We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel, amazing neighborhood!”
Review of The Marylebone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Marylebone
Ranked #65 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed at The Marylebone Hotel from Dec 20-22rd, 2013.......it was a great experience. Ironically an even more special (and memorable one!) as the courteous staff there assisted me re: some initial drama (my deal, not the hotel) minutes after arriving at the hotel..........

Upon checking-in after a looooooong non-stop from Los Angeles to London, I realized my wallet was missing from my handbag. A very frightening realization.....as it had my entire life in it. Yes, everything from credit cards, healthcare cards and my California drivers license. Scariest part, this was only day 1 of my 23 day overseas trip. Fortunately I was carrying some cash in pounds sterling that I had placed in a separate envelope in my bag. Anyways........ I had a strong sense that left my wallet somewhere at the airport vs. it being stolen. Gunther at the front desk along with Rahim (manager) helped call around and yes, we finally tracked it down at Heathrow - a miracle in and of itself!

Since my room had already been fully paid for (at the time of my online booking!), they allowed me to still check in to a room. I quickly dropped stuff off in my room and jetted off back to Heathrow. I was able to retrieve my wallet - thanks to some very honest store owners at the arrival lounge (where I stopped to buy something before taking the Heathrow Express in to London).

Back at the hotel, finally at 9pm........I came straight to the front desk to put a credit card down for incidentals during my stay......and Gunther, with a smile on his face handed me another card along with my credit card and said "I think you might need this tonight".......it was a card (voucher) for a complimentary drink at the bar. Super thoughtful.

180 Bar/ Lounge + Restaurant: very charming, great staff and delicious food.
I ended up having a drink and dinner at the hotel that same night. Everything was great.......vibe, staff, menu + food. I ordered the fish n chips and yes, a drink - an amazing cocktail......made with fresh juices and tons of mint leaves!

Overall, loved the intimate + beautiful boutique feel of The Marylebone Hotel......had a really nice hotel room w/a smallish bathroom (smallish by American standards, not European). Random side note = loved all the fittings in the bathroom + heated floors. Also, enjoyed the spa downstairs, healthy smoothies/ fresh pressed juices @180 juice bar and appreciated the courteous staff. Marylebone itself is a great neighborhood in London. Marylebone High Street = very charming so do check the area out!

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend The Marylebone Hotel to anyone visiting London and considering booking a room here.........

Buon Voyage........

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaobella1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Amazing review, thank you! Your wonderful feedback is music to my ears and I am thrilled you had such a positive experience with us.

I am so sorry to hear that you lost your wallet, I can only imagine the nightmare you were faced with and I am very happy that it all worked out it the end. Our team really are people’s people, they enjoy being part of our guests’ experiences and will always help in any way they can, as in the case of Gunther and Rahim on concierge. I will most definitely be sharing your kind words and know they will be most appreciative.

Marylebone Village is indeed a very special spot in Town; it has the charm, vibrancy and quaintness of a real English Village with an abundance of brilliant independent little shops, café’s, bars and some great restaurants to boot. The Village also happens to be only 5 minutes from Oxford and Bond Street so it really does offer the best of both worlds.

I am thrilled you have already decided to return and very grateful for your personal recommendation. I hope we can be your home in London for many years to come and very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,001 - 2,007 of 3,616 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Elegant modern hotel. Excellent location, near shopping on Oxford Street and Marylebone Road, and the wonderful museum, the Wallace Collection. My room--737--was quiet. It was a bit small, but actually a good size compared to rooms in other London hotels I've stayed at. The swimming pool was a big--about 60 feet long and the gym facilities were good. The staff were helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHT1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay and very pleased that you would definitely stay with us again.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The staff are very courteous & obliging (esp. Gunther). The lounges & furnishings are tasteful & attractive. Location is excellent. The hotel caters well for both business & pleasure. The gym is convenient & well equipped. Rooms are comfortable & the tea & coffee making facilities welcome. We have no hesitation in recommending The Marylebone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com
1  Thank Annieboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest

I am thrilled we are your preferred choice in London, being a “home away from home” for our guests is our number one priority and your wonderful feedback is incredibly encouraging and motivating for us as a team.

I am very happy that you enjoyed everything about the Marylebone including the warmth and professionalism you received from our staff. I am very fortunate to be surrounded by a passionate and dedicated team, brilliant people like Gunther who loves nothing more than looking after our guests. Thank you for highlighting they’re and in particular Gunther’s service, we very much appreciate your kind words.

Thank you for choosing us and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife stayed in the hotel with our daughters. All the staff is very kind. In particular Gunther Schildwachter help them to improve our stay. Rooms were very comfortable. Location is excellent. In particular, one of our daughters forgot her phone in the room after we checked out and staff has very helpful in restoring it to us. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FinkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us, thank you for choosing the Marylebone.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your time in our company and particularly happy that our staff and the service you received made such a positive impression. Thank you for highlighting Gunther, he is a wonderful ambassador for our team, he genuinely cares about our guests and I know he will be delighted when I share your kind words.

I am delighted you will definitely be back and very much look forward to meeting you when you return.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Marylebone Hotel for a weekend a couple of weeks ago. The staff were very polite and happy to assist, the room was a great size for a city hotel and very clean. The location was great, Oxford Street and Marylebone High Street only minutes away. It was a perfect hotel for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Great review, thank you!

It was a pleasure to have you and your husband with us and I am thrilled you thought we were the “perfect” hotel for you. I hope we can be your “home away from home” whenever in town and please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally if I can ever assist in any way.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night to celebrate our anniversary and dine at one of our favourite restaurants nearby. The staff were attentive and extremely polite and professional. The room (a superior double) was well appointed and furnished to a high standard. Our room on the third floor was spacious and very quiet - amazing given how close to Oxford Street this hotel is. It is ideally situated for any visitor to London wanting to be right at the heart of the city.

Room Tip: 336 was our room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratomago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

A belated Happy Anniversary! I am delighted you chose us to celebrate such a special occasion.

I am thrilled you enjoyed our location, your room and most importantly the service you received from our team. Ultimately, we believe exceptional moments and experiences are always created by people and that our guests will want to return if, as a team, we can make them feel truly at home.

Thank you for writing about your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What a lovely hotel! The reception room was beautiful and the staff was courtesy and friendly. It had numerous sitting areas scattered around on the main floor. We especially loved the Red Room. The restaurant was nice and the food and staff were great. Kudos to the bartender for very good margarita's! The rooms were clean and very quiet. We will definitely be back and we will refer friends to this lovely hotel. It has a short walk to Oxford St., where you can shop,eat or catch the Underground tube.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DukeFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frits_potgieter, Manager at The Marylebone, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

I loved reading your review, thank you for writing and telling others about your time with us.

It was a real pleasure to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, from your room to our service and it’s brilliant you also had time to sample the food and drink in 108. We are on an exciting journey as we evolve our Food and Beverage offering and it is very motivating and encouraging when our guests comment so positively on their experiences.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope to meet you in person when you return.

Kind regards

Frits

Hotel Manager, The Marylebone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#171 of 1,076 in London
2,001 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#21 of 1,076 in London
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#60 of 1,076 in London
3,322 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,076 in London
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marylebone

Address: 47 Welbeck Street, London W1G 8DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in London
#28 Spa Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#62 Luxury Hotel in London
#67 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $247 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marylebone 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognised as one of the finest hotels in London, The Marylebone is a haven of understated and contemporary luxury that turns even the briefest of stays into a genuine pleasure. Located five minutes walk from Bond Street Station in the heart of the fashionable Marylebone Village, the hotel offers a variety of guest rooms that are light filled with Italian marble bathrooms and contemporary furnishings. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and still and sparkling water. Guests can enjoy complimentary access to London's trendiest health club, The Third Space, with a fully equipped gym, 18m swimming pool, daily fitness classes and spa with a range of treatments from Dr. Murad. A variety of meeting and private dining rooms are available for social occasions and business events. The vibrant 108 Brasserie and 108 Pantry, combine bar and restaurant to provide chic all-day dining offering simple British dishes made from the finest locally sourced ingredients. Be sure and try a super healthy juice or smoothie from The Juicery at The Doyle Collection, also available across the three London hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Marylebone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marylebone Hotel London
The Marylebone London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing