am not going back. Generally the hotel is depressingly dull, dull , dull. Has the feeling of a 1970s youth hostel. The enormous keys are hilarious.

The food is ok at breakfast, but the juice is like some syruppy cordial.

The bar is quite good for a hotel bar to be fair.

The reception staff are always polite and professional, but the systems are as antiquated as the decor. Its true that it is hard to get decent affordable hotels in London , but I know several better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmerwadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Stayed at the Imperial for 1 week vactaion. Had a single room. Room was alright, im from a big city so the noice outside didnt bother me much, was very hotso the windows had to stay up. First night i watched some tv cause it was to hot to sleep, got complaines from the people in the next room, tv wasnt even loud, but the walls was very thin and i could hear the couple next door doing their um private buissines. The doors to the hotelroom scares the h... out of you when they closes with a HUGE bang.

The staff in the reseption is not very nice, they could put on a smile. A lot of the guest had complains, a American lady came down and said the cleaning lady had come in to her room while she was naked and refused to leave, the staff at the hotel just laughed and did nothing.
Also when i got back late at night the night nightwatch was sleeping in a chair behind the desk and didnt even notice that i came in, luckely i had sneak out my key cause i had a big bag. I saw the same guy sleep other nights behind the desk too.
Staff talk very bad english.

Cleaning was ok, but no shampoo so bring your own. Got 1 towel for me and one for the floor, cause when you shower water floats on the floor outside of the tub.

The enormous keey you get (its attached to a large metal rod) We had a lot of fun with that key, thought it was for pushing the buttons in the elevator. Haha. You have to turn in your key at the reseption everytime you leave, and sometimes there is not people working there, and you have to wait a long time for someone to help you(there is no bell to ring on either) The staff are very little helpfull with your questions.

The internett cable you pay deposit to dont work in the rooms, so you have to use the lobby for internett access. The lobby is super hot to sit in at summertime tho, and there was a lot of American kids partying in the lobby and left a huge mess with bear cans all over the lobby, and it stayed there to late next day without no one picking it up.

The breakfast is HORRIBLE! I ate at other local places, and my dinner i ate mostly at this pretty little italian restaurant i found right next to the hotel and the little grossery store, they have very good food and the staff there is so wonderfull. (try the icecream)
The pub on the hotel is ok, but dont eat the food there, i ordered food there 3 times and everytime i got burned or over cooked food.

But i met a lot of great people there and beer is good. Also the staff on the Day and night bar is very nice,
Location is perfect, thats the only good thing about this hotel.

I recom this hotel for only those who aint picky.. Teenagers whos there for a fun time.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOlsen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed for five nights at the imperial was a little worried about the reviews i read before but the receptionest where frendly the room was ok( for a an old london hotel) and was kept cleaned and changed fresh towels every day about the traffick noise was"nt that bad.
What we dislike in this hotel is the horrible breakfas especialy their disgusting toastt,every single day thesame discusting items for five cosecutive mornings never changed a single item poorest breakfast I"ve ever had.The other thing that I was disappointed about was that when we cheaked out as we had to leave our bags at the reception we where asked to pay 50c for each bag.
But after all was"nt that bad if it was for the breakfast,for one to use this hotel for sleeping and location it is good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marija15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Welcome back to 1980s Soviet Moscow!!
Good location, but the interior decor is hilarious, and feels like a step back in time. I really expected a babushka on every floor and a communist party commissar checking our documents! The reception is particularly hilarious.
Rooms are ok but no better than that. Really this place could do with a massive upgrade to the decor.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponyfeeders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,069 in London
3,518 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#592 of 1,069 in London
2,621 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#876 of 1,069 in London
8,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#362 of 1,069 in London
2,098 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#439 of 1,069 in London
1,048 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London, England
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing