We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Says 5 star but not treated like 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
Ranked #169 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and first impressions of the lobby were good, there were 3 of us, myself, my hubby and 6 year old daughter. We checked in to be looked down on by the receptionist, once we arrived at our room first impressions were good but there was no bed for my daughter despite being ordered, also through email we had been promised something extra for my husbands birthday - this never materialised! We went out for a meal and on the way out informed reception of the bed situation, we were told house keeping would be contacted and the bed would be in the room for 7pm. We returned to the hotel at 9pm to find still no bed, I phoned Reception who said one would be sent up, 15 mins later and one finally arrived! Due to being up early the following day we settled down for the night to have two staff enter the room without knocking at 11pm asking to check the bathroom for a leak (there was none) I was shocked that they thought it acceptable to just barge in without knocking! The following morning I mentioned all this to reception who were not helpful and did not seem interested, will my be staying again! Big let down!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham123, PA to the General Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Donna J,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel.
We were disappointed to read that you didn't receive five star service during some aspects of your stay. This isn't our usual standard of service that we offer and therefore we will be in contact to discuss this further with you.

Kind regards
Kerrie Hughes

PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Room and hotel overall was way more than I'd expected. Room was huge, separate working area / living room and bedroom and two balconies. Room was clean, service was excellent, starting from the doorman. Breakfast was good, food was prepared during the breakfast, not beforehand. Only negative comment is the price...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonis32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham123, PA to the General Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear tonis32,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel.
We are thrilled that you were pleased with your suite, the excellent service and the breakfast. We pride ourselves on being the only 5* all-suite hotel in London, providing our guests with a sense of space that is virtually unparalleled by other properties in the centre of the City
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Kerrie Hughes
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a massive room with a large bedroom, large bathroom with the most powerful shower ever! The lounge was fantastic with a lovely coffee machine, dining table, comfortable sofa. The hotel had set up a bed in the corner of the lounge for our daughter. As you enter the room there is your own long formal hallway with umbrella stand etc.
Very close to a Tesco express, right on Chelsea Harbour. Very convenient for Chelsea, Fulham and Kensington. Taxi from Royal Albert Hall cost £8 but if we hadn't got our daughter with us we'd have walked.
Lovely pool which was fairly busy on Sunday morning but still plenty of space, easily accessible from the room with its' own lift.
Breakfast is probably the best I've had in central London, huge buffet more like what you'd expect from a cruise. (The complimentary lemonade served from the concierge desk is also fantastic)
Staff were really friendly.
Hotel is 2-3 minute walk from overground train station and 7-8 minute walk from Fulham Broadway.
We will definitely stay here again. If you're looking for complete luxury I'd say this is more of a business/family trip hotel than intimate couples weekend but the price is an absolute bargain considering you're essentially staying in a one bed apartment with fantastic views!
Parking is really convenient as you're right next to Chelsea Harbour complex (The home of Laura Ashly HQ and The Design Centre) and underground there is masses of 'tight' parking spaces and the stairwell exit from this is right next to the entrance for the hotel!

Room Tip: I'm not sure this hotel could conjure up a bad room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham123, PA to the General Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear WelshMonkey,

Thank you for your kind review following your stay at the hotel.
We are delighted that you were pleased with the location of the hotel, the size of your suite and the lovely pool. We are thrilled that the breakfast was the best that you have ever had in Central London. Your kind feedback will be passed on and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Kerrie Hughes
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed several times at the Wyndham hotel, mostly when Chelsea soccer team had a match at Stanford. The hotel "crew" was ALWAYS exceeding my expectations, from Check-In (Sonja) to SPA, even the room service and the restaurant... But the reason I have decided to write now, as in THE bar I met today exceptional outstanding "crew" (Elisabeth P. and Dora S.): they were very professional and very customer centric (I had a special cocktail request and they created the best I ever had), so the bottom line is: if you want an "issueless" stay in hotel with the best service: Wyndham Chelsea Harbour is your choice!!! Thank you very much again all crew. gabor.olah@outlook.com

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Gabor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham123, PA to the General Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Gabor O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the excellent service from Sonja, Elisabeth and Dora. Your kind feedback will be passed on and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Kerrie Hughes
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked this hotel as we saw a deal on Secret Escapes. We paid £200 for the Chelsea Suite. Upon arrival we was greeted and sat down to check in. We was shown our room and was very impressed. Some of the room could of done with updating but we was overall very impressed. We even got a free cake as it was my birthday :-)

Location of hotel is good too, a 2min walk to imperial wharf tube station so very easy access into London. We had planned to eat in central london however after visiting the london eye we decided to call the hotel and book a table. We arrived back at hotel by taxi from the eye and it cost us £15 so very reasonable. The meal we had was amazing, we both orderd fillet steak and it was very yummy. Upon leaving resturant we saw Jose mareneho sat in the lobby. So if he stays at the hotel it must be worth it :-)
Check out was very simple an overal we had an amazing stay.
Will deffiantly be looking out for more deals for this hotel so we can return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham123, PA to the General Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Jidney,

Thank you for choosing to stay the Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour to celebrate your birthday.
We are thrilled that you were happy with check in, your suite, food in the restaurant and a simple check out. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Kerrie Hughes
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here in Feb mid-term break. Great hotel accommodation: double bedroom with tv & balcony, sitting room with another tv & balcony, double sofa bed in sitting room which the staff turned into a double bed each night for 2 children. 2 bathrooms, big cloakroom & hallway. Loads of room in the suite. For older children who are fed up with small camp beds in hotels, this was a great choice. Breakfast was good, but service very slow on the Saturday, hence 4 stars not 5. Not on the tube, but don't let that put you off. It's on the national rail line - Imperial Wharf station, which connects to the tube and the bus service from the King's Road is excellent. Would definitely stay here again. The Chelsea team stayed here the weekend we were here, so if its good enough for them......

Room Tip: Some rooms face the train station and may not suit very light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTurner71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham123, PA to the General Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear GTurner71,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour.

We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your mid-term break at the hotel. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused with the breakfast service. This is not our normal levels of service and therefore your feedback has been passed onto the restaurant manager.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Kerrie Hughes
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I stayed here only for a night with my mother as we were visiting London and out the next day.
From the moment we stepped into the place everything was beautiful.
We were helped by (and i hope the name is right!) Roberto, who was lovely and very helpful. He even showed us to our room.

The room was spotless and so lovely. The bathroom was gorgeous and we could have stayed in the suite forever!

We went to the bar for a drink, and ended up staying for a meal, fantastic meal and very friendly and highly trained staff.

My only comment for improvement would be to look into dietary requirements as my mother cannot eat gluten so had a job to chose a meal. She in the end had vegetables and potatoes, said it was lovely. However, a little more option would be lovely.

We would definitely stay here again and i have already recommended it.

Great place, well worth the money!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham123, PA to the General Manager at The Chelsea Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear LittleSian,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour.
We are thrilled that you and your mother enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Your kind feedback will be passed onto Roberto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Kerrie Hughes
PA to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#536 of 1,078 in London
638 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#290 of 1,078 in London
470 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#180 of 1,078 in London
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#87 of 1,078 in London
871 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea Harbour Hotel

Address: Chelsea Harbour, London SW10 0XG, England (Formerly Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in London
#81 Romantic Hotel in London
#85 Family Hotel in London
#114 Business Hotel in London
#134 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $244 - $2,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chelsea Harbour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant All-Suite Hotel located in the Chelsea Harbour on the River Thames, offering stunning views of the river & harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chelsea Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour Hotel London
Wyndham London
London Wyndham
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing