We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Period Drama”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #160 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Long Crendon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Period Drama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Right on Frith St and with all one could wish for in your "front garden". Like staying at somebody's very rich and rather eccentric Auntie's house, this was a fabulous experience. This place keeps it real, no faux tables or replica chairs, it is what it is. Hazlitt's has a real history and you can feel it on every uneven floorboard. If you want a very different hideaway in the middle of Soho and want to transport yourself back to another era then this is it.

Good service and a nice breakfast in bed too.

Room Tip: Try a room that does not face Frith St as it can be rather noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    184
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
31
369
50
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012, and once again, TripAdvisor didn't fail me.

Hazlitt's courtesy shone through even before we stayed there -- we were in London en route to Paris and didn't want to carry all our bags with us. So we stopped by, explained how we were booked to stay there the following week, and asked if we could leave some of our luggage while we were in Paris. So happy when they said yes without hesitation -- it made a real difference to our Paris holiday having a chance to offload some of the stuff we had.

Perfectly located in the heart of SOHO, this little boutique hotel had all the charm of old-world London. Converted from a row of old townhouses, each room is different, and the layout so effective we hardly bumped into fellow guests.

We were given a little suite on the ground floor; space was a little tight in the room itself, but the bathroom was huge, with more than enough space to hold our suitcases:)

A four-poster bed, a fireplace, a giant wardrobe to hold all our belongings & shopping and a claw footed bath in the well appointed bathroom all lent character to our 4 day stay and made the most of the space.

Staff were wonderful -- discreet, but helpful, and they had lots of helpful tips on where we could take our little 4 year old. Housekeeping was quick, neat and thoughtful -- we had extra towels without having to ask for them, and extra bathroom essentials as well.

Hazlitt's is in the heart of SOHO, with lovely restaurants and bars all around, and a little grocers down the road, convenient to pick up necessities and snacks for our little boy. Bus stops just down the street, and The Tottenham Court tube station around the corner.

Breakfast wasn't included, but we had so many options around we had a great time trying a different restaurant for every meal.

The little SOHO park just down the road quickly became a firm favourite, as did Chinatown down the road, where our little boy could get his favourite rice dishes.

We could pretty much walk anywhere -- Oxford Circus, Covent Garden, the Seven Dials area and Leicester Square, so didn't really need public transport very much.

What was especially nice was that you could have a pot of tea and a plate of cookies anytime of the day in the library, courtesy of the hotel. A beautifully appointed room, full of old-fashioned leather sofas and a wonderful array of books, all classics.

This was especially appreciated on our last day when we had to check out as scheduled but spend a few hours waiting for our hotel transfer. It was a rainy Sunday and we were loath to leave the hotel, so the thoughtful staff set up tea and biscuits in the library, and let us have the room to ourselves. Our little boy even had a long nap on one of the sofas, that was how comfortable we were!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the building, which I suspect is quieter as SOHO gets busy at night, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bentong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
387 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked a de-luxe room through booking.com for a special anniversary with my wife and specifically wanted a room with a free standing Victorian bath. When we were given an albeit very nice room (Jonathan Swift) without such a bath I complained to the manager who immediately gave us another room with the bath we wanted (Dr John Snow). Fabulous room and very comfortable 4 poster bed. Shower was excellent and of course there was the bath that my wife raved about. Didn't mind paying the £330 per night for this room but I would have been upset doing so for the previous one, nice as it is. Couple of minor gripes - for this price and undoubted quality you would expect them to provide slippers with the bathrobe and to also put in the room either Nespresso machine or some other tea and coffee making facilities. Not everyone wants to use the communal areas. Very courteous and obliging staff and overall it was an excellent stay in a great location. Never mind the Ritz or the Savoy, this is the place to go to for luxury.

Room Tip: Recommend Dr John Snow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 165854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Beautiful Hotel in a great location, unfortunately let down by a very hard mattress.
Also on preparing to take a shower in the morning found no hot water, I continued with a very cold shower but my wife decided against it.
She was offer another room to take a shower but to have to walking through the hotel declined the offer.
Did'nt fuss on checking out and was offered £11 discount on a £200+ room rate.
I think they could have offered us a discount off a future stay as we'd have taken them up on that but next time we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I recently stayed at Hazlitt's with my 13 year old daughter for 4 nights. We were in the Jonathan Swift room. It was lovely. This is definitely an older hotel. That's what I was looking for. I did not want a chain hotel. We loved our room. The hotel is very well located, a short walk to Oxford Street, Covent Garden, theatres, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, etc. We could not have been happier with our choice. But I recognize that this may not be the place for everyone. Yes, the floors are "a bit wonky," as someone else said, but we found it interesting and funny. If there's only 2 of us, I will definitely stay there again when I return to London.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Historic, full of character, charm, warm welcome and personal service, marvellous idiosyncracies---unpretentious, like a home away from home--my favorite hotel in the world. Soho location is very central. It's not the Knightsbridge or Mayfair posh that some may be looking for, but I love the atmosphere. Faves--Arbutus right across the street, L'Escargot around the corner, and Ronnie Scott's a block away.

Room Tip: I've loved every room or suite I've stayed in here between 2001 and now. Frith Street is bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTraveller956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hazlitt's for just one night, It was paid for by Friends for our 35th Wedding Anniversary, it is in an excellent location, doors away from Ronnie Scots. Walking distance ( well not to far ) from the West end. Only down fall is there is no bar,or breakfast room. You have to have breakfast in your room, which isn't that big. But lovely old Hotel.

Room Tip: We Stayed in Sir Marmaduke Wyvill -Small room, four poster bed . But to have a bigger room odiously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrkennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#346 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Property: Hazlitt's
Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing