We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #140 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night as it was very close the venue of a conference I was attending.
The booking was based on Tripadvisor reviews and did not disappoint however there are a number of points that are worth noting before booking.
The hotel is very quirky and full of character but this would make it difficult for anyone who had any sort of walking difficulty as there are no lifts and the stairs are uneven.
No kettle in the room and no iron which always annoys me!
There was not an overhead shower in the room I has (Joel Johnston) not a major problem but worth noting.
The staff were great, friendly and efficient and I would not hesitate to return, the hotels location in the heart of the nicer part of Soho and its quirky charm made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southstandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    192
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
35
387
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windsor
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My Husband and I wanted to book a romantic weekend away and chose this hotel for a change. Firstly, we were greeted by the lovely Greg on reception who couldn't of made us feel any more welcome. That in itself is a huge bonus for me. Nothing worse than turning up for a special weekend away to be met by a frosty welcome.
Our room was James Bateman room. Cosy, quirky, warm but not perfect. In fact the whole hotel isn't perfect and that exactly what we liked about it. Its unpretentious, welcoming and in a brilliant location. There's an honesty bar in the library and I think that's such a lovely touch. We didn't use it but it made us feel like house guests in a lovely family home rather than just another customer.
There are a few little things that could be done to improve it but to talk about them here would just be me being over picky and actually it wouldn't of made our weekend happier really.
The staff were lovely and room service is very quick. Oh and its worth ordering a hot drink just so that you can try the delicious Florentines that come with it!
Thank you all for helping us to have a lovely weekend away.
For the price that we paid

Room Tip: The James Bateman room is beautiful but do take earplugs. I needed them on one night but the next n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squeezeWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

For our first visit to London we wanted to stay in a hotel with character. We found Hazlitt's listed in one of the Top 10 Guides. It delivered! Each room is unique and with its own character and its in the heart of Soho. It was a block away from the Tottenham Station and around the corner from the theater district. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always willing to give suggestions on where to dine.

Given the historic nature of the place, built in 1718, part of the charm is its crooked steps and sloping floors. The hotel is actually three homes combined together. Felt for the valets hauling our 50 pound suitcases up the stairs. Most of the rooms do not have showers, which provoked a little anxiety for my mother getting in and out of a tub. If this is important to you, you should ask about it when booking.

Nicely appointed common rooms with good internet signal in-room.

Remember that you are in Soho and it will get loud at night, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. If you want a quieter room, ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Frith St. are quieter. If you need a shower in your room, rather than a tub, be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoletteMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My daughter first introduced me to Hazlitt's and I am so happy that she did. I have stayed there several times now and each time I have been thoroughly impressed. The hotel is located in the middle of Soho and comprises a number of Georgian townhouses linked together. The rooms are all decorated in the same Georgian style, four-poster beds etc, but with modern conveniences.
The small library on the ground floor is perfect for entertaining and has a reasonably priced honesty bar available.
There is no restaurant in the hotel but the place is surrounded by every type of eatery you could wish to find. They do serve breakfast in bed though, which is great!
Ronnie Scott's jazz club is a short walk down the street as are all the usual Soho attractions!
A great place for the lone traveller like me or for couples, but not really a kid's idea of cool!
I absolutely love it! Not cheap though!

Room Tip: check on the website, there are photos of all the rooms, so choose what you like - 4-poster or half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiPaul352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of Anthony Bourdain. He always stays here while in London. This hotel had the perfect location for us in theatre district. The rooms were very quaint. The library had great books to choose from. This is a small hotel but very cool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayrtuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is a little gem. Full of literary and architectural history with quality decor and service to go with it. The location, in the heart of Soho, was perfect and although the rates were higher than we normally pay, we walked everywhere saving money on tube/taxi rides and more importantly, saving valuable time. The staff were helpful without being intrusive and the local restaurants were a welcome find in London - variety, quality and affordability. The hotel does not have its own restaurant but offers breakfast which is delivered to your room on a tray and they were the most magnificent breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel. Being a boutique hotel in an old but renovated townhouse, it felt homely and comfortable and a welcome change from the chain hotel experience. Having stayed here once, I would never stay anywhere else again when visiting London.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms but they would all be beautiful and views are not something to worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, provided us with an upgrade, friendly beyond belief, great soap, carried our bags up the stairs and felt like a guest not a number! The wifi worked great - their honesty bar allows you to have a drink and pay on your own. The Prussian Room was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevisoMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,069 in London
2,217 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#361 of 1,069 in London
1,662 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#19 of 1,069 in London
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,069 in London
872 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Property: Hazlitt's
Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing