We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are going back again!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marylebone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marylebone
Ranked #51 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
county durham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We are going back again!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here when it was a 'Jurys', and it stuck in our mind as we had a free upgrade, not so lucky this time but a great experience all the same.
The best yet for anywhere in London, where there is a fantastic choice of 'eating out' on the door step.
We did three nights at a good rate, and ate out within 3 minutes walk each time.
Try Carluccios in St Christopher Place, it was fantastic.

Hotel has a leisure centre with a pool, which was fine, although the staff there were a little off, when they realised that you were from upstairs, so we only went the once, but it was not crowded and very clean.

Generally the hotel the staff were wonderful and helpful, and also very considerate. We did bed and continental breakfast, which was enough, and even refused free upgrade to full english on the third morning as we could not eat any more.

Plenty of room to relax, and only three minutes walk from the tube.
Yes we are going back in the Autumn, as I do not see the need to go elsewhere now.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank govancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,289
    779
    186
    38
    27
See reviews for
597
1,225
186
838
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

We had stayed here previously while named Clifton Jurys Ford and were pleasantly surprised with the remodeling that has been completed. We like the central location and the fact that there are excellent restaurants close by. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom spotless., though maybe a bit cramped. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a central hotel, convenient to the underground, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CndnGuider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

stayed here one night and got a great deal with travelzoo the hotel is in a good location close to the main shopping streets and some good restaurants,all the rooms have been refurbished in a modern chick design and everything looks fresh and clean, hotel staff were very helpfull and pleasant, the breakfast was excellent and the bar was also good my only dissapointment was the size of the bathrooms they have to be the smallest i have ever had in a hotel but well equiped and clean ,
i would use this hotel again if you can get the discount rate but i wouldnt stay if i had to pay the rack rate

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anglian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Not large rooms but recently renovated, modern, clean, well located and so good value for London. I will return to stay here. It is also in a quiet street

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Blackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Va
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at the Marylebone on the advice of our travel agent whom we've used for years. She always puts us close to transportation so we can use the bus or subway systems, but still close to shopping and restaurants since we have kids with us. Marylebone fit the bill pretty well.

Its a short walk to Bond Station which is on the Jubilee line, and that runs right to Westminster, London Bridge and the London Dungeon areas. Saved a fortune on taxis. However, while the young staff try hard, they are not quite there and are NOT good at directions. Our first night we got in late, after 11 so most restaurants closed. They directed us to a pizza place '10 min' walk away. 25 min later we found a different place, and it turned out we were a block short of where they told us to go. NOT great at 11pm at night. Look for the older morning staff instead of the much younger evening staff. They know their stuff, pick great restaurants (and know where they are).

Hotel is clean, but is showing its years. We had two rooms and the rooms themselves were clean, but small. One Ethernet connection in each room (no WIFI) so you better not have multiple devices. The bathrooms both head peeling paint on the woodwork below the tub (half glass shower doors) and one room had no seal at the bottom of the glass so you had to be super careful not to flood the room on a shower.

Cold breakfast (and toast) was included in the room rate, but hot breakfast was an extra 7 pounds or so. Seemed pricy for meat and eggs on a daily basis. The Cold breakfast of cereals, fruit, fresh juice, bread, etc was very filling.

Two problems to watch out for: we had to renew our room cards every day. Don't know why, but they only worked for 1 day. Kind of annoying. More importantly to us, they only put a bottom sheet on the beds and I never saw the comforters being taken to the wash. My wife had to remake our beds each day after asking for extra sheets. Never saw a hotel that did not offer a second sheet with a plain comforter. A sanitation issue.

Wifi in the lobby is spotty, but there are two PC's and a power station in the business center which are free to use.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VATraveler003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

we stayed at the Marylebone hotel for 3 days. it's a great location just 7 mins walk from the main shopping area of regent / bond / oxford street entrances. it's an extremely stylish hotel, wonderful neighbourhood and very pleasant. the rates that we had were also great value for money for the area that we were in. the only gripe we had was that the room (standard) was rather small and cramped. and the bathroom was nearly impossible to manouvere in. we are rather small built and we still found it so tiny that we could hardly move about in the bathroom. so i am wondering how the medium size and larger size guests work their way in the bathroom? a tip would be to opt for a deluxe or suite i gather. at the checkout counter i provided the feedback to the reception abt the small bathroom. then there was a guest checking in next to me and he insisted that he take a look at the various room options before he decided which one to stay in. I guess that's a solution huh?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshnaanandchips
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

This is overpriced for what you get. It's more of a business hotel and has recently been done up (the new fittings give off a bit of a 'new car smell'). Staff are helpful - and they need to be as we had to change rooms twice!!

First room - the bed had not been made or someone had been sitting on it watching TV (the remote control was lying in the middle of the bed and the pillows/covers weren't messed up). It was also tiny and really dark.

Second room was better - facing the street, light, compact. Then the card entry door stopped working so we had to get the staff to unlock it to get back in. They couldn't get it fixed so the next morning they moved us to another room.

Third room was lower down and dark but very spacious with extra frills (to make up for the inconvenience). Bathroom door didn't shut properly but we thought we'd moved enough!

In all cases, the staff were helpful but still...

Swimming pool in the basement is run by Virgin and gets very busy with hotel and non-hotel customers. Decent, functional but sporty (lane swimming) rather than for leisure/relaxing.

Great location. Go to Paul's bakery on the high street for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freshnaanandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#19 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#120 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone

Property: The Marylebone
Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in London
#24 Business Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of the finest hotels in London, The Marylebone is a haven of understated and contemporary luxury that turns even the briefest of stays into a genuine pleasure. Located five minutes walk from Bond Street Station in the heart of the fashionable Marylebone Village, the hotel offers a variety of guest rooms that are light filled with Italian marble bathrooms and contemporary furnishings. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and still and sparkling water. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to London's trendiest health club, The Third Space, with a fully equipped gym, 18m swimming pool, daily fitness classes and spa with a range of treatments from Dr. Murad. A variety of meeting and private dining rooms are available for social occasions and business events. The vibrant 108 Brasserie and 108 Pantry, combine bar and restaurant to provide chic all-day dining offering simple British dishes made from the finest locally sourced ingredients. Be sure and try a super healthy juice or smoothie from The Juicery at The Doyle Collection, also available across the three London hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marylebone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London
The Marylebone London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing