We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC GIRLY WEEKEND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Ranked #407 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Rainhill Merseyside
Level Contributor
179 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC GIRLY WEEKEND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from a girly weekend in london, staying here with 5 friends in 3 twin rooms. This hotel is a real gem - brilliant location, staff really friendly, rooms perfect, beds uber comfortable. Could not rate this hotel more highly. We got a great deal on the room prices and the location was close to all our favourite haunts including Covent Garden and the West End. Will be making a return trip soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiantiSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, General Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to feedback on recent stay with us. The team and I are always delighted to hear from satisfied guests and look forwards to seeing you back here soon!
Kind regards,
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    423
    167
    51
    28
See reviews for
178
325
53
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

All I can say is that I highly recommend this hotel. I have just returned from a city break in London to see a show. We booked the hotel as it came up as best value for money in a great location. If you want a clean, comfortable hotel, with friendly, accommodating staff then book this hotel. It is within easy walking distance from Covent Garden, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, etc, etc. It has two tube stations within a minute or so walk, and has a large Sainsbury's local just 2 minutes down the road.
Thank you for being great value in central London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke1987England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, General Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Luke,
Thank you for your recent review of Bloomsbury Park. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay and benefitted from our fantastic location. I have shared the comments with all the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
263 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We sytayed 2 nights in a very comfortable twin room on the inside of the hotel, ensuring a very quiet night in the centre of a very busy city. Fast intenet, firm beds and curtious staff will make us come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, General Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear John,
Thanks for your great review of Bloomsbury Park. I was delighted to read that you had a good stay, enjoyed the levels of hospitality and the free wifi. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night and have been really pleased with our stay.
We arrived early and the room was not ready but the sTaff were very helpful and happy to hold our bags.
A very late night visit to the bar and check in during the early hours again found very friendly staff - with the bar man joining in with our slightly drunken banter.
Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet options but tastier and better cooked than many, also was nice and hot rather than the typical lukewarm fare. Scrambled eggs were particularly tasty and bacon was crispy.
Restaurant is quite small which makes it feel more intimate and personal than many hotels.
Room was large and very quiet, no body neighbours waking us up. Very small gripe, we only had three pillows between two but they are puffier than usual so this was okay.
Had a peek at the cellar bar too which has a lively atmosphere and would be great for a party.
Location couldn't be better either, covent garden is a 10 minute stroll away and holborn just a couple of minutes.
Well recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chic2geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, General Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Chic2geek

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your warm review of Bloomsbury Park, a Thistle Associate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read positive reviews from our guests and your comments will be shared with the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed at the Bloomsbury Park as needed a hotel near to GOSH, so booked a Family Room - was surprised to find, in fact, that this was a pokey double room with 3 single beds in it. I was surprised to find that the 'family' room was also not provided with a bath, instead it 'benefited' from a tiny shower.

There was an astonishing lack of detail to the decoration with paintwork that didn't even bother trying to get near to staying within the edges right across the hotel, and room that had had repairs that had been given no attention to detail whatsoever.

Staff were polite, and friendly, but also lacking in any attention to the customer. When asked 'How was your room', we pointed out issues and the staff member responded 'On well, hopefully you will stay with us next time you are in London'. Not a chance.

If you are a family needing a hotel before an appointment at GOSH give this place a wide berth, the family room is totally unsuitable, as it appears to be designed for 3 stags or hens in London on a budget, needing 3 beds, a shower, Wifi and nothing else whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JC5415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, General Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us at Bloomsbury Park. Naturally I was disappointed to read that you did not have the most enjoyable of stays. I would welcome the opportunity to improve your impression of the hotel, and can be contacted directly at glenn.hallam@thistle.co.uk.

Best Regards
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Don't be misled by the Edaardian exterior, the roooms have all been modernised. I had a single with an extremely comfrtable bed and good bathroom. The rooom was very quiet, overlooking a light well. It was extremely clean and had a safe, but was a bit small, with nowhere to put baggage. Reception was pleasant and efficient. Location is good, a few minutes walk from the British Museum, underground lines for central London and Heathrow or the extremely useful 39 bus for Piccadilly and Victoria. The buffet breakfast was an extra 10GBP - definitely ovepriced, but not much choice locally if you want a real English breakfast. But there is a Starbucks nearby... I booked through Orbitz and paid $103 - what you usually have to pay for a real dump in London (their website is much more expensive). Highly recommended if you dont mind not being right in the heart of things.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, General Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Frankwil,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay with us at Bloomsbury Park. I am delighted that your stay was a positive one. I would encourage you to try our breakfast should you stay with us in the future with an abundance of hot and cold choices!. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at the Bloomsbury Park, whilst on a short break with another couple, the hotel room was a very good size, we had two single beds, ample space to move around, two chairs in the room.
Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, hot, cold, continental, full english and ample seating.
Reception staff very pleasent, and very helpful, all made for a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue622k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerHotelManager, General Manager at Thistle Bloomsbury Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Sue622K,

Thank you for your recent review of Bloomsbury Park. It is always a pleasure to read and share with the team positive reviews. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Many thanks,
Glenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#329 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#302 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#446 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#55 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Bloomsbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Bloomsbury Park

Property: Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Address: 126 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#326 Romantic Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Bloomsbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thistle Bloomsbury Park is the perfect base from which to explore this vibrant area of Central London, Within walking distance of The British Museum, Covent Garden and West End Theatres. Several famous formal squares and gardens are on our doorstep, with great transport links provided by Russell Square or Holborn Tube stations. Bloomsbury Park makes it home in a beautiful Edwardian building, and our comfortable rooms and friendly service will ensure a great stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Thistle Bloomsbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Bloomsbury Park London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing