We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing change and excellent staff!”
Review of Hendon Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hendon Hall Hotel
Ranked #481 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was down in London for 3 days last week and stayed 2 nights. What a fantastic refreshing change from the Premier Inns and Holiday Inns that I normally get booked into! A fantastic building with an interesting history, and wonderful staff who will look after your every need. Friendly and welcoming. The food in the bar was lovely (rib eye steak and bacon omelette) and they pull a cracking pint of Guinness!

It's a bit of a walk to Hendon Central tube station (about 25 minutes at a reasonable pace) - OK if the weather's nice - but then just a 20 minute ride down the Northern Line to central locations.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianairwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review, I was very pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming. I am glad you enjoyed the food in the bar and a pint of Guinness, a lovely way to spend the evening. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 659 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

After visiting in the Summer last year my husband and I said that we would come back and do the things in London that we didnt get time to do, but we would bring our Daughter and see the Lion King. We looked around for Hotels in Central London, which we could have more than certainly got much cheaper but were unable to park. We chose the Hendon again. On arrival we were shown straight to our room even though check in should have been after 2pm and not at 11am when we arrived. The room only had the double bed in....within 5 minutes of being there housekeeping came to set the 3rd bed up for our daughter. Gorgeous rooms, massive beds, pristine bed linen. We stayed two days and breakfast on both occasions was fantastic. We had a very tiring, very expensive stay in London, the Lion King was fabulous, but the hotel was just perfect. Oh, and the digital facade has now gone revealing a truly beautiful frontage. Thanks HH..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thrups99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review and am pleased that you are a regular guest here at the hotel. The location of the hotel is extremely good and I am glad you found getting in and out of central London easy, although tiring and expensive. The Lion King continues to be one of the best shows in the city and from personal experience a great spectacle. Breakfast is certainly a great meal and I am delighted that you enjoyed yours, a great way to start the day.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been a great admirer of the Hand Picked change of Hotels and have stayed at a few of them. We decided to book into the Hendon Hall Hotel on the outskirts of London. The hotel was as expected with the quality of the Hand Picked stamp and the professionalism of the staff throughout our stay. The rooms were spacious and very clean and clearly looked after. We had a drink in the bar and were served by some very attentive staff. Breakfast was excellent and certainly plenty to eat. The only downside for us was that it did not have the same mansion grounds, and walks, that most hand picked hotels have, but that is understandable due to the location. This did not spoil what was a lovely nights stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruskinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I was so pleased to read your comments about the professionalism of the staff, I have passed this on to the team. Breakfast is certainly a great meal and I am delighted that you enjoyed yours, a great way to start the day.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

In terms of location this is a easy to find hotel just off the A1 as you come in from the North. It's close to Hendon Central tube so easy to get into Central London from here. The hotel itself is of a decent enough standard and prices are OK for what you get. The rooms are clean and relatively spacious, although the bathroom was a bit small. Lots of free parking and quiet at night so a decent night's sleep can be had, although some of the internal floors in the bedrooms can be a bit creaky. The food is very good and the cooked breakfast very tasty and plentiful. I would definitely stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrickVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at the hotel. The location of the hotel is great and I agree that the large free car park really does help. I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast a great way to start the day.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A hotel with a great history. Staff were very friendly and helpful... renovations to exterior were in process during my visit but did not detract much from my stay. Great value...excellent breakfast.

Rooms were well appointed with own fridge

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your recent review, I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at the hotel. The building work at the front of the hotel has now finished and the Portico has been restored to its former glory.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed a comfortable room (slightly spoiled by peeling paint in the bathroom) in a venue that needs work.....drab dining room and the bar is a equally dull....

Dinner/lunch is disappointing.....but breakfasts are excellent.

The staff are truly outstanding and all are friendly and very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for review, I was sorry to read that you found some of the areas drab, we have an ongoing maintenance programme for all the public areas and bedrooms. The bathroom ceiling has been decorated.
It was pleasing to read your positive comments about the attitude of all the staff and the quality of breakfast.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Currently undergoing work on its exterior, this did not affect our weekend stay. Room was very comfortable, but a little stuffy in air quality, and no noise from A1 nearby. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast was good, with feature slab of Dorset honey straight from the hive. Sunday breakfast they were busy, resulting in 40 mins wait for cooked breakfast but this did not affect our enjoyment. Location is ideal for north side of London and access to M1.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mongoose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review, it is pleasing to read such positive comments, I have passed them on to the team. It is so important that breakfast is of good quality and the honey certainly is. The scaffolding at the front of the building is coming down this week, and the front will certainly look much improved. I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Matthew Moffatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Hide London
#61 of 1,081 in London
976 reviews
Hotel 55
#467 of 1,081 in London
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenlyn Hotel
#489 of 1,081 in London
548 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#294 of 1,081 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendon Hall Hotel

Address: Ashley Lane | Hendon, London NW4 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in London
#185 Business Hotel in London
#229 Romantic Hotel in London
#310 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $109 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendon Hall Hotel in North London is ideal for a relaxing stay in a beautiful mansion with terraced gardens, yet with easy access to the West End and central London. With a large free car park, the hotel is easily accessible from the A1 and M1. Hendon Hall offers 57 bedrooms - a mixture of classic, executive and junior suites all of which were refurbished in 2010 to a high standard.The property offers the self-contained Pembroke Suite, a function space with its own entrance, reception area and bar that can cater for up to 200 guests. The Pembroke is ideal for weddings, celebrations or business meetings and events. Hendon Hall is home to the 2 Rosette fine dining Garrick Restaurant and serves afternoon teas in its lounges or outside gardens as a speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hendon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hendon Hall London
Hendon Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing