We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and over priced”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #673 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having read Tripadvisor reports I booked this hotel for my two night business trip to London. All I can say is that who ever wrote the reviews must have booked into a different hotel. For £70 a night I was very disappointed. I was on the 4th floor with no lift and laundry bags left on the stair case. The bathoom was tiny, the bed was uncomfortable, could hear conversations and TV in room either side of me, no hot water for shower during the afternoon. The breakfast was OK but the full English consisted of only a piece of bacon, one egg, one cheap hotdog sausage, cheap baked beans and toast. I appreciate this is a budget hotel but really not £140 well spent.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevePJ35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (443)
There are newer reviews for The Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 443 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This was my second time at the Belvedere and for location and value for money I just don't think it can be beaten. My room was slightly smaller than my first stay but I would still definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Author007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I received a friendly welcome to the hotel at reception. The staff, and a man who I am guessing is the manager/owner, were all very helpful. The hotel itself could do with a wee lick of paint, but for the price paid I can't really complain! The room I was given is small and below street level (room 1). It was quite cold, with a thin blanket on the bed and disturbed regularly by the underground trains passing. The room was reasonably clean, minus a couple of squashed spiders on the walls, but again, the hotel was very cheap for it's location!
Overall - a fine hotel to stay in for a night or two if you need something cheap, but I would request a room on one of the upper floors!

Room Tip: Anything above ground! Room 1 is tiny and the subway passes regularly.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

In general I found this hotel very simple, but nice. I have booked a single room that was so tiny that it's even hard to call it a "room". However, a "room" was clean and good enough for someone who is going to see the city and not to spend too much time in the hotel. The breakfast is basic, but good enough to start the day. The staff was friendly and helpful, the price was reasonable. The hotel is in a walking distance to Oxford Street (good shopping area) and public transport is just next to the hotel. The area is not the pleasant one and doesn't look safe and, as I was traveling alone, I felt a little unsafe when going to the hotel in the dark (9 pm). In conclusion, if you are looking for a budget hotel I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in a higher floors are more quiet. However, there is no lift so some effort must be maid to ta...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at this property for 2 nights in late September.
The room I was allotted was on the 4th floor - A steep climb up a very narrow staircase, not for the faint hearted!
My room was minuscule, with barely enough space to keep my small suitcase.
The owners should consider removing the desk and keeping a small table instead - Will allow more space in the room
The bathroom was even smaller - A toilet, a sink and a shower stall, all squeezed into a broom closet sized space.
However, the room and bathroom were neat, clean and airy.
The bedding was clean with clean sheets and towels.
The breakfast was more than adequate - Good spread.
Special mention for the staff manning the Front Desk - Mansoor was very friendly and knowledgeable and helpful. It looked like the man never slept - Early in the morning he was there, late at night he was there!
Overall - Though the room was very small it was good value for money.
On a small budget this is worth it specially if you are using the hotel room just to bathe and sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinayAsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked last minute through trivago for three nights in a standard double room with my girlfriend, as an alternative to a week abroad. The hotel was cheaper than some which were much further away from central London. It is in a great location, in the reasonably upmarket area of Paddington (Underground Zone 1), and just round the corner from the rail/ underground station with plenty of pubs, shops and places to eat nearby.

We arrived at the hotel at 1.45pm (15 minutes before check-in time). They checked us in anyway no problem and the receptionist told me he had given us a free room upgrade. We now had an classy ground floor ensuite room with a large television, nice bathroom, large wardrobe and large fireplace (it just looked nice!). Me and my girlfriend are both 20 and it was a big gesture for us to be treated as adults. The assumption at some hotels is that young people are troublemakers.

The hotel seemed ideal for every type of visitor, there were English families, foreign families and couples. Although the hotel seemed reasonably full judging from the amount of people in the breakfast room there was very little noise despite us being on the ground floor and next to reception. There is a slight noise when the tube goes past underground if you are on the ground floor, but not enough to disturb my sleep at all.

Rooms are cleaned promptly, we left for Oxford Street shortly after breakfast around quarter to ten one morning. When we returned around twelve to drop our bags the beds had been made and new towels provided.

We chose the hotel because there was a breakfast included, but we didn't know it was a full English breakfast. It was an excellent service. The only bad word I can say against the hotel was that towards the end of the time breakfast is served, there is often a queue for a table, however we were warned about this when we checked in and chose to ignore it, and were waiting five minutes maximum just one morning.

Maybe we just got lucky with the room, but we booked this hotel because it was the cheapest we could find close to central London that included breakfast and we didn't expect much We were blown away by the room, the service and the breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and i stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in august. It was lovely and clean, we arrived 30mins early to find our room ready and waiting for us, so we could get on with our break asap. The man on reception was very nice and very helpfull. Nothing was too much trouble he, gave us a map which was very helpfull and even called a cab for us to take us back to the station at the end of our visit! The room was very clean and a good size, it was a quad and on the ground floor. Breakfast was very good and staff serving were very efficient and polite. We will certainly stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#812 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#618 of 1,072 in London
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#654 of 1,072 in London
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
easyHotel Paddington London
easyHotel Paddington London
#655 of 1,072 in London
858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#537 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#688 of 1,072 in London
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 52-54 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #673 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $77 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Belvedere 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel London
Belvedere Hotel London
The Belvedere London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing