We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,202)
Filter reviews
2,202 results
Traveler rating
242
908
707
208
137
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
908
707
208
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell squarebritish museumatrium barnight barpiccadilly linetrouser presstube stationenglish breakfastbeanslarge hotelcovent gardentea and coffeekings crossbit datedbuffet stylewest endshort break
Filter
Updating list...
1,158 - 1,163 of 2,202 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Very average hotel but good location and price was right. Breakfast was nothing special but included. Staff weren't overly friendly but did their job. On a world scale, definitely below average, but for London a decent, budget choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Ninety quid for central London is not a bad deal at all. But... they have to make those savings somehow!!

The Good (well, reasonable anyway)......

Good location.
Plenty of restaurants, pubs, cafes and mini-grocers within easy walking distance.
The foyer is quite nice... large with plenty of wood panels etc.
Staff were helpful, on the whole.
Has bars and restaurants within the complex.

The not so good....

The rooms are tiny.
The walls could be made of paper; there is no soundproofing.
Soap / shampoo cheap'n'nasty.... bring your own.
Towels easily soaked because they're so thin.
Want laundry doing? Take it yourself to floor 3.... no such things as laundry bags here!!

If you intend to spend a long time in your room, I'd look elsewhere. If, like most people, you're out and about sightseeing then this is a cost effective way to be close to the action in London. Just don't try and impress your girlfriend by taking her there... because you won't!

One other thing: try not to be shocked when you get your room key.... attached to a one foot long metal bar!!!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard will be quieter than one on the busy road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geedee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel for three nights 10th - 13th Sept 2012.
Whilst the rooms are dated the location Is superb, with easy access to the tube on the Piccadilly line, which services the West End, so great location if you are intending to see any shows.
We had complimentary wifi which was unexpected but a pain having to log in every time you wanted to use it, and it kept dropping out.
Breakfast was included and it was excellent, perhaps one of the best I've had during any trip.
Our room overlooked the court yard on the 5th floor and whilst you could hear some street noise it was pretty good overall.
It's not a flash hotel, but it's clean, the beds are good, and there are tea and coffee facilities in the room. We actually went and bought our own tea from tesco's, just around the corner and some long life milk ( the rooms do not have fridge facilities) and we were more then happy.
So if you are looking for a location in the centre of London at a reasonable price then I would recommend the Imperial Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

we stayed here for 1 night, thank goodness the showers reeked of urine, it was really dirty, i slept with a shirt over the pillow, i wore my slippers in the shower and the curtain was vile.

I had trouble sleeping it was an awful experience! i'm so glad i was there for just one night!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Imperial is very well located for anyone visiting London for a short break with sight seeing and tourism in mind. The tube is just around the corner (Picadilly Line) which makes it really easy to hop to all the interesting locations and the awesome British Museum is just a stone's throw away from the hotel. The actual area of Russel Square is a bit bland though, no really interesting shops, restaurants, cafés or bars that stood out. The Hotel is a 'get what you pay for' hotel. Plus side: nice staff, clean rooms, tea and coffee in the rooms, TV i.e. all the basics are there. Not-so-good side: I was travelling with my young son and I was gobsmacked to discover that my seventh floor window had no security lock which meant it could open wide enough for him to fall out, a serious risk that should be addressed. Also, no sound proofing; pretty small rooms; hotel lobby/corridors/bar etc. all a bit dated and musty in need of a make over. Breakfast was fine but finishes a bit early (10am). I'd go back again though for a short stay for the price and the location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conneally1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews