We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel from Hell!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Craven Gardens Hotel

Craven Gardens Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craven Gardens Hotel
Ranked #875 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel from Hell!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

1) There was no natural light at all

2) The windows handles were nearly all broken and made opening them difficult (fire risk)

3) If you managed to open the window all you could see was pitch black and hear the sound of little rodent feet (which we heard at numerous points through the night)

4) The light was hanging from the ceiling with wires showing

5) The walls were bubbling and peeling

6) Some area’s of the wall had no paint left on at all

7) The television on the wall had a wire hanging onto the bed below and didn’t look very secure

8) There were a number of screws sticking out the wall in the room and “en-suite”

9) The shower sprayed directly onto the wall opposite with no way of redirecting it downwards to actually hit a person

10) The shower door did not close

11) There was no hook on the bathroom wall but was a metal surround showing where one may have once existed, I know this as I scratched my arm on it whilst getting changed!

12) The Scotia around the bottom of the flooring went about a metre around the floor then disappeared and grime replaced it

13) The handle on the wardrobe was broken

14) The carpet leading to the basement had a number of mats over it and was clearly a trip hazard

15) The door to the room did not seam very secure, I think it would have opened using very little force.

16) Customer service was terrible, no refunds available and had the attitude "tough you have paid you have to stay here!"

17) The basement should not have been used as a room - there was no natural light at all, absolutely terrible hotel. Stay clear.

18) The staff were shouting outside the room door at 6am on Monday morning for 2 hours!

19) The room had clearly not been cleaned for some time with thick layers of dust, crumbs and drugs under the bed!

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all - but if you have to - ensure you don't get the basement room with no wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
3
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

If this hotel cost £30 per night would probably be acceptable. Unfortunately it is 3 times that! Tiny room. Tiny bathroom. Overall in poor conditions. Don't go

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgrici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a good hotel for the moon walk small room though everything you need and idea for starting the 26.2 mile walk.I would stay there again as good value for money.
Try the aribic shop across the road good food and coffee.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bikersRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

It's hard to find a hotel in a place like London at a tourist price that has a hot buffet breakfast. This is the place, and I would come back again and again. I hate being forced to eat Rice Krispies and that silly salami and cheeses all these places have. Give me eggs, bacon, suasage, etc. As for the roooms ... they are what they are, small, etc. But I go to London to tour, not sit in a hotel room. This place is within easy walking distance from Paddington Station, which is 15 minutes from Heahtrow by train. There are many restaurants all over the place, including a fabulous Italian joint ... Taormina at 19 Craven Terrace. Hyde Park two blocks away, two tube stations within five minutes. No, you don't honeymoon here, and I have peace and quiet because I go at the end of March, not during the tourist season. If you want luxury, pay for it. If you want value because you want to spend your money on trains, exhibits, food, etc. this is a good bargain.

Stayed March 2004
Helpful?
3 Thank thegiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

We stayed here several years back, but reading the reviews I just wanted to state our experience.
The hotel was small, but clean. Our room had two single beds and a desk, with not much room for anything else-but as we were there to see London and not the hotel room, that was okay.
The breakfast was decent and service was good, bathroom clean, and location great (we were able to walk to everything "touristy" including the Palace, Piccidilly, shopping, even the eye, portobello-but we're walkers).
There's also a great restaurant right across the street-greek if I can recall.
All in all-if you're looking for an inexpensive and centrally located hotel you're not going to spend a lot of time in-this is fantastic. If you're going to London for a romantic getaway or celebration-splurge on something better.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chisistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

Location was fair to reasonable - its a good 10 minute walk to the tube station, but apart from that, its well sited for walks in Hyde Park.. Rooms were well decorated and of a very good quality, and bathroom was fantastic! No views as such, we had a rear-facing room into a courtyard but its only a room to plant your head so not that fussed. The whole complex is a bit cramped, small lift, small reception but not too bothered about that either. Well priced but in March, its not that busy for trade i'd think..

  • Liked — Quality bathroom
  • Disliked — Small lifts - three people and youre squished!
  • Stayed March 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevie_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

March 2007, a friend and I (two single girls 20-somethings) stayed at the Craven Gardens Hotel in London's Bayswater neighborhood. The hotel has some ok reviews from other travelers, was affordable and in a great area... BUT... please do not be tempted by these things to stay here. The reception area was small as I expected, but clean, so my first impression was ok. We checked in and were able to check in early, so I thought we had made a good choice... but then we went up to the room... It was extremely small and reminded me of a hospital room for some reason. We went to take a nap and noticed that we were missing one half of our window curtains. We went downstairs to ask them what could be done about this and they sent up the "housekeepers" in their stilleto boots who then climbed on one of our beds to replace one half of the curtain with another half that didnt match the first half. Basically, in the basement is a hostel and even the hotel guests are treated just like hostel guests. The customer service was minimal and borderline rude, getting extra towels was like pulling teeth, the shower hardly worked and when it did would be scalding hot or freezing cold, but no where in between.
So, dont say you havent been warned - i know this hotel is a good deal, but you might as well stay at a hostel for less money...

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Carey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Henry VIII Hotel
#791 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#836 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Notting Hill
Hyde Park Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#512 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#496 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craven Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craven Gardens Hotel

Property: Craven Gardens Hotel
Address: 16 Leinster Terrace, London W2 3EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #875 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian-style hotel, near the city, between Queensway and Lancaster Gate - 30 miles to Heathrow, 40 miles to Gatwick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Craven Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craven Gardens London
Craven Gardens Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing