We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned in a good way - Good for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Ranked #138 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My family and I had a very good stay at the Collingham apartments.

The overall experience was a good one, from the moment we contacted the apartments via email, to their prompt replies, throughout our stay and through to check out.

The apartments was relatively easy to find.

Getting There: Exit Gloucester Road tube station, turn right towards the Millennium Bailey's hotel and walk towards Harrington road and turn right at the junction of Harrington and Gloucester. You continue down the road for another 5-10 minutes, walking past the NH Harrington, The Beverly London and Avni Kensington hotels, then past the roundabout and the Collingham Serviced Apartments would be in the middle of the row. The children and us took this easy walk to Gloucester road station every day and took us 10min.

The Front Facade & Check in Desk: There are three steps at the front door which may be a bother for guests in wheelchairs but generally quite okay for those with buggies/prams like us. The white front facade and warm carpet colours gave the Collingham an old-world feel. It was like we stepped into a pseudo-Edwardian England house - with a hint of modern trappings.

Check in: Check in was swift. The front desk passed me the keys after confirming my name and pulling out my reservation from a pre-printed stack of papers. No key cards here but a standard old-skool (no, not even one of those high-security Yale, Chubb or Abloy keys) door key with an enormous tag that bears our apartment number. We got only one key but that was suffice for us.

Getting to the Apartment: We had to climb some more steps and then, down a few more along a narrow corridor and then some more to our basement flat/apartment. The corridor was just enough for one person abreast - with a backpack. The front desk suggested we deposit our buggies at the front door so as not to carry them up (and down) stairs. There was another flat opposite us and a hotel service room with four to five washing machines next to it but we never could hear the washing machines whirling away throughout our stay.

The Apartment: We walked in past the reception area and into a rather decent sized hall. First impressions was that it was old-skool/old fashioned but quite tastfully and classy. Large decorative mirror on the wall, soft carpet flooring, 1 x double room, 1 x twin room and 1 x single room, together with a decent sized kitchen, bathroom and even a courtyard accessible via a door in the double room. Plenty of space for a small family. I reckon our apartment could sleep 6 pax comfortably.

My children has a good time running about their "new apartment" - essentially playing hide and seek in the apartment. This should give you a size of the apartment. This is quite unlike the cubby-hole hotel rooms typical of Europe. Extremely good value considering the price we paid.

There were large windows to look out off in each room and a larger one in the dining area for you to enjoy the courtyard view while having breakfast. We liked that the beds were soft enough and there were plenty pillows, cushions and the like. We also liked that the kitchen was well equipped, down to having tea towels, washing up liquid and enough utensils, cutlery and cooking gear for adventurous guests to cook up a family meal.

The rooms were nice and toasty generally, except for a cold draft coming in from the bottom of the wooden windows and the courtyard door (in the double room) but that did not bother us much. There was one room (the twin) that was much warmer for some reason but again, this was minor.

The bathroom was simple but more than adequate. Already, it is larger than some of the hotel bathrooms I have experienced in London.

Furnishing & Service: Overall, it was well furnished. At first glance, and unless you really noticed, there is nothing really wrong. We had a lovely time in the apartment. It felt like living in someone's home.

There were some cracked tiles and water stained wood and the carpet just outside the bathroom had a small tear. The kitchen had a cupboard with a misaligned door. Some paint was coming off the window panes and door frames and a few chips off the coffee table. Nothing that was a major problem but generally reflects the heavy use of the furniture.

We did not notice anyone from Housekeeping coming in to clean up the place, albeit the trash was taken away daily. Our beds remained as they were but again, this is an apartment not a hotel so we were not expecting our beds to be made for us.

Check out: Check out was very quick. The front desk helped us book a mini-cab to the airport and we merely had to pass them back the key and we were off. The apartment had already been paid off - deducted off my credit card a few weeks after booking. So there was no hassle.


Overall Feel: It felt really like staying in someone's home. There were nice touches like a gift of simple bottle of wine and supermarket chocolates to welcome us to the apartment. Front desk was able to sort our requests rather quickly. If I were back in London again for a reasonable length of time, the Collingham apartments would be one of my top choices.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on a higher floorm facing the gardens. There is a lift but do note that you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to share your nice comments, hopefully other travellers will find the information useful. We were happy that you were delighted with the new style apartment you were allocated on the lower ground floor (we could tell from the Photo posted). We were all glad to read that you were happy with our Service as we do try our best to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

These apartments are amazing!
Central location
Very Clean
Total Accomodation
Reasonably Priced
Secure Building
Friendly Front Desk
Reliable Wi-Fi
No Hassle Billing/Payment
My husband, Brother-In-Law, Sister-In-Law and I stayed for a week in November 2012 and LOVED it! I've stayed at other services apartments in this area over the past few years and would highly recommend Collingham. I'll be staying again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleciaW744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Collingham Serviced Apartments. Our guests love the fact that we are an apartment hotel as the additional space is very refreshing in a big city, offering you space to relax. We value our personalised service and so I was pleased to read your comments about our staff. With regards to our location, we are a few minutes from Gloucester Road underground and close to shops/supermarket, and short walk to Knightsbridge and Museums. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at Collingham Serviced Apartments, London from 15 - 24 March 2013 and found them to be fantastic!

The location is perfect for the city (5 minute walk to either Gloucester Road and Earls Court tube stations), the apartment was cleaned daily with fresh towels, daily newspaper under the door, tea/coffee provided etc.

To top the stay at Collingham Apartments, Adam and the other staff were utterly amazing and provided a tip top service with every need catered for.

Recommended highly

Dawn & Caroline (Studybeds)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to share your nice comments, hopefully other travellers will find the information useful. We were happy that you were delighted with the new style apartment you were allocated on the lower ground floor (we could tell from the Photo posted). We were all glad to read that you were happy with our Service as we do try our best to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our seventh visit proved that the management and staff of the Collingham strive for and achieve perfection. In every way, the welcome, the eagerness to be of help, the quality of the apartments, the immaculate cleanliness, the location...! The neighborhood is perfect for adult travelers or families, and it is beautiful and quiet.

There is nothing lacking at the Collingham and we hope to return soon! Thomas and Suellen knight

Room Tip: We have stayed in several apartments and each one was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha's Vineyard Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Friends from USA
It is such a pleasure to welcome you back to your 'London'Residence' time after time.
It is heartwarming to hear that you feel comfortable and happy with the service and experience staying with us. It was so very kind of you to share you thoughts on staying at Collingham Serviced Apartments with other TripAdvisor Readers, so that they might contact us to see if we can assist them in planning an upcoming trip.
Warmest Regards
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a night here with a friend and her two teenage kids for a London event. Handy because it is 5 mins from Gloucester Rd tube, so easy to get to. Lots of small shops locally around to pick up supplies from. The staff were helpful and welcoming. The 2 bed apartment was a very decent size - bigger than some 2 bed flats I would think, with a lovely small patio out the back. Kitchen good and had teabags/sugar coffee etc. It was warm, very clean, lots of towels and great value. Really can't fault it for the price and location. When next over-nighting in London I will stay here. Just wish the staff didn’t keep asking us to put a review on Trip Advisor – hence 4 stars. Now I hope they will stop asking!

Room Tip: Ground Floor to get a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodEvans8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful review of The Collingham.
I have passed on your thanks to the team. We are all delighted we were able to make your stay so special. We would love to have you back in the future, although you must stay for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Collingham Serviced Apartments are spacious and clean. The staff are very efficient and helpful. They were even able to find us a limousine service half the price that AMEX offered but equally good. The location is good, very near to the full-scale Sainsbury's and Earl Court tube station. We'll definitely go back when we travel to England again next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ida2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to advise other TripAdvisor readers of your experience staying as our guest at Collingham Serviced Apartments, we were delighted to welcome you and to hear that you enjoyed your time in London with your family and particularly that you were made to feel at home by our Staff. We hope to be approachable but not stuffy, and are happy to assist with your enquiries for making your trip memorable. Our chauffeur cars are good value as you mention, to make the transition to and from the airport part of the Holiday experience.
Please let us know if we can be of any assistance to you in the future.
Tripadvisor members have Voted Collingham Serviced Apartments 6th Best Hotel in the United Kingdom for families! We are delighted with this accolade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had an excellent stay, at this very calm, although central London location. The rooms and facilities were all in perfect order, and the service impecable. This is a great alternative to top hotels, as there are many great restaurants nearby, and if you would like to do your own home cooking - there is a huge Sainsbury 5 min walk away, and the kitchen has what you need.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your review of Collingham Serviced Apartments, we are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and that the service was a highlight for you. We work very hard with all of the team to offer a warm, professional and courteous service whilst never being stuffy and unapproachable. We will certainly feedback your comments to the Reception and Housekeeping Teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#143 of 1,077 in London
937 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,077 in London
3,882 reviews
South Kensington
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaza on the River
#273 of 1,077 in London
1,625 reviews
Notting Hill
Prince's Square Apartments
Prince's Square Apartments
#871 of 1,077 in London
255 reviews
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#484 of 1,077 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingham Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingham Serviced Apartments

Address: 26-27 Collingham Gardens, London SW5 0HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in London
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
#159 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $125 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Collingham Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingham is situated in fashionable South Kensington, within easy walking distance of Gloucester Road, South Kensington and Earls Court underground stations. Close to the superb shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea's Kings Road. All apartments are fully furnished to a high standard. All apartments (except for the studio) have a sofa bed which is suitable for sleeping 1 additional adult or 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Collingham Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingham Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Collingham Apartments London
Collingham Apartments Hotel London
Collingham Serviced Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing