We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but traffic noise terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Ranked #475 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a lovely hotel and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent. The room was very clean and modern. The only thing to spoil our stay was the terribly loud traffic noise as our room was at the front of the hotel. I think double glazing is a necessity in this hotel. We would go back , but would request a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel. We were in room 402 at the front of the hotel and it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Gina K,
Thank you for your review of Bloomsbury Park after your stay with us. I am glad that your stay left a good impression overall but obviously was sad to read that you did not have the best nights sleep possible. I can assure you that we are investing in the product constantly and hope to continue making strides in a positive direction. I am glad that you will stay with us again so that we might demonstrate our advances in person.
Kind regards,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were visiting the British Museum for an exhibition, so chose this small hotel on Southampton Row.
Our room on the fourth floor was small (not the smallest we have encountered in London) however, it had everything we needed, a small double bed (very comfy) good linens and modern furniture, two easy chairs and flat screen T.V. The bathroom was tiny,with a shower,sink and toilet they all worked and we managed. It also had a FAN - much needed during this spell of very warm weather- be aware there is no a/c, this did not detract from our enjoyment of staying here.

The breakfast was fine, offering cereals, fruit, cheese and cold meat along with a hot buffet selection, breads, pancakes and pastries.

The added value here was the staff, every member we encountered were helpful and efficient.
The restaurant staff were especially nice remembering one each day and asking about your activities, without it being detrimental to the level of service. staff also enquired the quality of sleep & whether we had enough fans etc., it was v.very hot.

We found that the position was great for the museum, and central London,we walked everywhere. there were lots of cafes and restaurants near by with outside seating for the cooler hours..

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Briel,
Thank you for your kind words after your recent stay with us at Bloomsbury Park. I am delighted that your stay with us was so positive and that you think so highly of our team. I hope that you will return to London and ourselves in the future!
kind regards,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 nights in London as we had tickets for LadyGaGa at Twickenham. The hotel was fine for our busy schedule. The room was small but a decent size for the two of us. Bathroom a little small and shower a little dated but done the trick for what we needed as were spending most of our days sighseeing!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Amie P,
Thank you for reviewing Bloomsbury Park after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your overall impression of the hotel is a positive one. Hopefully we will see you next time you are in London whether that be for a concert or otherwise!
Many thanks,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last October as part of our European trip. The location was great it was very close to the Holborn tube station. This was a main station and can take you just about
anywhere. It's two tubes stops away from Piccadilly Circus.
There also is a large grocery store on the corner across the street if you need any snacks or drinks. We got to our hotel
before checking so the front desk secured our luggage for us and we visited the British Museum. We found the front
desk people to be very helpful. We even were given free Wi-Fi. Our room looked out onto an alley that had a couple pubs on it. We visited one of those and we really enjoyed our time there. Our room was small, but
that was expected. It was clean and comfortable and worked well for us. The hotel had an
authentic English feel to it and was very charming. This by no means was a luxury hotel. But
we loved it nonetheless and would stay there again when in London.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbum0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Beachbum0626,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Bloomsbury Park as much as you did. I am glad that the free Wifi we provide is making a difference and of course that the team looked after you so well. It is great to hear that you will return to us in the future and I hope that is soon,
Kind regards,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and me took a short "second honeymoon" in London from the 1st to the 5th of July 2013 and stayed here.
Very welcoming staff at the reception, excellent size rooms on the 6th floor, great ventilation, good size washrooms, very comfortable beds and housekeeping that is impeccable.
The highlight is the restaurant which serves a hearty breakfast with a very hospitable manager Kaizer...who himself along with his staff ensure that you eat breakfast like a king...
Kudos to Team Bloomsbury Park

Room Tip: Stay in a room that does NOT face South Hampton Row
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imraansurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Imraansurve,
Thank you for taking the time to review Bloomsbury Park. I am delighted that your stay was such a wonderful one and have personally passed on my thanks to Kaizer and his restaurant team. We are all very proud to have made such an important occasion one to remember for all the right reasons; should you have a 3rd honeymoon you know where to come!
Many thanks,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel while in London for a conference and I can certainly recommend it because of its convenient location and cleanliness. it is a 3' walk to Russell Sq metro and a 15 min walk to the river Thames and max 20' to Piccadilly Circus or Oxford Circus.
The hotel is however quite expensive considering the size of the rooms. If you need your gadgets or work from your hotel room make sure you get free wifi included!
Breakfast was okay, on the greasy side.

Room Tip: Would prefer rooms not facing directly Southampton Row, which can have quite some traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Scan_traveller,
Thank you for reviewing Bloomsbury park after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall your impression was a positive one. I know the prices were slightly higher than usual during the timing of your stay owing to London being exceptionally busy but I would encourage you to continue using us as we price ourselves as competitively as possible. I can also confirm that Wifi is free in all of our hotels and we are continually investing in the in-room technology - watch this space!
Kind regards,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay in July to visit London and a day at Wimbledon tennis. Staff were exceptional in their attitude and were so friendly and helpful. Double room was spotlessly clean and very quiet on 2nd floor. Bathroom clean and toiletries replenished daily.
No air con but very large fan provided and this kept the room lovely and cool ( probably better than air con)
Breakfast was superb and in lovely restaurant area, staff excellent.
Ideal location for covent garden, theatres etc. only 5 minute walk away. 2 tube stations, Holborn and Russell Square both only a few minutes walk away.
Also near a pick up point for open top bus tours.
Although this hotel is on a main road it is in a safe, quiet area and we would definitely stay there again when visiting London.
Not over priced like many in similar locations. Well Done Bloomsbury Park, you made our visit a pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as some overlook the main road. No air con in rooms but honestly the fan is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 366DavidR366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear 366DavidR366,
Thank you for your kind words in the review you left after your recent stay at Bloomsbury Park. It was with great delight that the team and I read how special your trip to London had been. We hope to see you many times in the future.
Many thanks,
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#392 of 1,077 in London
2,177 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#356 of 1,077 in London
833 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#669 of 1,077 in London
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Bloomsbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#325 Romantic Hotel in London
#327 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $116 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing