We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character & Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #162 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ribble Valley, Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Character & Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here at the weekend. The hotel is full of character down to the sloping floors and 4 poster bed. It is located right in the centre of things and although there was some noise from the road, we only noticed this because we like having the window wide open for fresh air. We had a room on the top floor (Joel Johnson) so it is a bit of a climb up there if you need to nip back for something! As I said we had a 4-poster bed which was comfortable with lovely bed linens. The bathroom was also in keeping with the era - roll-top bath with telephone shower head only. There was no shower which for us was a disappointment.
Service was friendly and efficient. there is no restaurant in the hotel, so breakfast needs to be ordered for room delivery. We didn't do this on the first night so I rang down in the morning for tea and juice which was promptly delivered. We did order on the second evening with amendments to the listed items which were all delivered as requested. There is also an honesty bar downstairs for drinks, although we did not use this.
Overall the hotel is full of character, conveniently located & comfortable although for us lacked a few essential elements.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcjmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    184
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
31
371
50
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Came here for our honeymoon, a long weekend in London (couldn't leave little ones for any longer). Fantastic building in superb location, bang in the middle of Soho. Despite warnings of the noise if you get a front facing room this was never going to be a problem for us as we were on the top floor. Quite the trek up the stairs that was. The room itself was nice although the bathroom wasn't the greatest. Having stayed at their sister hotel, the Rookery, I did feel the room wasn't as nice, particularly the bathroom, which was quite small, and much more expensive. Don't get me wrong it was still very nice and the hotel was just what we wanted, somewhere that felt special and not feel like you are in any hotel anywhere. Staff were pleasant, polite and friendly and as ever the honesty bar is a nice touch. The bed was quite nice but a bit softer than we like. All in all we had a lovely stay and the location was excellent for so much of what we did. But I do prefer the Rookery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0binballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and this is the best. It's different, quiet and a home. It's three Georgian houses (1718) converted into one hotel in Soho. It's crammed with antiques and personality - it is British through and through. So if you want a taste of London as it was and how it is this is the perfect place. We stayed in the two floor Duke of Month suite complete with a roof terrace which has a retractable roof. The bath has a 3 foot eagle as a tap and a portcullis as an overflow. I needed a ladder to climb into bed and the loo was like a throne. The mini bar had bottles of champagne and I sat in a deep plush sofa and played chess with my husband. Despite being in Soho not a sound could be heard. There are a number of rooms downstairs for lounging in - I felt at home. Don't bother with bland bother with this.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault the Duke of Monmouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Loved the location as very cool with fantastic places to eat, people watch, walk to most area's of interest ect but stepping into the Hotel felt like a chic country retreat.....we live in the Cotswolds and love the peace....we had a great nights sleep, so quiet, one of the quietest hotels weve stayed in. We booked last minuite one night as only needed a quick place to stay as meeting friends not doing the tourist thing...but loved it so much we will go back and have a proper London break and really enjoy the hotel and area. Did not see any dated area's or area's to improve on, furniture and paintwork immaculate....as previously commented on. "Dated" in American terms may mean they did not appreciacte the antiques and elegant surroundings but should choose a modern hotel which there are bucket loads to choose from in London,...but this is small, cosy and very boutique and does not need updating!!!.....its like saying Buckingham Palace needs updating? The moto of booking a hotel is to read up first and know what you have booked, dont book this hotel if you like modern.....BUT defintely book if you love personal, cosy, elegant, antiques, quirky, great showers and cracking location!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I really loved the staff at this hotel but found it to be a little dated. I know European hotels are not the same as American hotels and I just wish it was a little nicer because the staff was so kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room had a nice big bathroom and a cute little window nook. Not sure of the name of the room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our second stay at Hazlitt's and it was wonderful. A beautiful room (Madame Difloz/Dufloz?) with a lovely bathroom, welcoming and friendly staff and gorgeous breakfasts. Not a cheap option, certainly, and we've asked for quiet rooms on both occasions (at the rear of the building) to avoid any noise from Frith Street. But a truly memorable hotel and a gem of an oasis in the sometimes overcrowded streets of Soho. Fab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've stayed off and on at Hazlitt's for the past 15 years. I love the location and the charming quirkiness but my recent stay I drew the short end of the room stick. The room was incredibly dark, with a four poster-bed (which was veirdly cool), and just felt OLD, OLD, OLD. The bathroom and everything about it felt tired. I probably could have complained and tried to change rooms (I'm forgetting the name of the room) but didn't. My subsequent trips to London in the past three months I've stayed elsewhere and I miss Hazlitt's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#21 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#91 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Property: Hazlitt's
Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London
Hazlitt's London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing