We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a change for the better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
Ranked #151 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2007

I have stayed at this hotel 4 to 5 times a year for the past 18 years or so. Recently it changed from a Conrad to a Wyndham property.

If you are looking for a good central London location this hotel does not meet that criteria. It’s located in the Chelsea Harbor area and a cab ride to Knightsbridge is UKP 10 and Piccadilly Circus UKP 14, more if there is heavy traffic as there usually is. At one time the rack rates, given the standard of the hotel, made sense with its suite accommodations and services but the rates have recently increased dramatically so that it is possible to find a 5 star hotel with a more central location, if one also takes the cab fares into consideration, at a lower rate.

I can only recommend the Marina view rooms with balconies which have odd numbered rooms and definitely not the non Marina view rooms that back onto rail tracks. The hotel is also located under the Heathrow flight path where an aircraft passes overhead every 90 seconds from 5am to 11pm if the winds are blowing from the west as they normally are.

Services within the hotel are expensive, room service $10 for a pot of tea, $20 for a laundered shirt. Very few places to dine in the area, a pub and a couple of expensive restaurants, otherwise its a cab ride.

The Concierge team are excellent and go out of their way to help, good contacts for show tickets

Housekeeping has recently improved, some renovations are needed however, phone system, new TV’s.

All that said I like the hotel, the views of the Marina and the River Thames are calming in busy London, the air conditioning is excellent so for business trips it worked for me for many years but it seems they are pricing themselves out of the market.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank Mikelibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,692 - 1,698 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with my 5 year old son in June 2007.

The Conrad had just changed hands at the time of my stay and has become a Wyndham resort. I don't know what changes this will bring, but there were people walking about with clipboards looking at some of the more worn features, like the pool tiles. So hopefully there will be positive changes.

Even without any changes though, the hotel is great. It is built around Chelsea Harbour and in design and feel it reminds me strongly of staying in a hotel on Sydney Harbour in Australia. It is modern, light and airy and each suite has big windows and a balcony with two chairs and a small table. The suites are two defined rooms, both with windows, which is very good for a family. The TV's (one in bedroom, one in sitting room) are large and there are some sky tv channels. The beds were very comfortable with crisp white cotton sheets and feather duvets and pillows. We had two good size single beds.

The bathroom was huge and had a great power shower, a seperate bath and a toilet with another door. Toiletries okay, smelled fresh and citrussy.

We had room service dinner; very good, as was breakfast in the restaurant. All the staff were extremely nice and professional at all times.

This hotel is not particularly central or well served by public transport. It does not have that classic "Mary Poppins" rooftop view of London. There is a good jazz club locally, a few restaurants within the development, a few gastro pubs nearby and the Lots road auction house. The Chelsea Harbour development is a destination for interior designers and is amazing if you are interested in design, fabrics etc. A slightly longer walk would take you to more good eating/shopping places and would be pleasant in the summer.

I have stayed more centally in London and have left feeling a bit grubby and exhausted by the constant noise, small rooms, indifferent staff etc. Cental London can also be very impersonal. It is nice to feel that you are in a real neighbourhood where people actually live and go out in the evening for a drink etc. This hotel is really a refuge from the city in some ways, while being only a 5 minute (£10) taxi ride from many places you would like to be, ie knightsbridge, kings road...

I really enjoyed my one night stay at this hotel and left feeling rested and like I had had a holiday. My son adored everything about it, especially the pool. The best things were the staff and the quiet, peaceful rooms with that great outlook onto the harbour. Also the rate that we had through lastminute.com was very reasonable for london. I heard some other guests had used priceline.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank alisonwthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

We recently returned from our visit to London. The Conrad Hilton was a highlight and so classy. We loved the 2 room suite hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from front desk to conceirge to waitstaff. Everyone was very efficient. The rooms were clean and spacious. Toiletries were nice and the shower was the best we had all week. Beds were most comfortable. Other posts mentioned the Heathrow flight path, but we didn't seem to find this a problem inside the hotel. The only drawback is the distance from London central - but the local bus #11 for 2 pounds each made it easy to get into London and get off as desired. Food items were a bit pricey - but then so is most of London. This is a first class operation and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

I booked at the last minute using Hilton Honours points - we asked for a high floor room on the marina, but they were full. Instead we were given a really great suite - 703. The view from the balcony was straight down the river to the London skyline. Check in was prompt and very courteous. The concierge parked my car without being asked - our luggage was brought up to the suite within 5 minutes.

The suite was excellent. Gracious in style, large and well appointed. Nice touch to have a second bathroom.

Things about the room I liked: two balcony's from both bedroom and living room; well designed, newly decorated; nice artwork on the walls, coffee station; great bathroom with full range of cosmetics and ameneties & a very powerful seperate shower; vase of flowers; great bed - very comfortable; very efficient and quiet aircon; TEAK CD system; big fluffy robes; amazing views across London.

Not so great things about the room: sofa was stained - should be replaced in a 5* hotel, or at least steam cleaned; TV's old and tired - one remote not working - get new ones guys.

Spa area is not the greatest - needs an upgrade. Pool OK, but nothing special - sauna and changing areas average. This is not a destination spa, but does have dedicated lift from geust floors.

We ate in the Aquasia restaurant - very good meal and very reasonably priced - £125 for two including wine and cocktails, but the ambience of the dining room is very corporate Hilton and not Conrad or Four Seasons standards by any means, but the view across the Marina is good and the service was excellent.

Housekeeping is exemplary - extremely clean room and the turndown service is wonderful - ice bucket topped up, towels all replaces, bed remade and charming service.

Overall this does deserve its five star rating, but a four seasons it is not. However, depsite being on the outskirts of central London, it is a delight to come back here after the busy city.

An excellent hotel, with negligable issues that deserves to be five star, but the Conrad chain from my experience, has a long way to go to match four seasons levels of quality and service.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

Stayed here with children over Easter and it was truely wonderful. last year at Easter i had to check out of the Dublin Hilton early this year in London you just wanted it to go on and on.
Location 5 mins walk from Kings Rd Chelsea, easy bus ride to Victoria or Harrods,
15 mins walk or £5 in a taxi to Fulham Broadway tube station,
2 mins walk to water taxi to Westminister,
yet far from the crowds of London easy to relax in lovely pool area with sauna and steam rooms, take a walk around the harbour, enjoy a drink in the bar or for a less expensive drink a local pub 200yrds away.
the rooms are huge, we had Harbour view, private balcony,living room with pull out sofa bed, work desk, seperate toilet, a bedroom with dressing area, full bathroom, loads of luxury items, nightly turn down service with bottles of water left and a range of cleaning products for your shoes etc.
buffet breakfast which as gold h/honours was included for free was wonderful, fruits, cereal, salmon, fresh baked breads etc etc etc.
free internet in the business centre.
staff very helpful
overall a luxury hotel. only complaint drinks a bit pricey but you dont have to buy them and everything else more than made up for that
well done Hilton

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JAMES m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

I booked this hotel through Asia rooms.com and got a fantastic rate for 2 rooms. My colleague and I stayed 2 nights on business.

Rooms: All suite hotel, spotlessly clean, great seating area and even has a cloakroom as well as the toilet in the bathroom, very comfy beds, great bathroom with a bath and separate power shower, again very clean.

Staff: Reception helpful and polite, concierge also friendly. However we were both very surprised to find the restaurant allows smoking anywhere which spoilt my breakfast and when I complained about it and asked to be moved away from the smokers I was met with indifference, like it was my fault for not smoking! Shame, as the restaurant has a lovely view overlooking the harbour.

Location: Away from central London, so quite different from say staying in Mayfair or Knightsbridge, but Kings Road is a stones throw away.

I have one big moan and that is if you get stuck with a room with odd numbers, i.e. we were in 419 and 421 you won't get much sleep! I had the worse 2 nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. There is a railway line very close to one side of the hotel and it kept me awake at night and woke me up at 4am in the morning. Also the hotel is under the Heathrow flight path as well!
I mentioned to reception on checkout about the trains - yes I should have done it earlier - and they told me that the hotel was half empty and they could have moved us. I was quite annoyed by this as if that was the case, why did they put us in those rooms in the first place? The other side would be much quieter.

I would stay there again, however would ask for a room away from the train side.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Fanoir_Adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

Got this hotel on priceline for £125 per room per night including taxes etc (bid £105 per night, but the above was the cost including taxes).

Positives: Lovely rooms - this is an all suite hotel, so all rooms have a lounge, hall and bedroom. Great service - staff here all seemed very friendly. Concierge - great for booking theatre tickets at the last minute and saved us a lot of time. Great bathrooms with powerful showers. Nice restaurant overlooking the harbour. Room service breakfast was very good. Nearby King's Road has some great shops and restaurants.

Negatives: Booking through priceline won't get you the best room available - we booked two interconnecting rooms, and both were either side of the lifts, so a bit noisy. Prices for food etc extremely high - eg, breakfast for 2 adults and 2 children in room - £99, bottle of coke from mini bar £3.50, dinner for 2 adults and 2 children, including a relatively cheap bottle of wine - £250. A bit out of the centre of London, and nearest tube is 20 minutes walk - so taxi costs can quickly add up. Only one restaurant - no cafes even - would have expected more dining options in a five star hotel. Noise was an issue - the hotel seems to be below a flight path, and we were woken by planes during the night.

Would we stay there again? Probably in the Summer (the location would be very pretty in the summer), if we wanted to visit that area of London, and could get another great deal, but we would think twice about staying there again primarily to visit central London attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank cindsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#197 of 1,077 in London
2,473 reviews
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#521 of 1,077 in London
647 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#283 of 1,077 in London
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#166 of 1,077 in London
2,928 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#86 of 1,077 in London
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea Harbour Hotel

Address: Chelsea Harbour, London SW10 0XG, England (Formerly Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in London
#81 Romantic Hotel in London
#85 Family Hotel in London
#114 Business Hotel in London
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $243 - $2,899 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chelsea Harbour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant All-Suite Hotel located in the Chelsea Harbour on the River Thames, offering stunning views of the river & harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chelsea Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour Hotel London
Wyndham London
London Wyndham
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing