We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Diplomat - pleasant stay, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #157 of 573 London B&B and Inns
budapest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Diplomat - pleasant stay, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

It has been some time that I had been thinking about trying this hotel in Belgravia. I've read previous, not completely positive reviews on the Diplomat, so I had some doubts about my choice. Most of the guests complained about the old building, the tiny lift, run down condition of the rooms, etc. Well, I can tell, that my experience with Diplomat was 100 % positive! The building is really old, but well kept, just one of the typical townhouses of Belgravia, which is one of the best addresses in London. I got the Mayfair room on the 2nd floor. It was large and clean, with very comfortable double bed. The weather was hot in London during my stay and there was no airconditioning in the hotel, but the room was safe to leave the windows open during night, so I had no problem with the heat. Breakfast was plenty, with hot and cold buffet. Service was quick and polite. Reception people were also kind and friendly. All in all, it proved to be a good choice, and I can recommend it for everybody who'd like to stay at a good location, close to Sloane Square and Knightsbridge tube stations, which are just a short walk from the hotel. If you travel from/to Heathrow, location is especially convenient, as you can take the Piccadilly Line direct to Knightsbridge and just walk to the hotel. Victoria (coach and railway station) is not far, either. I'm sure to be back here the next time when in London.

Room Tip: I'd recommend 1st & 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudapestMolnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
14
24
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'm just back from London and a three night stay at the Diplomat Hotel. The location is just fantastic, but apart from that the hotel was a disappointment, especially with all the good reviews here on tripadvisor in mind. I found the hotel rather run down, with a pleasent enough staff. The cleaning was just average, with e.g. hair under the complimentary tea cups and in the towels.

The breakfast lacked anything fresh like fruit or tomatoes etc. even though there seem to be some on the photos. Just not during my visit. Plenty of bacon, sausage, eggs and such though.

I was given a room on ground floor, just next to the reception, and was very disturbed by the noice from the lobby. Nighttime I would wake up every time a guest rang the door bell to get in. If you get a better room (=probably any other room), you might sleep ok. If you go during summer months, note that there is no air conditioning, just a small table fan.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on ground floor at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tmt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked last minute to stay at The Diplomat. I chose it for its proximity to Victoria Station (which is where the Gatwick Express train arrives and departs from). The location as the name suggests is in the diplomatic area, so lots of embassies, expensive cars, and restaurants. The area itself is very quiet, yet walking distance to all the sights. The hotel is aged, yet has some old english charm. The room we stayed in was very large and comfortable (The Mayfair Suite). The staff were all very friendly, and the included breakfast was quite nice. We paid approximately $300 AUD per night for a last minute booking (through booking.com).

Room Tip: Mayfair Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been staying at the Diplomat on visits to London for the past six years - and what a gem. Its biggest concession to modernity if internet connection in each of its two dozen rooms or so. They are comfortable, clean, with complimentary tea and coffee as well as telephone, trouser press and television. There is also a two-person lift for the upper floors [save the very last one]. It is in Belgravia, one of the poshest parts of London, and the prices by London standards are low. Before staying there i have paid double and treble for far, far inferior hotels. However it is probably the staff and the breakfast that really make the place special. English breakfast is as good as and maybe better than anyone remembers mum cooking. And the multinational staff know only how to smile and be laid back and relax while at the same time making sure their guests are well looked after. If there were a bar, I probably would venture out at night to the delightful pub 5-10 minutes' walk away.

Room Tip: Two singles are quite small but all the rest are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peegee601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel at first glance is a bit tired around the edges, but it is over hundred years old. The room I had on the four floors a single was adequate for my needs. There is a desk for working at, hairdryer, trouser press and shower all functional and clean.

The hotel was good value considering the price of others in the vicinity. I slept really well, the bed was clean and the pillows just to my requirements not to hard or soft. My room was cleaned both days and tea/coffee and biscuit were replenished each day.

There are only two draw backs that I see the first being an old style lift which takes two / three people, you have to close both metal doors for it to work. There are two staircases if you prefer. The other drawback is the breakfast room is on the lower ground floor and can only be accessed via stairs so no good if you are unsteady on your feet or in a wheelchair.

The breakfast room is clean a tidy with a nice view into the courtyard. The breakfast was ample with a choice of cereals, toast, and cooked breakfast all buffet style. Papers are available to read should you wish. On my visit the hot food was replenished quickly and the cereals, juice etc kept topped up.

If I were to stay in London again I would choose this hotel again, all staff were pleasant and check in and out was quick and easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor as these are the easiest to get to and a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank badgerkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I arrived at the Diplomat because another hotel (which I will next review) was 100% unstayable!

I was familiar with the Diplomat location as I've stayed at the 5star hotel up the block. Being in town for one day after nightmarish travel, I only need clean and quiet accommodations.

Had it not been for Daniel at the front desk and for the "book now, pay later with 100% refundable" guarantee, I would have splurged for the next hotel.
I am rating this a 3 because of the friendly manager and location and the room size and it's quiet. By all means, it is not a 3star-Marriott type...


But Daniel checked me in, upgraded me (standard practice I believe from reading other reviews) and was so pleasant, I couldn't walk out the door.

The place is either "charming, prewar," or just "old."

It's a bit of both. Elevator can't hold you AND your luggage, carpets old, rooms had space heaters ( like your Grandmothers house back in the day) also had flat boards for ironing, but the room was big!! And the bed oh-so-comfortable.

The guy came to fix my 1) heat or show me how a space thing works and said, " if any wrong, you tell us, we fix."--- very nice and also telling that ppl often complain.

Daniel the check-in guy came to fix my strangely difficult shower which boats half a panel to keep water in...well, I don't need to state the effectiveness of that. And he did so in his suit and with a smile and apologies.

However, when Daniel was gone and I needed a taxi for dinner, the guy was unhelpful and begrudgingly pointed in a direction at midnight for me to find one.

He also the next morning upon departure wanted a new payment, tho Daniel had completed such the day prior.

This exchange held me up 20 mins heading to my Paris departure. Daniel swooped in and said all was fine and once again, "I'm sorry."

It was very quiet, but that elite neighborhood is always quiet.

I missed breakfast and was confused as the dining area was downstairs from the reception and I missed it completely.

Not sure if I'd stay here again for the money (roughly $150 USD) for one night, when there are other viable options around with more spunk and offer for you money. But it beats the $550 my other hotel listed.

To be clear, the place wasn't dirty, it was old. There's a difference as dirty is unsanitary.

You feel at home due to the old moldings and building. Sort of like an unrenovated bed and breakfast, which is what they should turn this into.

I guess I'd stay here for no more than $85/100 that's all it deserves. And without Daniel, it should be half priced!

But location, location, location. Is super elite.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. Should be free. Ask for wash/face clothes, not provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivasBackPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Getting to know this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. I booked it at last minute for my weekend in London and still I got a nice room for a hundred euros. The room has a cool bed, clean and fully working shower, not to mention its way bigger than most hotel rooms with the same price range.

The only bed thing I had to mention is the old carpet, think it could be replaced.

It's also very well located, just a 10 minute walk (or less, considering I had to pull my bag around) from/to Victoria Coach and Metro Stations, and another 10 minute walk to Harrods, for those who like to go shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
Searcy's Roof Garden Rooms
#671 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#196 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
Astors Hotel
Astors Hotel
#179 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Belgravia
Lynton Hotel London
Lynton Hotel London
#44 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
Park Avenue Belgravia
#189 of 573 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: 2 Chesham Street | Belgrave Square East, London SW1X 8DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant historic Victorian enhanced by glass-domed stairwelllisted building - Centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing