We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time for a truly exceptional experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #211 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Step back in time for a truly exceptional experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We were staying for the first two nights of our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were greeted by a beautifully decorated reception and quickly shown our room. The Sir Anthony Bateman room we had been allocated was very dramatic. Furnished with Antiques and interesting features everywhere you look this really topped off our special day nicely. With antique fittings you expect some noise but we were not disturbed during our stay although our 10 foot tall headboard banged on the wall when moving about a bit. Hopefully we did not disturb others. Overall the experience was superb and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    166
    34
    17
    8
See reviews for
25
311
45
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had 3 nights here and booked a superior room. The good points are a great location, loads of character and good staff. The down side was no heating in the small room and bathroom which had no bath. After attempts by the staff to get the heating going we were offered another room but woould have had to chande again the next day. We said 3 rooms in 3 days was not acceptable and mentioned that they had a suite available. They checked and said they had so we moved there at an extra cost of £100.00. The suite was big and very nice so we were pleased, though the bathroom was very cold again, the lovely old bed hard and the noise from the room above horrific. You could hear every footstep, voice, creaking floorboard ......and worse! We enjoyed our stay in London but could not recommend the hotel to anyone who dislikes cold or noise disturbing sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Another fabulous building, like The Rookery in Clerkenwell.

However, the service was about 40% of what I experienced at the Rookery Hotel (gorgeous place), which was very disappointing.

The room was almost as good but the amenities and service were lacking. For example - the shower head in the bath stopped working and when I reported it in the morning the reception staff didn't seem interested. A minor point was there was just one litre bottles of water in the room at 5 quid a pop - I'd usually drink tap water but it was warm from the bathroom tap.

Seems petty to list these two things but it makes a difference when forking out close to 200 quid a night. Shame the two hotels can't line up the service offered - The Rookery wins hands down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strangey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in late May. The hotel is charming - every room named after a historical character. We asked to be in a room at the back - facing away from Frith Street. Quietest and darkest room I've ever stayed in. Room had a huge 4 poster bed and a writing desk in an alcove window looking into the lane next door. Front desk staff were exceptionally friendly, did lots for us. We loved the honesty bar as we were able to down a whiskey or two on the way in late at night. Met a few good people in the lounge as well.
We also liked the location - immediately south of Soho square so we were right in the thick of it and walking distance from just about everywhere.
This hotel doesn't have all the mod cons, but if charm and history is of interest then this is worth a bit.

Room Tip: Ask to face away from Frith street - these rooms seem to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djrg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for one night and were wowed by the weclome, quirky rooms, lovely features and location. Champagne I had arranged a birthday surprise was on ice as requested (I got a phone call prior to the night we were staying to confirm the booking and arrange the champagne I had requested), the staff were all most welcoming and helpful. Location cannot be beaten with Soho on the doorstep - but not intrusive! All round a great stay and experience.

Room Tip: This is not a standard hotel - if you love uniformity and bog standard fittings and fixtures then th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedebmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just returned from London and a very nice stay at Hazlitt's. Hazlitt's has an enormous amount of charm, the staff is friendly and welcoming, and the location could not be better for theatre-going and restaurants. There is no dining room, but there is 24 hour room service. We chose to go out to breakfast. The neighborhood is hopping so there are lots of choices.
Like many London boutique hotels, the rooms tend to be small, so we sprung for a step up from the standard room. Hazlitt's is pricey, but it was worth it to be in Soho.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulietNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We returned for our fifth visit to Hazlitt's and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived on a cold December afternoon, the warmth of the welcome and the character and comfort of the surroundings shone through. Lovely room at the back of the hotel which was ,for us,faultless. Superb breakfast in bed completed a memorable return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#12 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#304 of 1,067 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Property: Hazlitt's
Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#159 Luxury Hotel in London
#284 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, SpeedyBooker.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing