We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
Ranked #159 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

From the moment we walked in and was shown to our suite, we knew we were in for a good 4 days. Room very spacious, 2 loos, 2 flat screen tv's, cd player, complimentary water, shoe clean, papers, turn down service with your slippers placed at the side of your bed, tv radio switched on and bedside lights on. Starbucks coffee served. Didn't get a harbour view, but this did not dampen our stay. Ate only once in restaurant but it was very good. Breakfasts were also good with plenty of choice, we even managed to eat outside on the decking on the last day, overlooking the harbour, as the weather was so nice, not bad for late September. They have a very efficient invisible maid service, never saw them once or any sign of them (no trolleys etc) which was a nice touch. Reception staff very welcoming. A pleasant 10 mins stroll took you to the nearest tube station (Fulham Broadway). Ate at the Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant, near the tube station, which is set-up like a rainforest on the inside, nice meal but not outstanding. A cd library would be a good idea for guests. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting London.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi_Chambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaefi, Executive Housekeeper at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2008
Dear Mr Chambers

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay. I was especially pleased to read your kind remarks about our maid service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Wyndham Grand London in the New Year.

Delia Maury
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    380
    119
    47
    35
See reviews for
470
547
57
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

I can't stand hotels where you're treated as nothing more than a number, and thankfully that wasn't the case here. I walked in, not dressed for the occasion I must admit. Someone had tripped and spilt coffee down my suit whilst I was actually trying to find this place. Not a problem, said the receptionist, whilst he was checking me in. He said that if I came back shortly with my suit, it would be drycleaned for the next morning, free of charge.

The hotel looked impressive from the outside, in a modern and secure complex. It was just as impressive from the inside. Every detail finished to the Nth degree. My suite (There were no "rooms" in the traditional sense, it's a suite-only hotel) was a marina-view, and was as impressive as it sounds. The only thing I could be disappointed in was myself, for the fact that I didn't go down and have a walk around the marina.

The restaurant was maybe a little OTT, but as a fan of all things extraneous, I was impressed. I was given the option of sitting on the balcony with my meal, which I decided to take. Quite often, I find that staff in restaurants at hotels are too embroiled in coversations between themselves, and are leaving me waiting at the table for my drink or to take my order. This wasn't the case here; the staff seemed to go out of their way to cater for my needs (I have some strict dietary requirements because of my many food allergies).

After my meal, I decided it would be time to get into bed, because I had a busy day ahead the next day. My bed was very comfortable. The only complaint I do have about the room is the poor proximity of power sockets to the bed. I could barely reach my bed with my laptop's power cable. I put my shoes out to be shined (As this service is complimentary).

The next morning, I'd overslept and didn't have time to go for breakfast. The staff at the desk, before checking me out, went to the trouble of arranging a car to take me to my destination.

Certainly a 5 star hotel, but there are maybe one or two niggling things about it which prevent me from choosing "Excellent."

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andyc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand_London, Front Office Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2008
Thank you for your great feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Wyndham Grand London. We pride ourselves on our friendly personal service and we are pleased that you felt welcomed. Our restaurant Aquasia is always happy to accommodate any special requirements and our Chef has designed a range of festive menus to tempt this Christmas. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and then you can take that idyllic walk around Chelsea Harbour that you missed this time round...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

I have stayed in most of the 5 star hotels in London but this one is very nearly the best of the lot. I booked in there for 4 nights last weekend with my wife and 2 kids aged 11 & 12. The 1 room i booked consisted of 1 large bedroom and a huge lounge with double sofa bed, 2 plasmas,2 toilets etc all of a very high standard. The breakfast in the hotel which was included was excellent. Food top class, view over Chelsea harbour fantastic and the service second to none. Some nice touches in the hotel were free internet access a morning newspaper and unlimited amounts of filtered bottled water. The staff too were very very helpful and courteous. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and cannot fault it in anyway. The only negative is you have to go on a generic website to get a room because there never seems to be availability on the Wyndham website itself.

  • Liked — Spotless & very large modern rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DublinMaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

We stayed at the Wyndham on a romantic weekend break and attended the last night of the proms. It was a great experience - the rooms are very spacious and comfortable. We had a sunny balcony where we had our own breakfast. It felt like we had hired our own flat for the weekend as opposed to a hotel room.
The breakfast was not included in the room rate and we didn't fancy paying £20 odd quid for breakfast - so we brought our own.
Nice pool and gym facilities and great hand and hair products.

If you are wanting to get public transport - it is a bit out the way to get to - fine if you are driving or getting cabs everywhere.

Very quiet and a real taste of chelsea!

  • Liked — The rooms are huge - everything you need
  • Disliked — the cost of the breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acooton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

What a fantastic stay at the Wyndham Grand!
This hotel is absolutely amazing from the first moment we arrived. On arrival the welcome was warm and friendly and the staff were more than helpful.
The door to our room took a bit of mastering but the wait was worth it once we got in! Sofas, 2 flatscreen TV's, a dressing room, 2 balconies, 2 bathrooms, a pile of the newest magazines and a CD sound system. There was a suprise behind every door and in every drawer.
Then there was the bed - deep bouncy pillows, the softest sheets and so wide you could get lost.
Sometimes when you stay in a hotel you can hear other rooms doors banging, people down the corridoors etc but not here - it was so quiet it was like we were the only people staying there.
The little extras were a real treat and we will definately be going back!
Take a walk around the harbour - so nice and peaceful.

  • Liked — The entire room
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank messy_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

Great hotel. There were 4 of us - myself, my wife, and my 2 children aged 9 and 6. The rooms was more than adequate and the staff were exceptionally helpful. The staff made up the childrens bed for us. Parking was reasonable especially as we effectively parked for 2 days. The breakfast was £21 per head but the children ate free. I had to ask for more bacon as the portions were small but the additional request was no problem. It was a little on the expensive side but ithe stay was stress free and the room was of a high standard. Getting into central London by taxi was £15-£20 per journey. There is no tube nearby. There is only 1 bar and 1 restaurant but this was not a problem. Does not ahve the hustle and bustle of the central London hotels but a very comfortable stay overall with great facilties.

  • Liked — Standard of room and helpfullness
  • Disliked — Cost
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

We must say that, for London, the size of the suites were quite large, however don't go for harbour view coz whilst the boats are really nice to look at, BUT don't look down from the balcony .... because the terrace below has old discarded cigarette butts and weeds all over it, the hotel is also stuck right out of the way at the wrong end of Kings Road, the really nice bars and restaurants around Sloane Square and that end of Kings Road are really out of walking distance because Kings Road must be at least 2-3 miles long! The mini bar also charged £5 for a small packet of biscuits, hence we went hungry until we went out for dinner! Our stay was also overshadowed by the appalling service we received, the water was turned off without any warning, the telephone was disconnected due to engineering works again without warning, the valet parking and concierge was a shambles and we had to wait nearly an hour for our luggage, overall, not what you would expect for a five star establishment, its really bad value for money and I can think of much nicer establishments for the same price or less. We WILL NOT be staying there again.

  • Liked — The Size Of The Room Is Larger Than Average For London
  • Disliked — Where Do You Want Me To Start?????
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank flossy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham_Grand_London, Front Office Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2008
I was sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at the Wyndham Grand London. We value customer feedback and we have a dedicated Guest Relations team to address any issues that arise during your stay. Our Marina View Suites offer fabulous views across Chelsea Harbour, and from the River View Suites you can see all the way across the city to Docklands. The roof above the restaurant is regularly cleaned and following your comments our gardener has ensured that the roof is once again spotless. Our waterside location is very popular with guests wanting to escape the noise of the West End. We are just minutes from the King’s Road, which boasts a wide variety of shops that stretch the entire length of this fashionable shopping district. We offer a complimentary shuttle service at weekends that chauffeurs guests straight to the shops in Chelsea.
I was very concerned to read your comments regarding the service and technical difficulties you experienced during your stay, I can assure you that the service you described represents a considerable deviation from our usual high standard of guest care. Had we been informed of your concerns at the time we would have certainly taken steps to ensure that any issues were resolved. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Wyndham Grand London in the near future so that we may restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#225 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#102 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#453 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea Harbour Hotel

Property: The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
Address: Chelsea Harbour, London SW10 0XG, England (Formerly Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#81 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Business Hotel in London
#124 Family Hotel in London
#127 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chelsea Harbour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant All-Suite Hotel located in the Chelsea Harbour on the River Thames, offering stunning views of the river & harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chelsea Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour Hotel London
Wyndham London
London Wyndham
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing