We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #560 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently spent several nights here on arrival from Australia, and found it to be the perfect hotel for our requirements. We had a great view over Russell Square, which in itself was a most convenient location ( almost next door to the tube station and within walking distance of central London.) The room was comfortable, if smallish, and the breakfast was excellent and very generous.The room and public areas were clean and welcoming, the staff friendly and helpful.Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to other visitors to London. Reasonably priced also, and next door to Hertz car rentals, which we made use of!

Room Tip: Although ours was at the front it was not too noisy and the view was great. Large window looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillandBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was a little concerned about the Imperial having read very mixed reviews, but these were quickly dispersed on arrival. Check-in was a quick and no fuss event and on the way to our room through the Atrium we were pleasantly surprised by the colourful decor, cosy ambiance and the obvious cleanliness everywhere. We had an executive room which was extremely hot on arrival, but an open window soon sorted that. The executive room, whilst not plush by any means, was spacious, with adequate storage space, a small flat screen tv, and tea and coffee facility. The shower was in the bath but was extremely powerful and the double sinks were a real bonus. Bed linen and towels were changed every day. We had no view, being at the back of the hotel, but 2 large windows gave plenty of light and we were literally out from 9 am until at least 9pm every day of our 4 day trip. We heard no noise whatever during our stay from the rooms on either side or from the corridors. Another bonus. So at breakfast not a yoghurt or croissant in sight, but there was all the requirements for a very tasty 'full English'. The fried and scrambled eggs were great, loads of thick bacon, tomatoes, beans, plenty of toast and rolls and a selection of juices and jams. The dining room staff were attentive and polite supplying copius amounts of tea and coffee. Ok, so there's an old fashioned bedroom door key on a long piece of metal as opposed to a modern card reader, and no works of art or fancy pieces of expensive glassware but honestly, this really is a perfectly decent hotel, reasonably priced for central London, with friendly and helpful staff, a good quality breakfast, clean rooms, pleasant sitting areas with some touches of elegances and a convivial atmosphere. Then there's the great location of the Imperial. Russell Square out front, British Museum just round the corner from the Square. The tube station less than 100mts from rear of hotel, shops, cafes and pubs in close proximity. I would have no hesitation recommending the Imperial and will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are more spacious and it was extremely quiet at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NELLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

i booked this hotel with superbreak for a friends birthday, i have stopped in the president and royal national so i knew what to expect, this hotel is the best out of three i would say, modern reception.. nice clean spacious rooms and perfect base for london sightseeing

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was last in this hotel in November 2012 and was not disappointed again.

Clean but simple room. The wifi is free and relaiable.

The staff are very pleasant especially the guys who are concierge.

The restaurant was civilised for breakfast and again the waiters were ensuring that you had a drink - the tea was so hot rather than luke warm.

Goodd place to stay - neat tube and buses and only minutes walk to British Museum.

I shall return!

Room Tip: Inside room - not apretty view but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david_littlewood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our experience for a weekend getaway in London was that it was clean, the staff were more than helpful and importantly we got a decent nights sleep, the bed was comfy and the room nice and toasty.

Yes, it is rather dated with old metal framed windows but you dont spend time in London looking at the hotel fittings?? The shower was great with loads of hot water. Can't ask for more.

The self service breakfast was more than adequate, even at peak time when people were queueing to get in there was still plenty of hot & cold food available.

The hotel is in a great location. 15min walk from Kings Cross station and only 30mins to Covent Garden. What more can you ask for? Tube station just around the corner too.

We will definately use this area again to stay in but will try another hotel next time for reference.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tubby-lala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I had had satisfactory visits to the Imperial in the past so, this time, we decided to sample one of their highest price "executive rooms" expecting it to compare with similar priced rooms overseas. We were disappointed. Apart from it being a little larger than other rooms, it lacked a view of the Square (we were told that no executive rooms offered that view), it lacked an in room safe (surely essential in such a business-orientated room?), and, not least, the room contained 2 rather uncomfortable singe beds (again we were told that no such rooms offered large, king-sized beds). As we had arrived from a visit to Italy where the hotels (at lower prices) all offered such features we were not happy with such a room which was certainly not what would be expected from one advertised as being "executive" standard. Much better value at the nearby Tavistock hotel owned by the same group.

Room Tip: The so called executive rooms are not worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Certainly not your luxury holiday experience hotel, but we stayed here a total of four nights over two stays and it was great. Conveniently located near Russell Square tube station on the Piccadilly line from Heathrow, near a little shopping centre and restaurants in the neighbourhood. We had a free voucher for dining in which was ordinary. We used the carvery restaurant for a roast meal, it was great because it was free but wouldn't pay for it. The hotel is dated and showing signs of wear, but the room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful and bought extra pillow immediately. My husband forgot his phone charger and the hotel had this great "box" arrangement which could accommodate different types of connections and you locked your phone in it (you keep the key) and come back in an hour and it's done, oh it cost a pound. All in all it was fine as a base for exploring London and to/from the airport on the tube which is the cheapest way to get there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieHCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#506 of 1,078 in London
3,659 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#572 of 1,078 in London
2,693 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#472 of 1,078 in London
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,078 in London
2,181 reviews
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#880 of 1,078 in London
8,267 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#352 of 1,078 in London
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range: $123 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London, England
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing