We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downton Abbey in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #160 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Downton Abbey in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I love this boutique hotel in Soho, it's not going to suit everyone it's in the very heart of soho and can be very noisy at night (why are you staying in Soho?) but the rooms are full of so much charm and character and i love the antique furniture but then again if your use to the normal Hilton looking hotel room its not for you. I have always found the service good and the staff friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bristolboy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    184
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
31
369
50
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Most comments, both positive and negative, have already been made. We chose Hazlitt's for Christmas in London specifically for the historic nature of the building and the character of the rooms.
After four days the novelty of the "quirks" and "character " was wearing off though.

Lack of storage, hooks of any sort for clothes, towels or bathrobes meant that every inch of surface was utilised for storage. Fine for one night but for a gay couple with suitcases and 4 days and nights worth of clothes (we don't travel light) it became a challenge.

The free standing Victorian bath looks very quaint but try taking a bath without flooding the floor (no matter how careful you are and how low you run the bath water). No shower meant that baths needed to be run each morning also-tedious after 4 days.

All minor points that could perhaps be taken as nit-picking but hey, it's details like this that help people on trip advisor to make the right choices.

As previously mentioned, the staff are great (and very pleasing to the eye in some cases) and the champagne and choccies on Christmas day were a very nice touch. They went out of their way to allocate a room that suited our request for a "dark and moody" Christmas atmosphere.

We requested a room on Frith Street for the atmosphere and as most places were closed over Christmas it was extremely quiet (spookily so for Soho). But I can appreciate peoples comments on noise. However, if you are sensitive to street noise then seriously, Soho is not the right choice for you in the first place).

Would we stay again? Yes, for a shorter stay and with a room that has a separate shower (if there is such a thing). So if you do book Hazlitt's, enjoy it for what it is, be prepared for all the quirks and eccentricities and you'll enjoy being in a fabulous part of London albeit in surroundings that feel like a country house hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a shower and bear in mind the lack of a lift so request a lower room if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

No service, rude, unhelpful and lacking any assistance. Overpriced and so loud we were woken between 1am and 3 am every day. Do not stay there under any circumstances. Noise from the street, particularly the 3 nearby pubs,was horrendous. Then at around 3 am every day, the bins full of bottles were emptied.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

we stayed at Hazlitt's for one night for our trip to London,what a lovily Boutique hotel! our room was beautifully decorated and furnished,it made our stay in london all the more enjoyable! the staff was very pleasant and helpful and we would most certainly stay again...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygoer186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here for a week at the beginning of December. This hotel's location is perfect as it's smack in the middle of Soho. It is walking distance to a million theatres, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. The staff are friendly and helpful. My room was on the top floor, and there's no lift, but the staff helped carry up all my bags. Since it's such an old building, the stairs are a little lopsided and can be a bit treacherous. I loved the old fashioned feel of the room, and it felt very cozy - especially in December. There's a lounge on the ground floor which I only briefly visited, but it also felt very warm. If you're looking for a slightly old fashioned experience with great service and don't mind small quirks, this is a great place to spend a week.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbylok89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is definitely my first hand choice when returning to London. Perfect location with walking distance to so many of the sights, yet so quiet we could sleep with our windows open. Excellent personal service, warm and caring British historical yet relaxed atmosphere. We simply couldn't ask for anything more. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We got a room towards the courtyard so quiet we could sleep with the windows open though located in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This boutique hotel provided a wonderful stay for a weekend. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Admittedly it can be a little noisy outside on a Saturday evening but the atmosphere inside the hotel is relaxing and the rooms cosy and comfortable. If you have been to the Rookery, this is a similar experience. Well worth a try.

Room Tip: All are different and individual. Check pictures on website or ring to ask for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#346 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Property: Hazlitt's
Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing