We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Ranked #409 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a short stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner and I spent 3 nights in London as we had tickets for LadyGaGa at Twickenham. The hotel was fine for our busy schedule. The room was small but a decent size for the two of us. Bathroom a little small and shower a little dated but done the trick for what we needed as were spending most of our days sighseeing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Amie P,
Thank you for reviewing Bloomsbury Park after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your overall impression of the hotel is a positive one. Hopefully we will see you next time you are in London whether that be for a concert or otherwise!
Many thanks,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    427
    168
    52
    28
See reviews for
180
329
53
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland, oh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last October as part of our European trip. The location was great it was very close to the Holborn tube station. This was a main station and can take you just about
anywhere. It's two tubes stops away from Piccadilly Circus.
There also is a large grocery store on the corner across the street if you need any snacks or drinks. We got to our hotel
before checking so the front desk secured our luggage for us and we visited the British Museum. We found the front
desk people to be very helpful. We even were given free Wi-Fi. Our room looked out onto an alley that had a couple pubs on it. We visited one of those and we really enjoyed our time there. Our room was small, but
that was expected. It was clean and comfortable and worked well for us. The hotel had an
authentic English feel to it and was very charming. This by no means was a luxury hotel. But
we loved it nonetheless and would stay there again when in London.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbum0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Beachbum0626,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Bloomsbury Park as much as you did. I am glad that the free Wifi we provide is making a difference and of course that the team looked after you so well. It is great to hear that you will return to us in the future and I hope that is soon,
Kind regards,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and me took a short "second honeymoon" in London from the 1st to the 5th of July 2013 and stayed here.
Very welcoming staff at the reception, excellent size rooms on the 6th floor, great ventilation, good size washrooms, very comfortable beds and housekeeping that is impeccable.
The highlight is the restaurant which serves a hearty breakfast with a very hospitable manager Kaizer...who himself along with his staff ensure that you eat breakfast like a king...
Kudos to Team Bloomsbury Park

Room Tip: Stay in a room that does NOT face South Hampton Row
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imraansurve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Imraansurve,
Thank you for taking the time to review Bloomsbury Park. I am delighted that your stay was such a wonderful one and have personally passed on my thanks to Kaizer and his restaurant team. We are all very proud to have made such an important occasion one to remember for all the right reasons; should you have a 3rd honeymoon you know where to come!
Many thanks,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel while in London for a conference and I can certainly recommend it because of its convenient location and cleanliness. it is a 3' walk to Russell Sq metro and a 15 min walk to the river Thames and max 20' to Piccadilly Circus or Oxford Circus.
The hotel is however quite expensive considering the size of the rooms. If you need your gadgets or work from your hotel room make sure you get free wifi included!
Breakfast was okay, on the greasy side.

Room Tip: Would prefer rooms not facing directly Southampton Row, which can have quite some traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scan_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Scan_traveller,
Thank you for reviewing Bloomsbury park after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall your impression was a positive one. I know the prices were slightly higher than usual during the timing of your stay owing to London being exceptionally busy but I would encourage you to continue using us as we price ourselves as competitively as possible. I can also confirm that Wifi is free in all of our hotels and we are continually investing in the in-room technology - watch this space!
Kind regards,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay in July to visit London and a day at Wimbledon tennis. Staff were exceptional in their attitude and were so friendly and helpful. Double room was spotlessly clean and very quiet on 2nd floor. Bathroom clean and toiletries replenished daily.
No air con but very large fan provided and this kept the room lovely and cool ( probably better than air con)
Breakfast was superb and in lovely restaurant area, staff excellent.
Ideal location for covent garden, theatres etc. only 5 minute walk away. 2 tube stations, Holborn and Russell Square both only a few minutes walk away.
Also near a pick up point for open top bus tours.
Although this hotel is on a main road it is in a safe, quiet area and we would definitely stay there again when visiting London.
Not over priced like many in similar locations. Well Done Bloomsbury Park, you made our visit a pleasure!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as some overlook the main road. No air con in rooms but honestly the fan is bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 366DavidR366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear 366DavidR366,
Thank you for your kind words in the review you left after your recent stay at Bloomsbury Park. It was with great delight that the team and I read how special your trip to London had been. We hope to see you many times in the future.
Many thanks,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for a one night stay for seven of us for a hen party. We have just returned from a lovely nights stay at this hotel. From the start the hotel were so helpful, being able to accommodate an extra pull out in one of the rooms for a small extra charge. The staff are very helpful and attentive, even printing off walking directions for us to the theatre and organising a taxi for our evening out. The hotel is in a great quiet location, which is perfect for the west end within walking distance, perfect to enjoy the lovely sunny weather we have right now !
Breakfast was great, with a lovely choice of food. The one downside is no air con in the rooms, although a fan was provided, plus we did stay on the hottest day of the year so far !
However I would definitely recommend this hotel, fantastic location and good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear e1982,
I was delighted to read that you had such a great time here at Bloomsbury Park. It is always a pleasure to hear from guests after their stay with us - particularly when it was as positive as yours! We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind regards,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my Mum for three nights. Good location, lovely breakfasts and very clean. Unfortunately it's very expensive for the size of the rooms. Private rooms in hostels far better value as they are not dissimilar in size. Seems like London accommodation is overpriced everywhere so it's comparably pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dece83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsBloomsburyPark, Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Dece83,
Thank you for leaving a review with us after your recent stay in London. Whilst I am happy that we compare favourably to other hotels in London I was sad to read that we did meet all of your expectations on this occasion. Should you ever be returning to London I would encourage you to contact me directly as I would welcome the opportunity to better impress you in the future.
Kind regards,
Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#337 of 1,088 in London
2,012 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#286 of 1,088 in London
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#462 of 1,088 in London
511 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Bloomsbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Property: Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing