We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hallam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallam Hotel
Ranked #1,018 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location - Average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location was great, only 5 minutes walk from Oxford street and from a subway station.

The hotel it self was not so good. The service was all right. One staff member were great and was ready to help us with everything, he even got us ride from the airport. Another staff member was pretty rude, he could not put up smile once.

But overall, the hotel was a good choice. Got it for a good value and the location was the only thing that mattered for me in this trip, cause the time I had was not so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddavidavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    64
    47
    157
See reviews for
30
57
58
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This small family runned hotel in the city centre of London is quite cheap for London standards. But the horrific stories i read here before didn't come true. The room was okay there was no noise and we could take a proper shower, though we could see the cleaning didn't have top priority, we had a comfortable stay. Just dont expect too much if you don't pay too much either....

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Let's start by saying that the hotel manager promised me, one month ago in a mail, to refund half of the price I paid for the night, and I still haven't seen any refund. You might wonder, why I should be refunded? Well, because in my room I only had boiling hot shower and I had to go to the basement to take a shower, all covered in soap and just with a towel around my hips. All this in front of people who were having their breakfast... I would have burst into laughter at the absurdity of the scene, if I hadn't been so angry. On top of that, the "cabin room" where I slept in was like a coffin: 2.5-meter long by 1.5 meter wide, you really feel burried in it. I wouldn't recommend the hotel even to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maurizio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The place was a complete and utter dump. There were rodent droppings on the floor, no hot water, the room was dirty/dingy, old and outdated furnishings, leaking water pipe in the bathroom, staff was very uninformative, phone in room didn't work, noise from kitchen at early hour, as well as noise from the laundry room. Wasn't sure if the sheets on the bed were clean, so I asked for a clean set to put on top. Have requested a refund for the nights that were paid in advance, as I relocated after one night at Hallam Hotel, and have had no response from management. Very poor conditions and even worse management. They don't even have the decency to responde to my emails or faxes, and I haven't been able to catch the manager on duty for a phone conversation.

Room Tip: Don't bother! It's a dump; there are no good rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleMcT1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I turned up to stay in this hotel and was appalled to be given a room which was already inhabited or just not made up - either way the standard was abysmal. The furnishings were worse than a cheap caravan. The reception area was filthy and and in the corridor here was a woman sitting who looked like she was surveying the men coming in to service her females. I left - horrified that this place masquerades as a hotel in the UK - filthy, unpleasant staff, horrid rooms and not that cheap considering what they expect you to accept. As for feedback - I care not what the management say - they are clearly not BRITISH in their attitude to hospitality, cleanliness and should not be in this trade.

Room Tip: Just stay away! sadly I did not take a photo as I just wanted to get away it was that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizaliddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend were in London for the night to see a show and just wanted somewhere basic to bed down for the night. Well there is basic, and then there's this place... Our room was downstairs and the first thing that struck us was the smell which was absolutely horrific. You could barely move in the bathroom which was filthy. Had to wait a good 5 minutes for the shower to go warm. Arrived back from our evening out to a FREEZING cold room. Turned the two radiators on. My boyfriend got up in the middle of the night to use the toilet to find the bathroom half flooded, the radiator leaking everywhere. Couldn't even shower in the morning. How anyone could even think about eating breakfast here is beyond me. We aren't fussy people, and we weren't expecting 5 star by any means, but we were at least expecting a clean, warm room that we could shower in and a breakfast that was edible. Upon complaining about the leak etc at checkout we were told in broken English that we still could have showered!! Not so much as a sorry!! I wouldn't stay here again if THEY paid ME to return. Absolute hellhole.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

awful place I am sure I went into the shower cleaner than I came out! cold, mouldy and shabby, staff didn't understand English, there were pubic hairs in the bath and used soap also with hairs on. I shared my breakfast with ants!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#578 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#518 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#722 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#870 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#493 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#750 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallam Hotel

Property: Hallam Hotel
Address: 12 Hallam Street | Westminster, London W1N 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,018 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hallam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallam Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing