We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Distinctive Hotel”
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #135 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Distinctive Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend and it was a positive and enjoyable. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The location is amazing being close to Oxford Street (and the other famous shopping streets), theatres, tube stations and numerous places to eat. The rooms are characterful. Ours came with a four poster bed and a lovely deep bathtub. The fittings and features feel historical but not old or worn. The theme continues through the hotel, into places like the library. My partner was taken with some of the classical books that were on offer to read.

Only three things detracted from the experience. Breakfast not included or a restaurant of any kind was a shame (but we did know this going it so not surprised). The second was that tea & coffee facilities were not provided in room. Again we knew this but didn't know you got charged when asking for tea from reception, under the wrong impression it was included. The last point was the very limited storage available in the room. With a longer stay we would never have managed to unpack all our cloths. As it was we still had to keep a number of things in our suitcase.

Overall only very minor problems for a great hotel. Still would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    191
    46
    18
    9
See reviews for
33
381
52
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The room was tiny the door hit the wardrobe every time we came in, there was no shower and the toilet didn't flush, no tea or coffee in the room it was so hot in November had to open the window all night so noisy . All this for £280 with the option of breakfast ( croissant) in bed for a further £22 . We went to Bill's instead. In short a bargain if you are a rich person under 5 ft tall with no appetite and a need to boil over in a narrow bed, bargain

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband on a romantic overnight getaway to London to see a show. The location is fantastic. About 15 mins from selfridges (don't bother getting a taxi, traffic makes it a ridiculously long & expensive journey!!!). We were also 5 mins away from the theatre. All the reviews pretty much all say the same - great unique hotel in the heart of London. Lovely service, breakfast is served in bed (a really lovely idea but not great for kids!!). Our room was at the front and the wine bar patrons opposite kept us awake until very early hours and then the dustbin men woke us at 6am!!! The staircase, as everyone has mentioned is on a slope and not easy to use (not sure how building regs ever approved it!!). That all being said, we would definitely come back but not with children and would request a room at the back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
godalming
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A unique personalised hotel or should I say a London house and home from home.
It looks like a house it feels like a
house but has the atmosphere of someones home.
High quality venue high quality rooms high quality service.
No restaurant but there are many wthin walking distance.
Great location and a wobderful experience....unique!!
Why stay anywhere else?
Well book early as you may not get a room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Staff are friendly and helpful, they provided me with a full length mirror as there wasn't one in the room. A bit of a must for the bridal party really. Also the room was a little dark. Only real downside, the room we had was at the front of the hotel and I could not sleep at all the night before the wedding as the revellers outside were unbearably noisy, then the street cleaners kick in. Not great considering how much we paid and I got 2 hours sleep. Having said that, we did think it was a lovely hotel, steeped in history.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room at the front. You won't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Not even friends who have lived in London for ever had heard of Hazlitts. But everything about this hotel is subtle and understated. But comes with lashings of style and elegance. Great location Soho is buzzing with atmosphere and attitude. For shoppers its a dream spitting distance to Oxford Street. There is no restaurant but who needs one when there are so many restaurants close by. Plus it means breakfast gets delivered to your room which makes for a relaxing treat

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and the experience was fantastic.

Room: Very clean and tastefully arranged
Staff service: Very friendly and helpful
Location: Bars, restaurants and nightlife on your doorstep

Overall: If you want a more 'secret' hotel experience that offers cosy and old fashioned surroundings with an historic twist, Hazlitts is for you. Would I stay again? Um...YES!

Well done Hazlitts!

Room Tip: No tips really, your in for a good time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,199 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#353 of 1,068 in London
1,645 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,068 in London
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,068 in London
854 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Property: Hazlitt's
Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing