We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just The Location Nothing Else....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clearlake Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clearlake Hotel
Ranked #901 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just The Location Nothing Else....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Centrally located in Kensigton High Street bang opp Hyde park and a 8 min walk to the tube
1 min walk to the busstop.
very shabby hotel needs renovation with smelly carpets.
Room large with attached bath and kitchenet had a grill, fridge and kettle.
24 hours hot water and free wifi.
value for money what else do you get in 60pounds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    7
    4
    11
See reviews for
6
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

We made a reservation for a studio apartment but upon arrival were told that it wasn't available. instead we got a bigger but neglected basement apartment. The windows opening to a closed yard, a dead cockroach in wardrobe drawer, locked doors leading nowhere - it was unpleasant to say the least. only good thing - the bed linen were clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

We found the Clearlake to be a good budget hotel. Its true that it is shabby but we found it to be fairly clean and you couldn't ask for a better location. We have been to London many times and we had always stayed on the other side of Hyde Park so we were pleasantly surprised by the easy access to shops, transport and museums etc. We didn't mind the fact that there was no breakfast because there were cooking facilities in our little apartment so we could make tea and coffee etc. Although there was not much in the way of cook wear or crockery. We paid 70 pounds per night for a studio apartment which we felt was very reasonable. Its no Hilton that's for sure but we really only wanted somewhere reasonably priced and convenient and it was fairly clean. It was a bit 'Fawlty Towers'!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherryHoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

we came for 5 nights and stay only 2 - we couldn't stand this place.
we got the appartment on -1 floor ..the appartment was very big (for 5 people), but it wasn't clean at all.
the smell was terrible. no air. old...
the smell of the carpets - disgusting!!!!!!!!
the water in the toilet didn't washed properly
we didn't have hot water in the shower at first (but the hotel fix it fast)
the location is great, and the area in lovely
maybe the other rooms are better.. hope so.
sorry for my english.. good luck

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIMDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozarks
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

My 21 yr old daughter and I stayed here June, 2008. Thanks to the reviews on this site, we expected what we got: budget accommodations with a separate kitchen and bath, horrible decor and old carpets/wall paper, and only somewhat clean. The linens were clean but frayed, the bathroom was fairly clean, but because it was warm and there is no a.c., the windows were left open a lot. London air is dirty, and all surfaces collect dust, which the cleaning people do not take care of.

The location is great - 5 minutes walk from Kensington High underground station, close to groceries stores, and Naz, the main front desk help, was great for information and extra help.

Don't stay here if you're fussy about desk and room condition, but for a small funky apt,. it's great.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — not clean, old stained wall paper and carpet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trying4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

We did not actually stay at the Clearlake because in a three week period, our quoted rate for the same room went from 85 pounds per night to 90 and then topped off at 92 and some change. This after we'd sent one CC number, which they then said they couldn't accept (it was Discover). When we emailed back with another number, we had no response for days. Then, when we finally heard something, it was from a different person who upped the rate. The third and final email upped the rate again and also informed us that two of our nights were no longer available--so more per night for a shorter stay.

We chose to look elsewhere at that point.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank kimmmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

Although these apartments are not as up to date as some hotels I really couldn't find a problem with them. I've stayed several times, every time coming away happy. The rooms are clean. The wallpaper and carpets may be shabby but that doesn't bother me because I don't go on holiday to stare at wallpaper and carpets! It is EXACTLY what I am looking for. Cheap, convienent to tube and good shops. The staff are VERY friendly and helpful.
While I do recommend the Clearlake the one downside is the fact that there's no breakfast. I found an Italian restaurant just down the road that does a lovely fry-up though!


When I come to London again, this will be my first choice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Breakfast!
  • Tips/Secrets — They show you a few rooms (depending on availability) so you can pick which you like the best/
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank RockDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
51 Kensington Court Limited
51 Kensington Court Limited
#695 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#489 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
South Kensington
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#96 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#337 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#37 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearlake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearlake Hotel

Property: Clearlake Hotel
Address: 18-19 Prince of Wales Terrace | Kensington, London W8 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #901 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Clearlake Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing