We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but poor (and overly expensive) breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
Ranked #190 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice room, but poor (and overly expensive) breakfast”
Reviewed April 22, 2008

The room/suite was excellent, and we enjoyed the leisure faciliities. The front desk and concierge were very helpful. The quality of the cooked breakfast, though, was disappointing (especially for a hotel of this star rating); in addition, the restaurant staff were unclear over what was included in the room rate paid, which caused more confusion than should have been necessary. Overall, a very comfortable hotel, but the experience was undermined by the breakfast, both in terms of quality and service.

  • Liked — Great room, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Poor quality English breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zlatan_King_of_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    397
    124
    49
    42
See reviews for
479
568
59
305
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

I spent four days at the Wyndham and I had a pleasant stay. The hotel is a bit of a walk from anything, but King's Road is a few minutes away and has lots of nice cafe's and a little further up in Fulham you got plenty of nightclubs etc which are a cheap cabride away. But, there is no shops right around the hotel for quick fix stuff like bottle of water, papers etc.

The rooms are nice and large as are the balconies. The bathroom, by british standards, is very spacious and has the usual toiletries. The room's (suite) are nicely laid out with a wall separating the bedoom area, which also has it's own tv.

There's a direct elevator that you can take to the spa using your room key, but I sadly didn't have time to take advantage of the swimming pool.

The room service menu is varied and the burgers and breakfast were really excellent and the service was very fast. The only annoying thing was that after every time you used room service, you'd get a call from reception asking if everything was fine. I can appreciate this, but after a few times, it get's a bit old.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RiotPelaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Loved it and would go back again. However, It just seems very expensive for the location as it is definitely in the midst of nowhere unless you need to visit the design centre at Chelsea Harbour. Although it is now the Wyndham the taxis only seem to know it still as the Conrad. !!!

  • Liked — The Marina Views
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2008

I'll mention the only drawbacks first, to get them out of the way, because that is how I felt when I stayed here. So much is excellent that it is easy to overlook the odd negative and just enjoy everything else.

Location - yes, it is a little out of the way for central London access. It is also not particularly close to the nearest underground station (Fulham Broadway, 10 minutes walk). You just need to decide if that extra time & expense to reach your hotel is worth paying to benefit from all the positives this place has to offer. However, on the positive side, the neighbourhood is one you feel you can walk through safely at night.

Cost - my company paid for this trip, so I cannot comment on value for money, as I don't know what rate they paid. However, we did sign for our own breakfasts, and it was over £20 for a continental breakfast. Curiously, the full English breakfast (including the full continental buffet too) was only a couple of £'s more, so was better value.

You have probably read in the other reviews about this all-suite hotel and the high quality of its rooms. I note one reviewer was quite negative about the non-harbour-facing rooms, but I had no issue at all with mine. Yes, there were train tracks to look at (and a whole lot of other buildings - this is London!) but there was no problem with noise at all (trains or road or planes).

One little tip - join the Wyndham ByRequest programme before you stay. Although the site states that you will only receive the "little extras" after 3 nights, I found my free welcome drinks waiting for me on day 1 of my 2 night stay.

One very big pleasant surprise was the quality of the cuisine. I stay at several good quality hotels on business, where we have conferences or meetings on site and invariably have lunch at the hotel. I am pleased to say this hotel surpassed ALL others I have stayed at in terms of the quality of its lunch. It was quite simply superb.

Service was excellent throughout my stay, with a great attitude shown by all the staff I encountered. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble, so don't be afraid to ask if you need to.

I'll be back!

  • Liked — Great rooms and superb food
  • Disliked — Access to central London or Underground
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

I recently had the pleasure of visting The Wyndham for business and was throughly impressed. The hotels houses all suites and 6 stunning penthouses. All rooms are modern and to a very high standard.

I ate in the restaurant for lunch and had the buffet which was high quality and for a buffet was hot and very tasty! The staff were all very attentive and polite.

There is a lovely area off the restaurant/bar for sitting outside which I am sure would be excellent in the summer for drinks over looking the harbour.

Overall I would definaltey go back here for a weekends stay.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2007

This is a great hotel, with nice suites and lavish decorations. The location, on Chelsea Harbor, is pretty, but a long way from London's sites. The rooms are easily twice the size of anything else I've seen in London and are an excellent value as well. You will not be disappointed by this top-shelf property.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Passportfiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for a week on a work conference. The rooms were great as it's an all suite hotel. The quality of the food was also very high.

I would recommend this hotel for business travellers.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet-Ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#87 of 1,069 in London
801 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#160 of 1,069 in London
2,390 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#221 of 1,069 in London
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#515 of 1,069 in London
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chelsea Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chelsea Harbour Hotel

Property: The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
Address: Chelsea Harbour, London SW10 0XG, England (Formerly Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#81 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Business Hotel in London
#124 Family Hotel in London
#150 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chelsea Harbour Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant All-Suite Hotel located in the Chelsea Harbour on the River Thames, offering stunning views of the river & harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chelsea Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand London Chelsea Harbour Hotel London
Wyndham London
London Wyndham
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing