We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hendon Hall Hotel
Ranked #474 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Although impposing ,we found the bedroom carpet so dirty we would not take our shoes off for fear of dirtying our feet,the TV did not work properly due to a fault with the supply to the hotel, and there was dust inbetween the secondary sealed glazing [must have entered via the outer sash window ].
The 3 course meal was very tasty but too" nouvelle cuisine" to be more than a palate pleaser.The breakfast was excellent with a choice of tradition English and superb buffet with a wide range of choice.
The staff were both polite and pleasant.
The decor seemed a mixture of original style ,whilst the dinning room had a1950s feel with its light wood panelling and its scroll pattern carpet .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review that I have read and discussed with my management team this morning.

Please accept my apologies for the poor cleanliness of the carpet, this I can assure you is not the standard that we have set here at the hotel. I have personally spoken with the Head Housekeeper this morning.

I am pleased that you found the food tasty, but felt it was to nouvelle cuisine, we try to offer traditional British cuisine with a slight twist. The Head Chef prides himself on the presentation, ingredients and the quality of the food he prepares.

It is always pleasing to read positive comments about breakfast, an important meal and great start to your day.

Thank you for your review and I hope that I can welcome you back to the hotel shortly.

Regards



Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 648 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in North London with easy access to the North Circular and M1. Plentiful parking at the back. Staff have always been welcoming, polite and efficient. Rooms and beds are of a decent size and are extremely comfortable. Good breakfast.

The one downside is the scaffolding outside which is covered by a mural of the Hall. This is a pity, though I suppose if work needs doing then it needs doing, and I guess it will only be temporary - though it has been up now for many months.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barryjohnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your recent review and I was delighted to read your positive comments about the welcoming and polite staff and that you found the rooms to be of a good size and comfortable.

Unfortunately the scaffolding at the front of the building will be with us for another couple of months, due to the age and historical value of the portico it is not a fast job. The digital picture does help to hide some of the scaffolding and I do hope that it is not to off putting.

Thank you for your comments and I do hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Regards Matthew Moffatt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for one night late Sept, our son is in Uni close by and have stayed 4-5 times in the past. We booked an executive room. We were given a room at the front of the hotel(301) it was behind a facade that covered that side of the hotel during renovation work! Which meant no daylight at all!! We went back to reception and refused the room. We were told we should have been told about the work, we were not! Any way no more executive rooms were available so we down graded to a classic room which was very nice and was well away from the work. The reception staff could not have been more helpful during this, one even loaned us her iphone charger for the night!
The restaurant menu seemed to have changed since last visit with the meal deals 2 or 3 course for etc... disappearing which seemed to have made punters disappear! We just had a bar meal which was very nice and not to bad value.
Breakfast was still up to their normal excellent standard, our only comment was the first tea and coffee was not that hot. The fresh honey was to die for!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: At the moment stay away from front executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review and it is always great to welcome regular guest back to the hotel and to understand how we are performing.

I was sorry to read that we did not explain about the covering over the windows, this has been in place for sometime now and should be the norm for the front desk team, I am pleased we were able to offer an alternative and that we helped with your iPod.

We always try to change the dinner offering and I agree it has not been as successful as other offers we have done, I can assure you that has been reviewed. I was pleased to read your comment about the honey it is a great success, everybody appears to like it.

Thank you and I hope that we can welcome you back very soon.

Regards Matthew Moffatt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This in its time has been a good hotel with an excellent restaurant, housekeeper and head-waiter. One could wish it were still true. On the positive side, the food that I and my two guests had a dinner was truly excellent and a lot had clearly been spent on the décor of the bedroom, though the quantity of wood was rather overwhelming. . The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom good.

So what is not to like? Very poor service in the bar (which is a large but very down-market looking area) and the restaurant. It took far too long to place our orders – and exceptionally long to get served: I have e-mailed the food and beverage manager with details of our experience, but have had no response. The problem was not because the place was busy: there were only two other tables occupied when we went into the restaurant – and we were the only diners at the end. Reception staff were helpful, but usually had a queue.

The main building was once David Garrick’s house. If he saw the furnishing of the room with the Tiepolo ceiling today he would be shocked: upholstered but utilitarian metal framed chairs, such as might be found in a conference room, round a table of no apparent merit. It was once a delightful room for private parties - but no longer seems very appealing. Equally, the large bar area does not look as though it belong in an upmarket hotel.

North West London has few hotels of any quality: what a pity that this one is let down by the bar/restaurant service and the décor of some of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your review and I was very sorry that you have not been contacted by the Food & Beverage Manager here at the hotel, please contact me directly and I will be delighted to discuss further with you the issues you encountered.

I look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Regards


Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived at Hendon Hall after enduring a 2 hour drive from Heathrow only to find its facade under construction. Instead of the Hall - a picture of the Hall greeted us -- hung over the scaffolding. We didn't think things could get worse until we were taken to our room 202- nice enough except for hard white plastic panels over all three windows. Very creepy & repulsive. When we asked to be moved, management told us the hotel was fully booked and there were no rooms left other than those under the plastic pictorial faux front. Incredible- we booked the room months ago & no warning then that the building was under reconstruction. Horrible way to begin our London trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birgit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your recent review and I was sorry to read of your disappointment when you arrived at the hotel and our entrance was changed with a digital picture of the original entrance. Unfortunately we are having to carry out major repair work on the top of the Portico and to ensure complete safety scaffolding was erected, the picture was installed to hide the rather unsightly scaffolding.

The room that you were allocated is on the front of the building and with the scaffolding outside I felt it prudent to cover the glass to ensure full privacy and also that the scaffolding was not part of your view, I am extremely sorry that we did not explain this fully on arrival.

I do hope this did not ruin the rest of your trip and I hope that we can welcome you back to Hendon Hall Hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew Moffatt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August for 11 nights., because family members had a flat near by. Our Executive room was well situated in te back overlooking the garden. It was a nice size and had ample space to unpack and store our clothes. The bathroom was small, but there was a nice tub and shower. Very clean. The breakfasts were excellent. Get a plan where they are included in the price of the room. Other meals (including bar menu) were good, but expensive. You can eat in the garden. Service in the restaurant needs improvement, but the servers were very nice. It takes about 30 minutes on the Underground to get to the center of tourist London. The hotel provides a car and driver to take you to the Hendon Central tube station. You can also get a minicab for £4-£5 each way. There are some good ethnic restaurants in the neighborhood. The RAF museum is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel, but well worth a visit. Compared to hotels located in the center of London this is an excellent bargain and is extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel overlooking the garden. No pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jfjesquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your review that I have read, I was pleased to read that you found the hotel comfortable and the food good quality, the staff are all friendly, we are carrying out ongoing staff training, so hopefully on your next visit you will see an improvement. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Regards Matthew Moffatt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for the August Bank Holiday weekend. Check-in was efficient and the reception staff are welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well equipped. The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning works well. There is far too little sugar and milk in the tea/coffee facilities, unless of course you don't take sugar or milk in your drink. The first night we received a turn-down service, but this didn't happen on the second night, we aren't sure why so the service can be a little inconsistent. The breakfast was nice, the full english platter offers black pudding but don't expect to receive it as it didn't arrive on our plates on either of the two days we stayed there. The menus in the restaurant are a bit grubby with peoples breakfast stains on them. Overall though, the breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice. Would I stay there again, yes, overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StigsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMoffatt, General Manager at Hendon Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for your review with regards to your recent stay here at the hotel. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay but a number of small inconstancies let us down. The turn down service is every day, so this should happen, with regards to the amount we place in the tea and coffee making facilities we do try to ensure there is sufficient and will of course add extra if it is required. The breakfast is such an important meal and I am sorry that there was no black pudding during your stay. Thank you for your comments it is always so important to receive them and I can assure you that we do act upon them. Regards Matthew Moffatt General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hotel 55
#434 of 1,078 in London
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hide London
#55 of 1,078 in London
970 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Hotel Xanadu
#281 of 1,078 in London
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hendon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendon Hall Hotel

Address: Ashley Lane | Hendon, London NW4 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Business Hotel in London
#230 Romantic Hotel in London
#276 Family Hotel in London
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $91 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hendon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hendon Hall Hotel in North London is ideal for a relaxing stay in a beautiful mansion with terraced gardens, yet with easy access to the West End and central London. With a large free car park, the hotel is easily accessible from the A1 and M1. Hendon Hall offers 57 bedrooms - a mixture of classic, executive and junior suites all of which were refurbished in 2010 to a high standard.The property offers the self-contained Pembroke Suite, a function space with its own entrance, reception area and bar that can cater for up to 200 guests. The Pembroke is ideal for weddings, celebrations or business meetings and events. Hendon Hall is home to the 2 Rosette fine dining Garrick Restaurant and serves afternoon teas in its lounges or outside gardens as a speciality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hendon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hendon Hall London
Hendon Hall Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing