We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #635 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Close to Paddington Station, easy to get to hotel during the day and the night.Few minutes bus drive from Oxford street, hyde park and notting hill.
The hotel is cleaned every day. The triple room was specious and bright. The bathroom is a bit small but it's not a big disadvantage. English breakfast is served in the morning. The hotel was very warm, considering cold outside that was really great.
For a few days stay in London it is definitely recommendable. The only thing that I did not like was the fact that I did not have a key to the front doors and it was a pain to wait every time for somebody to open them for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    140
    128
    44
    26
See reviews for
108
68
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are just returning from a 4 day stay in london. We booked a double en-suite room at The Belvedere Hotel in Paddington. The hotel itself is nothing posh but accomodates what you need for afew days in the capital. The room was a mixture of old/new. The bedsheets and pillows were spotless, bathroom spot on and we had tea/coffee, hairdryer and trouser press in room. The breakfast consists of tea,coffee,toast,fruit juice, cereal and cooked breakfast of sausage, bacon,egg & beans (what more do you need), all served promptly and politely by the staff. The hotel is in a great location, plenty shops and eating out places within 3 minutes walk. The bus to oxford street takes 6 mins (bus numbers 7, 23 & 159). Buy an oyster card as its flat fare of £1.40 but once you've scanned it 4 times it classes it as a dayticket at £4.40. The area that the hotel is in is pleasent and we felt most comfortable walking around the area. Possibly the only down side to hotel is the sound of the tube underground, as a light sleeper this was something i was dreading but we were on 1st floor and sound wasnt that bad and did not disrupt myself getting to sleep. Its not the ritz but compared to some places we have stayed in years ago in london it was clean, comfortable, good breakfast and the heating in our room was switched on at all times. We got a good deal on internet at £59 per nite for the room and including breakfast, would book this hotel again

Room Tip: Request on your booking 'Quiet Room, 1st floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirsty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There are so many places to stay along the Tube in London, take an extra 5 minute ride and find something better. We walked around Paddington and found several other hotels which looked more modern and had advertisements in the window for a lower price (too bad they are not on the internet!).

The rooms we had were on the 3rd and 4th floor, with no elevator that was the first ugh after a long day of travel having to lug up luggage. The next ugh was opening the door and seeing a closet! I stayed at a different hotel at Gloucester Road that was similar priced but the room looked like a suite compared to this!

Now I wasn't here to stay in the room for my trip but we had to go to the Pub to get enough pints to be able to come back and pass out since it was so tiny. Good thing we stayed in 2 other locations and only had to be here for 2 nights...anything longer and I would have had pulled a muscle from moving my luggage around so I could sleep!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jahm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My room at Belvedere still makes me laugh! I booked online and after booking, I received an email from the Hotel welcoming me etc (that’s always nice)! I emailed back and asked if I could have a room closest to the main level because it was the very end of a 5-week Europe trip and my luggage was ridiculously heavy to load up and down without an elevator. He offered to either hold my luggage on the main floor or put me one floor below. So…there is a basement level to this hotel which is very unique! I love staying in places that are crazy different…as long as its clean, I don’t care! He warned me that I’d be able to hear the Tube because the hotel is right next to the line. I told him I had earplugs so it didn’t matter. And omg! He put me in the basement - my luggage made it down about 15 stairs – and I laughed out loud. The room was tiny, not a tiny as NYC, but it was tiny. If my luggage was on the floor, then my feet had to be on the bed. It was clean and that’s all I cared about. People, if you are in London and are in your room more than just sleeping then you’re doing something wrong! After a few minutes, I heard the train go by. Maybe he built it up in my head but I didn’t think it was that bad. The train stops running at 2am and I had ear plugs so I honestly slept the whole night no problem. The next morning, the same guy at the desk asked how I slept and I said “great, 9 hours!”. His response “seriously??” So if you’re going to be a picky and complainy person, find another place. This is for the people that love to have an adventure!

Room Tip: The basement is a risk...but a fun experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel was a pleasure to stay in. very central London, In a very nice part of Paddington. Loads of shops bars restaurants all with in seconds of the hotel. I got a lovely single room with ensuite including breakfast which was a cooked breakfast. The hotel was spotless clean & staff very helpful. I would certainly return to this hotel. To get the quality I got from this hotel in London I would have expected to pay double what I paid. so well done Belvedere for keeping your prices down but your quality high. A diamond in the rough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glasgowcici2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
senica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

for everyone who wants to be close to centre is The Belvedere right choice. My room number 27 (single) has own bathroom, room was very clean, everyday clear towels, absolutely satisfied. Very friendly staff. Very good english breakfast - very friendly kitchen staff.
I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: 27 - single
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artur k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My mum and I stayed for 2 nights, twin room for £89.50/night which we both thought was great value, room was very clean, fresh towels that were replaced on the 2nd day, the room was nice and warm, good Tv, hairdryer etc. Breakfast was good, full english with toast, cereal, OJ, tea, coffee, great service from the staff who couldn't help enough to make the stay as pleasant as possible. If you arrive early you can leave your bags in the reception until the room is ready and likewise on your departure day they let you leave your bags after checkout and you can collect them later. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#709 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Falcon Hotel
#658 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#623 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#588 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Shakespeare Hotel
#613 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#390 of 1,066 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 52-54 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #635 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Belvedere 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel London
Belvedere Hotel London
The Belvedere London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing