We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #561 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Not the poshest hotel in town, but it will take some beating in the value for money market.
Staff were friendly, the room was clean, the towels a little on the small side, and only two for a double room, but the bed was fine, and the breakfast excellent. There are plenty of lifts, all working, and never once did we have to wait longer than a few seconds.
We had room service on our first evening because we were tight on time for a theatre, and this was delivered to our room, freshly cooked in less than fifteen minutes, and at a very reasonable cost. It is well positioned for the West End, which is a modest walk away, as are many of the other London attractions.
We normally stay at an hotel nearby, owned by a large chain, but they have priced themselves out of our market wanting just short of three times the cost of the Imperial for a two night stay, and that didn't include breakfast!
We will certainly use the Imperial again in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    806
    629
    179
    119
See reviews for
394
566
212
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed at the Imperial for 5 nights in November, after struggling to find anywhere decent within my budget. All the other hotels I had previously used had rocketed so stayed here on recommendation from a friend.

My main concern was having wifi and this was free (although not in all rooms so I made sure I requested on booking) It was given though not good for streaming.

The room was fairly large for a single and had windows that actually opened wide enough to let air in - it was fairly mild for the time of year with no heating on.

The key was a bit of a faff as it came on a huge metal pole, so you could not take it anywhere with you, but the porters were fairly efficient.

Breakfast was good - a few mushrooms and better sausages would have made it very good, but the poached eggs were fantastic. I ddon't know how they keep the yolks runny - they didn't seem to do with the fried eggs!

The location was great - next to Russell Sq tube practically, and a nice walk down to Holborn if you wanted to bypass one stop.

My only few complaints were some of the staff needed to smile a bit more, though one male room cleaner was especially helpful and pleasant, as was the breakfast hall manager. The woman on reception when I arrived was a bit sour faced, but I was dripping all over the desk!
Also the decor in the corridors near the rooms looked faded, but the rooms themselves were very clean.

But I paid £73 per night and you cannot get anything like this level of hotel in London that cheap - it is usually £84 but even that is not bad. I stayed at the Strand Palace this time last year and paid £200 more for 1 less night, and there was not a lot of difference in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrabbletripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

This hotel is alright for a few days but the furnishing in our triple room was a little faded. The reception staff were determined not to allow us to check in until 2pm after our flight from Singapore, although they seemed happy enough to check plent of other people in. The porters were much more helpful thoughout our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked here as part of a Theatre Break and found it very central and so easy to get to from the Train Station . It is only a mere minute from the Tube and 15 from Theatreland so it was ideal . Room was spacious , clean , bed was comfortable , it even had a bath ! Just outside to the front of the Hotel was Russel Sq with a lovely enclosed park . A good few people jogging , walking and taking pics of the squirrels . Lovely oasis in the centre of the City . Staff where polite and knew their stuff , breakfast was ideal . Well maybe excluding the porridge that is !

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room not facing onto the Courtyard as this has a Water Fountain . It didnt keep u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OORBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

this hotel is clean & cheap, we booked via the internet & wasnt disappointed.
good location for the train station & site seeing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmanus15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Me and a couple of friends decided for the Imperial Hotel after reading fairly good reviews about it and as we were only staying a couple of nights in London and just needed a clean central place to stay on a low budget we went right ahead and booked it, but as soon as we got there we realized we made a huge mistake! Starting with the keys (one little key on a long metal stick...welcome to the 1800th!!!), of which they gave us just one for 3 people, to the yellow slips of papers we had to present every time we wanted our key back or had breakfast, to the three little towels in the bathroom (no shower mat??? lucky no one ever slipped getting out of the bath and broke their head!), to the fact that there was absolutely no ventilation or fan anywhere in the room (every time one of us had a shower the room filled with steam)? And the dirty carpeted floor, the broken down third bed they opened for our triple (which was quite roomy, I'll give them that, but only because we were there on business and asked them for an upgrade...I can't bear to think what a standard room would look like!), the telephone that only worked if you swiped your credit card at reception (but no one bothered to tell us that at check in!) and the radiator so incredibly hot we had to sleep with our windows open (in mid November!)....and the staff...so rude, so absolutely useless...no one seemed to know (or care about) anything we asked them or tried to help us with the various problems we encountered...on our last day we left our luggage there so we could have a walk around London before our flights...they charged us £ 0,50 per suitcase (being a travel agent I travel a LOT and nowhere else I had to pay for this service!) and when we went there to collect them it took the receptionists 15 minutes to find our stuff, making us late for our plane (they were also very rude about it when we asked them to please hurry up)! As i wrote in the title, the only good thing about this "hotel" is the location, they're right around the corner from Russel Square tube station and only a few minutes walk from Holborn's (15-20 minutes walk from Oxford St/Covent Garden too), and obviously the free wi-fi...my suggestion though? DO NOT COME HERE!!! Certainly no client of mine would ever set foot in this dump!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saraquails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

São Paulo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Imperial Hotel from Oct. 18th to the 23rd.
We had a very pleasant stay. Our room was very spacious. We had a double sink bathroom, a living room and a double bed.
English breakfast was ok.
A major point they should worry a bit more is cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WannaTravelTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#583 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#337 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#411 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#678 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: 61-66 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is the flagship of Imperial London Hotels. We're proud of it for a reason. Offering breathtaking views over London's greatest public square, it reflects every ounce of our dedication to service and value. Like all our hotels, the Imperial combines a remarkable location with the great facilities and friendly service of a family-run business. At the Imperial, though, while the price remains extremely reasonable, we add an extra dash of something special. The location is remarkable, connecting guests to the rest of London in minutes. In addition to the central Atrium Bar & Cafe, facilities include a casino and a gift shop. Restaurants and cafes offer plenty of choice to families and business travellers alike. Indulge in the intriguing delights of Coffee and Candy. Enjoy a late night at the Night and Day Bar, serving classic pub fare at great prices. And relax; we've been doing this since 1837, and we know how to make your stay a restful one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Orbitz so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel London, England
Hotel Imperial London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing