We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect better from a London Hotel”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #562 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Shropshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Expect better from a London Hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to this hotel. The 1st back in July was for pleasure and most recentlyI stayed for business. Both times I was disappointed by the standard of the rooms. Very basic and in desperate need of a refresh. Everything from the corridors, to the room doors to the decor looks like something out of the shining. This is NOT the cheapest hotel in London so anyone who suggests that you get what you pay for is not really being honest to themselves. If however you don't care about the decor and it's "just a place to put your head for the night" then let me just say that on both stays I slept little more than a couple of hours due to the noise of traffic, people and sirens from the main road. I have stayed on the 5th and 3rd floors but I might aswell have been on the pavement!! Terrible nights sleep!!

The only 2 good things about this hotel is the location and the breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid a room looking out onto Russell Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shropshire_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    825
    647
    185
    120
See reviews for
407
579
218
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Imperial does what it says on the box. If you are looking for a value hotel with clean rooms and good service, this is a good one. Spent 3 nights here celebrating my wedding. Prior to arrival I asked about flowers and was told they couldn't guarantee colours. However I asked for some colours, if possible, and the arrangement contained them and an excellent arrangement.

Breakfast is simple but is adequate. If you want a bigger selection, try another hotel that charges £15 per person for it!

Can't really fault it. I think a bargain. My only critisism is that they need to purchase some super king sheets for the bed as I woke everyday enveloped in the sheets!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've just returned from a business trip and stayed at the imperial for one night. To be honest I was dreading it as the last time I stayed here I was in a room that resembled a cell! I was delighted this time around when I discovered my room was a twin room, not a single and it was fairly spacious; I would say three times the size of the room I had before plus it had a great view over Russell square. It's not modern really in any respect, apart from the flat screen tv, but the room was clean and comfortable. To be honest the rooms would need massively overhauled; they are simply dated with faded pictures on the walls, unsightly wallpaper and naff bedding. The pillows were also the thinnest I've ever slept on! But to be honest, London is the sort of place where you just need a base and it did exactly what it said on the tin. It is in a great position with a short walk to Russell square tube station and this sees it through.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stuartyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We are just back from the Imperial Hotel after a 3 night stay. we had an excecutive room on the 5th floor and it was excellent. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was large and very well finished with a very powerful shower. The room itself was large with a sitting area, LCD tv and a good supply of tea and coffee. Breakfast was alright with a selection of cereals, toast and a cooked breakfast if you wanted one. The drinks in the bars at night were a good price for central London.
After reading some of the reviews before we went, we were a wee bit worried about what we had booked, but we found the hotel to be very good and can't really think of any bad points.

Room Tip: Book an executive room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calimerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friend and I booked a three night stay in London through Thomas Cook. We had stayed at the Bedford Hotel, which is owned by the same people as the Imperial Hotel but this time there was no room for us and so we were sent to the Imperial over the road. The staff were very helpful. Our room had just been refurbished and was large and comfortable. The corridors were a bit dingy though.

The breakfast was very good. The hotel is in a good location and has a lot going for it. Our deal through Thomas Cook was good value. We had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night at either end of a European tour.The room was clean and the beds comfortable enough for 1 night. Linen clean. The only criticism would be the heating turned up full wellie but opening the windows and turning off the radiator soon sorted that. The bar meal in the evening was good and breakfast outstanding. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try and get as high as possible in the building otherwise the traffic noise could be tiresome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I took executive room so I had a very big batheroom. The beds are not comfterbull but was ok. Very good service, and nice bar. It gives good value for the money. And the tube is about 1minute of walking

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meitalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,067 in London
3,417 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#344 of 1,067 in London
2,063 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#86 of 1,067 in London
349 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#418 of 1,067 in London
1,021 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,067 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelsClick so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London, England
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing